Skip booklet index and go to page content

Taiga Shield Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary

This report is also available in PDF format. [PDF, 3.82 MB]

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010

Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 9
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Document Information

Cover page

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Taiga Shield Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary.

Issued also in French under title:
Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
Cat. no.: En14-43/0-9-2014E-PDF
ISBN 978-1-100-23547-9

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the author. For more information, please contact Environment Canada's Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or 819-997-2800.
Cover photos: Tree line, Singing Lake, NWT, © C. O'Brien; Lichen and shrub-covered palsas surrounded by a pond resulting from melting permafrost in a bog near the village of Radisson, QC, Serge Payette

This report should be cited as:
ESTR Secretariat. 2014. Taiga Shield ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 9. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vii + 80 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2014
Aussi disponible en français

Top of Page

Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote 1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Footnote 2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote 3 was the first report under this framework. It presents 22 key findings that emerged from synthesis and analysis of reports prepared as part of this project. These technical reports present status and trends information and analyses for many cross-cutting national themes (the Technical Thematic Report Series) and for Canada's terrestrial and marine ecozones+ (the Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessments). More than 500 experts participated in data analysis, writing, and review of these foundation documents. Summary reports were also prepared for each terrestrial ecozone+ to present the ecozone+-specific evidence related to each of the 22 national key findings (the Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report Series). Together, the full complement of these products constitutes the 2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR):

2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR)
Report

This report, Taiga Shield Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary, presents evidence related to the 22 national key findings and is therefore not a comprehensive assessment of all ecosystem-related information. The level of detail presented on each key finding varies and important issues or datasets may have been missed. As in all ESTR products, the time frames over which trends are assessed vary – both because time frames that are meaningful for these diverse aspects of ecosystems vary and because the assessment is based on the best available information, which is over a range of time periods.

Top of Page

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada, Footnote 4 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as "ecozones+" throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar "ecozones" of the original framework. Footnote 5 The northern boundary of the western section of the Taiga Shield ecozone was adjusted based on ground-truthing of the original boundaries.

Ecological Classification Framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.
map
Long Description for Ecozones+ map of Canada

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named "ecozones+". This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+ (Atlantic Maritime; Newfoundland Boreal; Taiga Shield; Mixedwood Plains; Boreal Shield; Hudson Plains; Prairies; Boreal Plains; Montane Cordillera; Western Interior Basin; Pacific Maritime; Boreal Cordillera; Taiga Cordillera; Taiga Plains; Arctic), two large lake ecozones+ (Great Lakes; Lake Winnipeg), and nine marine ecozones+ (North Coast and Hecate Strait; West Coast Vancouver Island; Strait of Georgia; Gulf of Maine and Scotian Shelf; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves; Hudson Bay, James Bay and Fox Basin; Canadian Arctic Archipelago; Beaufort Sea).

Top of Page

Acknowledgements

This summary report is based on the draft Taiga Shield ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment that was prepared by Anne Gunn and Joan Eamer. Additional reviews of this summary report were provided by scientists and resource managers from relevant provincial and federal government agencies, as well as two external expert reviewers. Further information about this ecozone+ can be found in the associated supplementary material for the Taiga Shield ecozone+.
Contributions to the draft Status and Trends Assessment are listed below.

Taiga Shield ecozone+ Draft Status and Trends Assessment acknowledgements

Lead authors:
A. Gunn and J. Eamer

Contributing authors:
D. Cantin and S. Carrière

Contributing authors, specific sections or topics
Aboriginal communities of the Taiga Shield: A. Penn
La Grande hydro complex, fish and mercury sections (Hydro-Québec): R. Verdon, R. Schetagne and R. Lussier

