Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 17. - Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada

This report is also available in PDF format. Technical Thematic Report No. 17. - Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada. (PDF, 4.2 MB)

Document Information

Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada

Cover Page

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada.

Issued also in French under title:
Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN 978-1-100-22458-9
Cat. no.: En14-43/17-2013E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the author. For more information, please contact Environment Canada’s Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or 819-997-2800 or email to enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

This report should be cited as:
Ahern, F., Frisk, J., Latifovic, R. and Pouliot, D. 2011. Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 17. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. v + 66 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2013
Aussi disponible en français

Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Footnote2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote3 was the first report under this framework. It assesses progress towards the framework’s goal of “Healthy and Diverse Ecosystems” and the two desired conservation outcomes:

  1. productive, resilient, diverse ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and
  2. damaged ecosystems restored.

The 22 recurring key findings that are presented in Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 emerged from synthesis and analysis of technical reports prepared as part of this project. Over 500 experts participated in the writing and review of these foundation documents. This report, Monitoring biodiversity remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada, is one of several reports prepared on the status and trends of national cross-cutting themes. It has been prepared and reviewed by experts in the field of study and reflects the views of its authors.

Acknowledgements

This project could not have been carried out without the enthusiastic and unflagging support of the first author’s colleagues across Canada. The Canada Centre for Remote Sensing provided the majority of the data used. He wants to thank Jean-Marc Chouinard for providing managerial support from the start, and to scientists Rasim Latifovic, Robert Fraser, Richard Fernandes, Bert Guindon, Ian Olthof, Darren Pouliot, and Hongxu Zhao for many helpful discussions. Without exception they willingly provided the data from their projects that he asked for and answered all the questions he had. Gunar Fedosejevs and Arvon Erickson helped him acquire the archival MSS data from the early Landsat satellites that were so useful in extending the timeframe back to the 1970s. Scientists at the Canadian Forest Service were equally helpful. Mike Wulder and Nicholas Coops (at UBC) provided national products, and help using them, from their BioSpace project. We also thank the reviewers of this report.

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada,Footnote4 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+” throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original
Framework.Footnote5

Ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

map

Long Description for Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+ (Atlantic Maritime; Newfoundland Boreal; Taiga Shield; Mixedwood Plains; Boreal Shield; Hudson Plains; Prairies; Boreal Plains; Montane Cordillera; Western Interior Basin; Pacific Maritime; Boreal Cordillera; Taiga Cordillera; Taiga Plains; Arctic), two large lake ecozones+ (Great Lakes; Lake Winnipeg), and nine marine ecozones+ (North Coast and Hecate Strait; West Coast Vancouver Island; Strait of Georgia; Gulf of Maine and Scotian Shelf; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves; Hudson Bay, James Bay and Fox Basin; Canadian Arctic Archipelago; Beaufort Sea).

Executive Summary

This Technical Thematic Report summarizes the results of four major remote sensing analyses for the ecozones+ of Canada: (1) Land Cover Change, 1985 to 2005; (2) Normalized Difference Vegetation Index (NDVI) 1985 to 2006; (3) Average Dynamic Habitat Index, 2000 to 2006; and (4) Indicators of Forest Fragmentation, circa 2000. The period of analysis is depends on the information used to assess each theme. Major findings are listed here:

  • There was a net increase in the area of Fire Scars in Canada between 1985 and 2005 of approximately 146,000 km2, a 200% increase over the area of Fire Scars in 1985. There was, however, a decrease in Fire Scars during the last five years of the analysis (2000 to 2005).
  • Within the Agricultural Land class of the Boreal Plains Ecozone+, a net area of approximately 5,020 km2 of Cropland/woodland (7.5% of the 1985 Cropland/woodland area) transitioned to the more intensive Cropland class from 1985 to 2005.
  • Urban area in the Golden Horseshoe region of Ontario increased from 1,111 km2 in 1974 to 1,436 km2 in 1990, with an average increase of 20 km2/year. The average rate of expansion increased to 23 km2/year between 1990 and 2005, with urban area increasing to 1,778 km2. The rate of urban expansion in the Lower Fraser Valley of British Columbia occurred at an average rate of 6 km2/year, increasing from 498 km2 in 1975 to 680 km2 in 2007.
  • Peak annual NDVI, an indicator of the amount and vigour of green vegetation, increased significantly over 22% of Canada between 1985 and 2006. Increasing NDVI was most evident in the north where processes are strongly climate driven, while trends in the south were less ubiquitous and found to be more driven by changes in land cover.
  • Seasonal variation in greenness, one of the three components of the Dynamic Habitat Index, was highly sensitive to changes in altitude, and has the potential to be a sensitive indicator of shifts in vegetation ranges though the current time series is too short to analyze trends.
  • Forest density is highest in the boreal region of Canada.

