Skip booklet index and go to page content

Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for key findings summary

This report is also available in PDF format. Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for key findings summary (PDF, 4.07 MB)

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010

Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 2

Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Table of Contents

Document Information

Cover photo

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Hudson Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.

Issued also in French under title:

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines husoniennes.

Electronic monograph in PDF format.

ISBN 978-1-100-19958-0

Cat. no.: En14-43/0-2-2011E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified. If any part of the material to be used has appeared in this publication with credit or acknowledgment to another source, permission must also be sought from that rights holder.

You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of either the Government of Canada or provincial or territorial governments.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the author. For more information, please contact Environment Canada’s Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or 819-997-2800 or email to enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Cover photos: Woodland caribou, Cape Henrietta Maria, Ontario; Inland (freshwater) wetlands, Hudson Bay Lowlands, Ontario. Both photos © Queen’s Printer for Ontario/K.F. Abraham, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

This report should be cited as:

Abraham, K.F. and McKinnon, L.M. 2011. Hudson Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 2. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 98 p.

Technical Reports

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada (Environment Canada) and Queen’s Printer for Ontario (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources), 2011

Aussi disponible en français

Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkReference 1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Reference 2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 Reference 3 was the first report under this framework. It presents 22 key findings that emerged from synthesis and analysis of background technical reports prepared on the status and trends for many cross-cutting national themes (the Technical Thematic Report Series) and for individual terrestrial and marine ecozones+ of Canada (the Technical Ecozone+ Reports). More than 500 experts participated in data analysis, writing, and review of these foundation documents. Summary reports were also prepared for each terrestrial ecozone+ to present the ecozone+-specific evidence related to each of the 22 national key findings (the Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report Series). Together, the full complement of these products constitutes the 2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR).

This report, Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary, presents evidence from the Hudson Plains Ecozone+ related to the 22 national key findings. The report is not a comprehensive assessment of all ecosystem-related information. The level of detail presented on each key finding varies, and issues or datasets may have been missed. Some emphasis is also placed on information from the national Technical Thematic Report Series. As in all ESTR products, the time frames over which trends are assessed vary - both because time frames that are meaningful for these diverse aspects of ecosystems vary and because the assessment is based on the best available information, which is over a range of time periods.

This summary report is based on the full Technical Ecozone+ Report for this ecozone+, Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment, Reference 4 which was prepared for this project and also incorporates information from many of the Technical Thematic Reports. Many experts from a broad range of disciplines and organizations contributed to the full Hudson Plains status and trends assessment as authors and reviewers (see acknowledgements section on page iii). Additional reviews of this summary report were provided by scientists and resource managers from relevant provincial, territorial, and federal government agencies.

Ecological classification system - ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada, Reference 5 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces - Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+ ” throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original framework.Reference 6 For the Hudson Plains, modifications were made to the southern boundary of the ecozone within Ontario to reflect the actual contact between the Precambrian and Paleozoic bedrock.

Ecological classification system – ecozones+
This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework
Long description for Preface Figure

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+ (Atlantic Maritime; Newfoundland Boreal; Taiga Shield; Mixedwood Plains; Boreal Shield; Hudson Plains; Prairies; Boreal Plains; Montane Cordillera; Western Interior Basin; Pacific Maritime; Boreal Cordillera; Taiga Cordillera; Taiga Plains; Arctic), two large lake ecozones+ (Great Lakes; Lake Winnipeg), and nine marine ecozones+ (North Coast and Hecate Strait; West Coast Vancouver Island; Strait of Georgia; Gulf of Maine and Scotian Shelf; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves; Hudson Bay, James Bay and Fox Basin; Canadian Arctic Archipelago; Beaufort Sea).

Acknowledgements

This summary report is based on the technical report, Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment (see credit box below),Reference 4 and has been prepared in partnership by the lead authors of the full technical report and the ESTR Secretariat. Additional reviews of this summary report were provided by scientists and resource managers from relevant provincial, territorial, and federal government agencies through a review process administered by the ESTR Steering Committee. Direction and report production were provided by the ESTR Secretariat.

Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends AssessmentReference 4 (Technical Ecozone+ Report) acknowledgements

Lead coordinating authors and compilers:
K.F. Abraham, L.M. McKinnon, Z. Jumean, S.M. Tully, L.R. Walton and H.M. Stewart
Contributing authors (alphabetically):
D. Berezanski, F. Berkes, W. Bernhardt, L. Brown, V. Crichton, W.J. Crins, F.N. Dawson, L.A. Dredge, J.R. Duncan, M.D. Flannigan, R.A. Fleming, M.P. Girardin, W.A. Gough, R.L. Jefferies, V. Kanya, G.J. Kayahara, R. Koes, S. Kowalchuk, C.C. Krezek-Hanes, R. Lalonde, C. Latremouille, R. Man, I.P. Martini, S. McGovern, J.W. McLaughlin, K. Middel, B. Mighton, K.M. Monson, R.I.G. Morrison, M.E. Obbard, C. Paitre, R.D. Phoenix, M.D. Piercey-Normore, J.S. Price, C.E. Punter, J.C. Ray, R.F. Rockwell, R. Roughley, G.A.J. Scott, M. Vukelich and K.L. Webster
Authors of ESTR Thematic Technical Reports from which material is drawn

Canadian climate trends, 1950-2007: X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng and E. MekisReference 7

Trends in large fires in Canada, 1959-2007: C.C. Krezek-Hanes, F. Ahern, A. Cantin and M.D. FlanniganReference 8

Monitoring ecosytems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada (land cover change, forest density, and NDVI trends): F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic and D. PouliotReference 9

Biodiversity in Canadian lakes and rivers: W.A. Monk and D.J. BairdReference 10

Trends in Canadian shorebirds: C. Gratto-Trevor, R.I.G. Morrison, B. Collins, J. Rausch and V. JohnstonReference 11

Inter-jurisdictional review by scientists and resource managers from relevant provincial, territorial, and federal government agencies through a review process administered by the ESTR Steering Committee. Additional reviews of individual sections by non-governmental researchers and resource managers in their field of expertise.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge compiled from publicly available sources by Donna D. Hurlburt.

Technical, map, and graphic contributions by the ESTR Secretariat.

Direction provided by the ESTR Steering Committee composed of representatives of federal, provincial, and territorial agencies.

Report production by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources in cooperation with the ESTR Secretariat.

Funding for report compilation and production provided by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources’ Biodiversity Branch, Far North Branch, Science and Information Branch, and Applied Research and Development Branch. In-kind contributions from Environment Canada and the affiliations of all contributing authors are gratefully acknowledged.

Figure 1. Overview map of the Hudson Plains Ecozone+.
Gillam lies outside of ecozone+ boundaries, but is shown for geographic context.
This map of the Hudson Plains Ecozone+
Long description for Figure 1

This map of the Hudson Plains Ecozone+ shows the locations of cities/towns and bodies of water which are referred to within this report. This ecozone+ runs from the eastern corner of Manitoba, along the Hudson Bay into Ontario, to the eastern side of the James Bay in Quebec and includes Akimiski Island, Nunavut. Cities/towns shown are: Churchill, Gillam, York Factory, and Shamattawa in Manitoba (Gillam lies outside of ecozone+ boundaries, but is shown for geographic context), Fort Severn, Peawanuck, Cape Henrietta Maria, Attawapiskat, Kashechewan, Fort Albany, Moosonee, and Moose Factory in Ontario, Waskaganish, and Eastmain in Quebec. From west to east, the labeled rivers are: Churchill, Nelson, Hayes, Severn, Winisk, Sutton, Attawapiskat, Albany, Moose, Harricana, Nottaway, Rupert, and Eastmain. Missisa Lake is west of Fort Albany. Further details can be found in the preceding/next paragraph(s).

Top of Page


References

Reference 1

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Hull, QC. 86 p. Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.

Return to reference 1 referrer

Reference 2

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010.

Return to reference 2 referrer

Reference 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010.

Return to reference 3 referrer

Reference 4

Abraham, K.F., McKinnon, L.M., Jumean, Z., Tully, S.M., Walton, L.R. and Stewart, H.M. (lead coordinating authors and compilers). 2011. Hudson Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Ecozone+ Report. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. xxi + 445 p.