Authors of ESTR Thematic Technical Reports from which material is drawn
Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008: B. Bonsal and A. Shabbar Footnote 6
Canadian climate trends, 1950-2007: X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng and E. MekisFootnote 7
Trends in large fires in Canada, 1959-2007: C.C. Krezek-Hanes, F. Ahern, A. Cantin and M.D. FlanniganFootnote 8
Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada: F.A. LeightonFootnote 9
Trends in breeding waterfowl in Canada: M. Fast, B. Collins and M. Gendron Footnote 10
Trends in permafrost conditions and ecology in northern Canada: S. SmithFootnote 11
Northern caribou population trends in Canada: A. Gunn, D. Russell and J. EamerFootnote 12
Woodland caribou, boreal population, trends in Canada: C. Callaghan, S. Virc and J. DuffeFootnote 13
Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006: C. Downes, P. Blancher and B. CollinsFootnote 14
Trends in Canadian shorebirds: C. Gratto-Trevor, R.I.G. Morrison, B. Collins, J. Rausch and V. JohnstonFootnote 15
Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada: F. Ahern, J. Frisk,R. Latifovic and D. PouliotFootnote16
Biodiversity in Canadian lakes and rivers: W.A. Monk and D.J. BairdFootnote 17

Review
conducted by scientists and renewable resource and wildlife managers from relevant territorial and federal government agencies through a review process recommended by the ESTR Steering Committee. Additional reviews of specific sections were conducted by university researchers in their field of expertise at the request of the authors.

Direction
provided by the ESTR Steering Committee composed of representatives of federal, provincial and territorial agencies.

Editing, synthesis, technical contributions, maps and graphics, and report production
by the ESTR Secretariat.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge
compiled from publicly available sources by D.D. Hurlburt.

Top of Page

Figure 1: Overview map of the Taiga Shield Ecozone+
map
Long description for Figure 1

This map of the Taiga Shield ecozone+ shows the locations of cities/towns and bodies of water which are referred to within the report. The ecozone+ is divided into eastern and western sections by Hudson Bay. In the west, it covers most of the the eastern part of the Northwest Territories and extends across the top of Saskatchewan into the northern part of Manitoba and southern part of Nunavut. To the east of Hudson Bay, the ecozone+ extends from James Bay across Northern Quebec and Labrador to the Labrador Sea. Cities/towns shown on the map include Wekweti ,Yellowknife and Fort Smith (on the edge of the ecozone+)in the Northwest Territories, Uranium City in Saskatchewan, Shefferville in Quebec, and Labrador City on the southern edge of the ecozone+ in Labrador. Sanikiluaq on the Belcher Islands in Hudson Bay is shown, but does not fall within the ecozone. Half of Great Slave Lake falls within the western Taiga Shield and is pictured on the left side of the map, and the La Grande River is labelled in Quebec.

Top of Page

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON. 86 p.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa, ON/Hull, QC. vii + 125 p.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. ii + 14 p.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

Bonsal, B. and Shabbar, A. 2011. Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 4. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iii + 15 p.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

Zhang, X., Brown, R., Vincent, L., Skinner, W., Feng, Y. and Mekis, E. 2011. Canadian climate trends, 1950-2007. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 5. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 21 p.

Return to footnote 7

Footnote 8

Krezek-Hanes, C.C., Ahern, F., Cantin, A. and Flannigan, M.D. 2011. Trends in large fires in Canada, 1959-2007. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 6. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. v + 48 p.

Return to footnote 8

Footnote 9

Leighton, F.A. 2011. Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 7. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 53 p.

Return to footnote 9

Footnote 10

Fast, M., Collins, B. and Gendron, M. 2011. Trends in breeding waterfowl in Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 8. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. v + 37 p.

Return to footnote 10

Footnote 11

Smith, S. 2011. Trends in permafrost conditions and ecology in Northern Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 9. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iii + 22 p.

Return to footnote 11

Footnote 12

Gunn, A., Russell, D. and Eamer, J. 2011. Northern caribou population trends in Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 10. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 71 p.

Return to footnote 12

Footnote 13

Callaghan, C., Virc, S. and Duffe, J. 2011. Woodland caribou, boreal population, trends in Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 11. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 36 p.

Return to footnote 13

Footnote 14

Downes, C., Blancher, P. and Collins, B. 2011. Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 12. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. x + 94 p.