Introduction

Remote sensing is “the science, technology and art of obtaining information about objects or phenomena from a distance” (CCRS, 2005). This report focuses on remote sensing information obtained from satellite sensors which measure reflected or emitted radiation from the earth’s surface. Remote sensing data, when verified and complemented with field-based data, can provide consistent and repeatable measurements of ecosystems, allowing for analysis of change over time. Satellite data is less costly and time intensive than direct field observations and is available for areas that may be otherwise inaccessible. Satellite data are also useful for putting the results of direct field measurements into a broader context.

At the outset of the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR), a review of remote sensing activities and available datasets for examining ecosystem status and trends in Canada was conducted. Considerations for appropriate measurements and datasets included the spatial and temporal resolution, the length of the archive, and the timeliness of the information. High resolution data (<10 m) provides fine scale information, but the volume of data makes analysis time intensive. This scale of data is also not available for long term analyses. Medium resolution data (10 to 100 m), such as Landsat imagery provides fairly detailed information but still requires time- and data- intensive analysis. Landsat imagery is collected for the same area every 16 days (limiting seasonal specificityFootnote6 ) with archives going back to the 1970s. Use of high and medium resolution satellite information is therefore most useful for monitoring specific areas of concern, relying on a priori knowledge of sensitive areas, and likely missing areas of unexpected change. Coarse resolution data (>100 m) provides broad scale information consistently across Canada, with archives going back to the 1980s, resampled daily (allowing for seasonal specificity in measurements). Coarse resolution data will only detect large scale changes; making this is a more reactive as opposed to proactive approach to monitoring.

Based on the results of this review, the following information was collected and analyzed by ecozone+ for ESTR: broad scale land cover change across Canada from 1985 to 2005; case studies on urbanization in two of Canada’s fastest growing urban areas; trends in vegetation productivity (NDVI) across Canada from 1986 to 2006; status of a recently developed Dynamic Habitat Index for Canada (derived from fPAR, another measurement of vegetation productivity); and status of two forest-related indicators of forest fragmentation (forest density and forest edge density). This paper presents the results of these analyses by ecozone+. It was intended for this information to be incorporated into the individual ecozone+ reports with other information. This report does not provide a review of all remote sensing information in Canada. It focuses on information available across Canada, and therefore, further relevant remote sensing information specific to a particular ecozone+ may also be included in those reports.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to reference1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON. 77 p.

Return to reference2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to reference3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 117 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to reference4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiveristy: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to reference5

Footnote 6

Cloud-free Landsat images are required for most analyses. So, as a given scene is only resampled every 16 days, a cloud-free image may not be available within a specific time period.

Return to reference6

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 17. - Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Rapport technique thématique no. 17. - Surveillance à distance des ecosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d'observations par satellite du Canada. ( PDF, 3.1 Mo)

Information sur le document

Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada

Couverture de la publication

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-0-660-21040-7
No de cat. : En14-43/17-2013F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.

On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales est interdite, sauf avec la permission écrite de l'auteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'informathèque d'Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou 819-997-2800 ou par courriel à enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Ahern, F., Frisk, J., Latifovic, R. and Pouliot, D. 2011. Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 17. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). vi + 70 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2013
Also available in English

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéNote de bas de page1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéNote de bas de page2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Note de bas de page3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il permet d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif du cadre, à savoir des « écosystèmes sains et diversifiés » et obtenir les deux résultats souhaités en matière de conservation :

  1. ides écosystèmes productifs, résilients et diversifiés capables de se rétablir et de s’adapter et
  2. la restauration des écosystèmes endommagés.

Les 22 constatations clés récurrentes présentées dans Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 sont issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse des rapports techniques préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Plus de 500 experts ont participé à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Le présent document, Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada, s’inscrit au nombre de plusieurs rapports préparés sur la situation et les tendances de thèmes nationaux intersectoriels. Il a été préparé et révisé par des experts du domaine d’étude et reflète les points de vue des auteurs.