Return to reference 4 referrer

Reference 5

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa, ON/Hull, QC. 125 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to reference 5 referrer

Reference 6

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. ii + 14 p. Technical Reports.

Return to reference 6 referrer

Reference 7

Zhang, X., Brown, R., Vincent, L., Skinner, W., Feng, Y. and Mekis, E. 2011. Canadian climate trends, 1950-2007. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 5. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 21 p. Technical Reports.

Return to reference 7 referrer

Reference 8

Krezek-Hanes, C.C., Ahern, F., Cantin, A. and Flannigan, M.D. 2011. Trends in large fires in Canada, 1959-2007. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 6. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. v + 48 p. Technical Reports.

Return to reference 8 referrer

Reference 9

Ahern, F., Frisk, J., Latifovic, R. and Pouliot, D. 2011. Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 17. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. Technical Reports.

Return to reference 9 referrer

Reference 10

Monk, W.A. and Baird, D.J. 2011. Biodiversity in Canadian lakes and rivers. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 20. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. Technical Reports.

Return to reference 10 referrer

Reference 11

Gratto-Trevor, C., Morrison, R.I.G., Collins, B., Rausch, J. and Johnston, V. 2011. Trends in Canadian shorebirds. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 13. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 32 p. Technical Reports.

Return to reference 11 referrer

Top of Page

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes (PDF, 4.63 Mo)

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010

Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés nº 2

Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Table des matières

Information sur le document

Photo de couverture

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes.

Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre :

Hudson Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.

Monographie électronique en version PDF.

ISBN 978-1-100-98562--6

Nº de cat. : En14-43/0-2-2011F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d'avis contraire.

On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l'exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d'indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l'organisation qui en est l'auteur;
  • d'indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d'un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n'a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l'appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales est interdite, sauf avec la permission écrite de l'auteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'informathèque d'Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou 819-997-2800 ou par courriel à enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Photos de la page couverture : caribou des bois, cap Henrietta Maria (Ontario); milieux humides de l'intérieur (eau douce), basses terres de la baie d'Hudson (Ontario); les deux photos © Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario/K.F. Abraham, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :

Abraham, K.F. et McKinnon, L.M.. 2011. Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés nº 2. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). vii + 116 p. Rapports techniques

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada (Environnement Canada) et Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario) 2011

Also available in English

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéRéférence1 en 2006 pour mettre l'accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéRéférence 2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 Footnote 3 a été le premier rapport rédigé selon ce cadre. Il présente 22 constatations clés issues de la synthèse et de l'analyse de rapports préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Ces rapports techniques présentent des renseignements et des analyses sur l'état et les tendances pour de nombreux thèmes nationaux intersectoriels (série de rapports techniques thématiques) et pour les écozones+ terrestres et marines du Canada (série de rapports techniques sur les écozones+). Plus de 500 experts ont participé à l'analyse des données ainsi qu'à la rédaction et à l'examen de ces documents de base. Des rapports sommaires ont également été élaborés pour chaque écozone+ terrestre afin de présenter les éléments probants propres à ces écozones relativement à chacune des 22 constatations clés nationales (série de rapports sommaires sur les éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés). Ensemble, l'intégralité du complément de ces produits constitue le rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 (ci-après le « rapport »).

Ce rapport, Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes, présente des éléments probants déduits des 22 constatations clés nationales qui concernent l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes et met en évidence des tendances importantes propres à cette écozone+. Ce rapport n'est pas une évaluation exhaustive de tous les renseignements sur l'écosystème. Le niveau de détails présenté sur chaque constatation clé varie et des enjeux ou des ensembles de données importants peuvent avoir été oubliés. L'accent a été mis sur les renseignements issus de la série de rapports techniques thématiques. Comme dans tous les produits du rapport, les périodes sur lesquelles sont basées les évaluations de l'état et des tendances varient : d'une part, parce que les périodes pertinentes pour les divers aspects des écosystèmes varient, et d'autre part, parce que l'évaluation est fondée sur les meilleurs renseignements disponibles, qui proviennent de diverses périodes.