Return to footnote 14

Footnote 15

Gratto-Trevor, C., Morrison, R.I.G., Collins, B., Rausch, J. and Johnston, V. 2011. DO NOT USE - USE 70039 Trends in Canadian shorebirds. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 13. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 32 p.

Return to footnote 15

Footnote 16

Ahern, F., Frisk, J., Latifovic, R. and Pouliot, D. 2011. Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 17. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to footnote 16

Footnote 17

Monk, W.A. and Baird, D.J. 2011. Biodiversity in Canadian lakes and rivers. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 19. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. Draft report.

Return to footnote 17

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. [PDF, 3.69 Mo]

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010

Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés no 9
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Information sur le document

Page de couverture

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier. [Ressource électronique]

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Taiga Shield Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
En14-43/0-9-2014F-PDF
 978-0-660-22057-4

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d'avis contraire.
On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l'exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d'indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l'organisation qui en est l'auteur;
  • d'indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d'un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n'a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l'appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales est interdite, sauf avec la permission écrite de l'auteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'informathèque d'Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou 819-997-2800.

Photos de la page couverture : Limite de la zone arborée, lac Singing, Territoires du Nord‑Ouest, © C. O'Brien; et palses recouvertes de lichens et d'arbustes entourées d'un étang résultant de la fonte du pergélisol dans une tourbière oligotrophe près du village de Radisson, Québec, Serge Payette.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Secrétariat du RETE. 2014. Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés no 9. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). ix + 93 p. Rapports techniques

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2014
Also available in English

Haut de la page

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéNB1 en 2006 pour mettre l'accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéNB2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010NB3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il présente 22 constatations clés issues de la synthèse et de l'analyse de rapports préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Ces rapports techniques présentent des renseignements et des analyses sur l'état et les tendances pour de nombreux thèmes nationaux intersectoriels (série de rapports techniques thématiques) et pour les écozones+ terrestres et marines du Canada (série de rapports techniques sur les écozones+). Plus de 500 experts ont participé à l'analyse des données ainsi qu'à la rédaction et à l'examen de ces documents de base. Des rapports sommaires ont également été élaborés pour chaque écozone+ terrestre afin de présenter les éléments probants propres à ces écozones relativement à chacune des 22 constatations clés nationales (série de rapports sommaires sur les éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés). Ensemble, l'intégralité du complément de ces produits constitue le rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 (RETE).

Le rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 (RETE)
carte
Description Longue pour écozones+ la carte du Canada

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres (Maritime de l'Atlantique; Boréale de Terre-Neuve; Taïga du bouclier; Plaines à forêts mixtes; Bouclier boréal; Plaines hudsoniennes; Prairies; Plaines boréales; Cordillère montagnarde; Bassin intérieur de l'Ouest; Maritime du Pacifique; Cordillère boréale; Taïga de la cordillère; Taïga des plaines; Arctique), deux grandes écozones+ de lacs (Grand Lacs; Lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (Estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; Golfe du Maine et plateau néo-écossais; Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Baie d'Hudson, baie James et bassin Foxe; Archipel Arctique canadien; Mer de Beaufort; Côte nord et détroit d'Hécate; Côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver; Détroit de Georgia).

Ce rapport, Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constations clés pour l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier,présente des éléments probants relativement aux 22 constations clés nationales. Il n'est pas une évaluation exhaustive de tous les renseignements liés à l'écosystème. Le niveau de détails présenté sur chaque constatation clé varie et des enjeux ou des ensembles de données importants peuvent avoir été omis. Comme dans le cas de tous les produits du RETE, les périodes de Note de bas de page utilisées pour l'évaluation des tendances varient – parce que la période permettant de dégager une tendance significative varie selon les divers aspects des écosystèmes et parce que l'évaluation s'appuie sur la meilleure information disponible, qui peut elle-même viser des périodes fort diverses.