Remerciements

Ce projet n’aurait pas pu être réalisé sans l’enthousiasme et l’appui constant des collègues du premier auteur, qui proviennent de partout au Canada. Le Centre canadien de télédétection a fourni la majeure partie des données utilisées. L’auteur remercie Jean-Marc Chouinard, qui a offert dès le départ son soutien sur le plan de la gestion, ainsi que les scientifiques Rasim Latifovic, Robert Fraser, Richard Fernandes, Bert Guindon, Ian Olthof, Darren Pouliot et Hongxu Zhao, pour leurs précieux commentaires. Sans exception, ils ont aimablement fourni à l’auteur les données issues de leurs projets et ont répondu à toutes ses questions. En outre, Gunar Fedosejevs et Arvon Erickson l’ont aidé à obtenir les données MSS d’archives associées aux premiers satellites Landsat, qui lui ont permis d’étendre le cadre temporel de l’étude aux années 1970. L’aide des scientifiques du Service canadien des forêts a été tout aussi précieuse. Mike Wulder et Nicholas Coops (de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique) ont fourni des produits nationaux issus de leur projet BioSpace ainsi que de l’aide concernant leur utilisation. Nous remercions également les réviseurs du rapport.

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaNote de bas de page4 , a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialNote de bas de page5.

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

carte

Description longue pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres (Maritime de l'Atlantique; Boréale de Terre-Neuve; Taïga du bouclier; Plaines à forêts mixtes; Bouclier boréal; Plaines hudsoniennes; Prairies; Plaines boréales; Cordillère montagnarde; Bassin intérieur de l'Ouest; Maritime du Pacifique; Cordillère boréale; Taïga de la cordillère; Taïga des plaines; Arctique), deux grandes écozones+ de lacs (Grand Lacs; Lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (Estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; Golfe du Maine et plateau néo-écossais; Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Baie d'Hudson, baie James et bassin Foxe; Archipel Arctique canadien; Mer de Beaufort; Côte nord et détroit d'Hécate; Côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver; Détroit de Georgia).

Résumé

Le présent rapport technique thématique résume les résultats de quatre grandes analyses de télédétection visant les écozones+ du Canada : 1) les changements dans la couverture terrestre, de 1985 à 2005; 2) l’indice de végétation par différence normalisée (IVDN), de 1985 à 2006; 3) l’indice des habitats dynamiques moyen, de 2000 à 2006; 4) les indicateurs de fragmentation forestière, vers 2000. La période d’analyse dépend de l’information utilisée pour évaluer chaque thème. Les principaux résultats sont les suivants :

  • Il y a eu une augmentation nette d’environ 146 000 km2 de la superficie des zones brûlées au Canada entre 1985 et 2005, soit une augmentation de 200 % par rapport à la superficie des zones brûlées en 1985. On a cependant observé une réduction de la superficie des zones brûlées au cours des cinq dernières années de l’analyse (de 2000 à 2005).
  • Dans la classe des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ des plaines boréales, une superficie nette d’environ 5 020 km2 de terres cultivées/zones boisées (7,5 % de la superficie des terres cultivées/zones boisées de 1985) est passée dans la classe des terres cultivées, plus intensive, de 1985 à 2005.
  • La superficie des zones urbaines dans la région du Golden Horseshoe de l’Ontario est passée de 1 111 km2 en 1974 à 1 436 km2 en 1990, ce qui représente une augmentation moyenne de 20 km2/année. Le taux d’expansion moyen a grimpé à 23 km2/année entre 1990 et 2005, et la superficie des zones urbaines a atteint 1 778 km2. Le taux d’expansion urbaine dans la vallée du bas Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique, a été de 6 km2/année en moyenne, la superficie des zones urbaines passant de 498 km2 en 1975 à 680 km2 en 2007.
  • L’IVDN maximal annuel, un indicateur de la quantité et de la vigueur de la végétation verte, a considérablement augmenté dans 22 % du Canada entre 1985 et 2006. L’augmentation de l’IVDN était bien visible dans le nord, où les processus sont fortement induits par le climat, tandis que les tendances dans le sud étaient moins omniprésentes et surtout induites par les changements du couvert terrestre.   
  • La variation saisonnière de la verdure, l’une des trois composantes de l’indice des habitats dynamiques, a été très sensible aux changements de l’altitude et pourrait être utilisée comme un indicateur sensible des changements des zones de végétation. Cependant, la série chronologique actuelle est trop courte pour analyser les tendances.
  • La densité forestière est particulièrement élevée dans la région boréale du Canada.