Haut de la page

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaNB4, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d'écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l'Arctique en une seule écozone; l'utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l'Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l'ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d'écosystèmes; et l'ajout de l'écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d'éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialNB5. La limite nord de la partie ouest de l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier a été ajustée en fonction de vérifications au sol des limites définies initialement.

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.
carte
Description longue pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres (Maritime de l'Atlantique; Boréale de Terre-Neuve; Taïga du bouclier; Plaines à forêts mixtes; Bouclier boréal; Plaines hudsoniennes; Prairies; Plaines boréales; Cordillère montagnarde; Bassin intérieur de l'Ouest; Maritime du Pacifique; Cordillère boréale; Taïga de la cordillère; Taïga des plaines; Arctique), deux grandes écozones+ de lacs (Grand Lacs; Lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (Estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; Golfe du Maine et plateau néo-écossais; Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Baie d'Hudson, baie James et bassin Foxe; Archipel Arctique canadien; Mer de Beaufort; Côte nord et détroit d'Hécate; Côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver; Détroit de Georgia).

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Ce rapport est basé sur le document préliminaire de l'Évaluation de l'état et des tendances de l'écozone de la Taiga du Bouclier qui a été préparé par Anne Gunn et Joan Eamer. Des examens supplémentaires du présent rapport ont été effectués par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources des organismes pertinents des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral, et deux examens d'experts externes ont également été réalisés. De l'information additionnelle au sujet de cet écozone  se trouve dans les documents supplémentaires relatifs à l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier.

Les contributions à l'Évaluation préliminaire de l'état et des tendances se retrouvent ci-dessous.

Remerciementspour l'Évaluation préliminaire de l'état et des tendances de l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier

Auteures principales :
A. Gunn et J. Eamer

Auteures collaboratrices :
D. Cantin et S. Carrière

Auteurs collaborateurs, sections ou sujets précis
Collectivités autochtones de la Taïga du Bouclier : A. Penn
Complexe hydroélectrique La Grande, poissons et mercure (Hydro-Québec) : R. Verdon, R. Schetagne et R. Lussier

Auteurs des rapports techniques thématiques du RETE dont proviennent les renseignements
Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008 : B. Bonsal et A. ShabbarNB6
Tendances climatiques au Canada, de 1950 à 2007 : X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng et E. MekisNB7
Tendances des grands incendies de forêts au Canada, de 1959 à 2007 : C.C. Krezek-Hanes, F. Ahern, A. Cantin et M.D. FlanniganNB8
Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada : F.A. LeightonNB9
Tendances relatives à la reproduction des sauvagines au Canada : M. Fast, B. Collins et M. GendronNB10
Tendances relatives aux conditions du pergélisol et à l'écologie dans le nord du Canada : S. SmithNB11
Tendances des populations de caribou des zones septentrionales du Canada : A. Gunn, D. Russell et J. EamerNB12
Tendances de la population boréale du caribou des bois au Canada : C. Callaghan, S. Virc et J. DuffeNB13
Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006 : C. Downes, P. Blancher et B. CollinsNB14
Tendances relatives aux oiseaux de rivage canadiens : C. Gratto-Trevor, R.I.G. Morrison, B. Collins, J. Rausch et V. JohnstonNB15
Surveillance à distance de la biodiversité : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d'observations par satellite du Canada : F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic et D. PouliotNB16
Biodiversité dans les rivières et lacs du Canada : W.A. Monk et D.J. BairdNB17

Examen
effectué par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources renouvelables et de la faune d'organismes territoriaux et fédéraux concernés dans le cadre d'un processus recommandé par le Comité directeur du RETE. Un examen supplémentaire de sections précises a été effectué par des chercheurs universitaires dans leur champ d'expertise à la demande des auteurs.

Orientation
offerte par le comité directeur du RETE réunissant des représentants d'organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Révision, synthèses, contributions techniques, cartes et graphiques et production de rapports
par le Secrétariat du RETE.

Connaissances traditionnelles autochtones
compilées par D.D. Hurlburt à partir de sources accessibles au public.

Figure 1. Carte générale de l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier.
Carte
Description longue pour la carte générale de l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier.

Cette carte de l'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier montre l'emplacement des villes/petites agglomérations et des plans d'eau mentionnés dans le rapport. L'écozone+ de la Taïga du Bouclier est séparée par la baie d'Hudson en une partie orientale et occidentale. Dans l'ouest, l'écozone+ s'étend sur presque toute la partie est des Territoires du Nord­Ouest, traverse le nord de la Saskatchewan et se rend jusque dans la partie nord du Manitoba et la partie sud du Nunavut. À l'est de la baie d'Hudson, l'écozone+ s'étend de la baie James, traverse le nord du Québec et le Labrador et se rend jusqu'à la mer du Labrador. Les villes/petites agglomérations indiquées sur la carte sont notamment Wekweti , Yellowknife et Fort Smith (à la limite de l'ecozone+) dans les Territoires du Nord­Ouest, Uranium City en Saskatchewan, Schefferville au Québec et Labrador City à la limite sud de l'écozone+ au Labrador. La ville de Sanikiluaq dans les îles Belcher (baie d'Hudson) est aussi indiquée, même si elle ne fait pas partie de l'écozone. La moitié du Grand lac des Esclaves se trouve dans la Taïga du Bouclier ouest; elle est indiquée sur le côté gauche de la carte. On y voit aussi la rivière La Grande au Québec.

Haut de la page

Note de bas des pages

NB 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Retour au NB 1

NB 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Hull, QC. 80 p. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité.

Retour au NB 2

NB 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010.

Retour au NB 3

NB 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l'état de l'environnement, Direction de l'analyse des écozones. Ottawa, ON/Hull, QC. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retour au NB 4

NB 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. ii + 18 p.

Retour au NB 5

NB 6

Bonsal, B. et Shabbar, A. 2011. Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 4. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. iii + 15 p.

Retour au NB 6

NB 7

Zhang, X., Brown, R., Vincent, L., Skinner, W., Feng, Y. et Mekis, E. 2011. Tendances climatiques au Canada, de 1950 à 2007. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 5. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. iv + 22 p.

Retour au NB 7

NB 8

Krezek-Hanes, C.C., Ahern, F., Cantin, A. et Flannigan, M.D. 2011. Tendances des grands incendies de forêts au Canada, de 1959 à 2007. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 6. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 56 p.

Retour au NB 8

NB 9

Leighton, F.A. 2011. Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 7. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. v + 59 p.

Retour au NB 9

NB 10

Fast, M., Collins, B. et Gendron, M. 2011. Tendances des populations reproducrices de sauvagine au Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 8. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 42 p.

Retour au NB 10

NB 11

Smith, S. 2011. Tendances relatives aux conditions du pergélisol et à l'écologie dans le Nord du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 9. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. iii + 23 p.

Retour au NB 11

NB 12

Gunn, A., Russell, D. et Eamer, J. 2011. Tendances des populations de caribou des zones septentrionales du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 10. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. v + 78 p.

Retour au NB 12

NB 13

Callaghan, C., Virc, S. et Duffe, J. 2011. Tendances de la population boréale du caribou des bois au Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 11. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. v + 41 p.

Retour au NB 13

NB 14

Downes, C., Blancher, P. et Collins, B. 2011. Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 12. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. xi + 118 p.

Retour au NB 14

NB 15

GGratto-Trevor, C., Morrison, R.I.G., Collins, B., Rausch, J. et Johnston, V. 2011. Tendances relatives aux oiseaux de rivage canadiens. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 13. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. iv + 33 p.

Retour au NB 15

NB 16

Ahern, F., Frisk, J., Latifovic, R. et Pouliot, D. 2011. Surveillance à distance de la biodiversité : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d'observations par satellite du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 17. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour au NB 16

NB 17

Monk, W.A. et Baird, D.J. 2011. Biodiversité dans les rivières et lacs du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 20. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour au NB 17

Introduction