Introduction

La télédétection est la science, la technologie et l’art d’obtenir de l’information au sujet d’objets ou de phénomènes à partir d’une certaine distance (Centre canadien de télédétection, 2005). Le présent rapport est centré sur les données de télédétection obtenues au moyen de capteurs satellites mesurant le rayonnement réfléchi ou émis à la surface de la Terre. Les données de télédétection, lorsqu’elles sont vérifiées et accompagnées de données recueillies sur le terrain, peuvent fournir des mesures cohérentes et reproductibles des écosystèmes, ce qui permet l’analyse des changements avec le temps. Les données satellitaires sont plus économiques en temps et en argent que les observations directes sur le terrain, et elles sont disponibles pour des régions qui, autrement, seraient inaccessibles. Ces données sont aussi utiles pour intégrer les résultats de mesures directes sur le terrain à un contexte élargi.

À l’achèvement du Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes (RETE), un examen des activités de télédétection et des ensembles de données disponibles pour l’évaluation de l’état et des tendances des écosystèmes au Canada a été réalisé. Cet examen a tenu compte, dans l’évaluation des mesures et des ensembles de données, de la résolution spatiale et temporelle, de la période couverte par les données d’archives et de la rapidité d’obtention des données. Les données à résolution élevée (moins de 10 m) fournissent de l’information à une échelle précise, mais leur volume élevé augmente le temps d’analyse. De plus, ces données ne sont pas disponibles pour les analyses à long terme. Les données à résolution moyenne (de 10 à 100 m), comme l’imagerie Landsat, fournissent de l’information assez détaillée, mais leur analyse nécessite aussi beaucoup de temps. Les données d’imagerie Landsat sont recueillies tous les 16 jours pour une même zone (ce qui limite la spécificité saisonnièreNote de bas de page6 ), et les données d’archives remontent aux années 1970. Les données à résolution élevée et moyenne servent donc surtout à la surveillance de zones précises dont on connaît déjà le caractère préoccupant, mais elles ne permettent pas de repérer toutes les zones de changement imprévu. Les données à basse résolution (plus de 100 m) fournissent quant à elles de l’information à grande échelle, de manière cohérente, dans l’ensemble du Canada. Les données d’archives remontent aux années 1980, et l’échantillonnage est effectué quotidiennement (ce qui permet de tenir compte de la spécificité saisonnière dans les mesures). Les données à basse résolution ne permettent de détecter que les changements à grande échelle; c’est pourquoi leur utilisation constitue une approche de surveillance plus réactive que proactive.

D’après les résultats de l’examen, l’information suivante et été recueillie et analysée par écozone+, aux fins du RETE : le changement à grande échelle de la couverture terrestre dans l’ensemble du Canada de 1985 à 2005; des études de cas sur l’urbanisation dans deux des zones urbaines affichant la plus grande croissance au Canada; les tendances de la productivité de la végétation (IVDN) dans l’ensemble du Canada de 1986 à 2006; l’état d’un indice des habitats dynamiques récemment élaboré pour le Canada (dérivé de la fPAR, une autre mesure de la productivité de la végétation); l’état de deux indicateurs de la fragmentation forestière (densité des forêts et densité des lisières forestières). Le présent document présente les résultats de ces analyses, par écozone+. Cette information devait être incorporée aux rapports individuels sur les écozone+, avec d’autres données. Le présent rapport ne fournit pas d’examen de toutes les données de télédétection au Canada. Il est centré sur l’information disponible dans l’ensemble du Canada; c’est pourquoi d’autres données de télédétection pertinentes pour une écozone+ en particulier pourraient aussi être incluses dans ces rapports.

Notes de bas de page

Note 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Retour à la référence1

Note 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Ottawa, ON. 80 p.

Retour à la référence2

Note 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p.

Retour à la référence3

Note 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l’état de l’environnement, Direction de l’analyse des écozones. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retour à la référence4

Note 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour à la référence5

Note 6

La plupart des analyses nécessitent des images Landsat sans nuages. Par conséquent, comme chaque zone est échantillonnée aux 16 jours, il est possible qu’aucune image sans nuages ne soit disponible pour une zone au cours d’une période donnée.

Retour à la référence6

Introduction