Ce rapport sommaire est fondé sur le rapport technique complet qui vise cette écozone+, Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends AssessmentFootnote 4, qui a été préparé dans le cadre de ce projet; il intègre aussi l'information tirée de bon nombre des rapports techniques thématiques. De nombreux experts de disciplines et organisations très diverses ont contribué au rapport complet sur l'écozone+ comme auteurs et réviseurs (voir la section Remerciements à la page iii). Des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources d'organismes provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux concernés ont aussi révisé ce rapport sommaire.

Système de classification écologique - écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le Canada Référence 5, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d'écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l'Arctique en une seule écozone; l'utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l'Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l'ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d'écosystèmes; et l'ajout de l'écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d'éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialRéférence6. En ce qui concerne l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes, des modifications ont été apportées à la limite sud de l'écozone+ en Ontario de manière à tenir compte du contact réel entre le substrat rocheux du Précambrien et le substrat rocheux du Paléozoïque.

Système de classification écologique – écozones+
Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre
Description longue pour la figure de la préface

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres (Maritime de l'Atlantique; Boréale de Terre-Neuve; Taïga du bouclier; Plaines à forêts mixtes; Bouclier boréal; Plaines hudsoniennes; Prairies; Plaines boréales; Cordillère montagnarde; Bassin intérieur de l'Ouest; Maritime du Pacifique; Cordillère boréale; Taïga de la cordillère; Taïga des plaines; Arctique), deux grandes écozones+ de lacs (Grand Lacs; Lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (Estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; Golfe du Maine et plateau néo-écossais; Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Baie d'Hudson, baie James et bassin Foxe; Archipel Arctique canadien; Mer de Beaufort; Côte nord et détroit d'Hécate; Côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver; Détroit de Georgia).

Remerciements

Ce rapport sommaire est fondé sur le rapport technique complet, Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment (voir la boîte des mentions de source plus bas)Référence 4, et a été préparé en collaboration avec les principaux auteurs du rapport technique complet et du personnel du Secrétariat du Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes (RETE). Des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources d'organismes provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux concernés ont aussi révisé ce rapport sommaire dans le cadre d'un processus d'examen assuré par le Comité directeur du RETE. Le Secrétariat du RETE s'est chargé de la direction et de la production du rapport.

Remerciements pour le rapport technique, Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trend AssessmentRéférence 4

Auteurs-coordonnateurs principaux et compilateurs :
K.F. Abraham, L.M. McKinnon, Z. Jumean, S.M. Tully, L.R. Walton et H.M. Stewart
Auteurs collaborateurs (par ordre alphabétique) :
D. Berezanski, F. Berkes, W. Bernhardt, L. Brown, V. Crichton, W.J. Crins, F.N. Dawson, L.A. Dredge, J.R. Duncan, M.D. Flannigan, R.A. Fleming, M.P. Girardin, W.A. Gough, R.L. Jefferies, V. Kanya, G.J. Kayahara, R. Koes, C.C. Krezek-Hanes, S. Kowalchuk, R. Lalonde, C. Latremouille, R. Man, I.P. Martini, S. McGovern, J.W. McLaughlin, K. Middel, B. Mighton, K.M. Monson, R.I.G. Morrison, M.E. Obbard, C. Paitre, R.D. Phoenix, M.D. Piercey-Normore, J.S. Price, C.E. Punter, J.C. Ray, R.F. Rockwell, R. Roughley, G.A.J. Scott, M. Vukelich et K.L. Webster
Auteurs des rapports techniques thématiques du RETE dont proviennent les renseignements

Tendances climatiques au Canada, de 1950 à 2007 : X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng et E. MekisRéférence7

Tendances des grands incendies de forêts au Canada, de 1959 à 2007 : C.C. Krezek-Hanes, F. Ahern, A. Cantin et M.D. FlanniganRéférence8

Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d'observations par satellite du Canada (modification de la couverture terrestre, densité des forêts et tendances sur le plan de l'indice de végétation par différence normalisée [IVDN]) : F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic et D. PouliotRéférence9

Biodiversité dans les rivières et lacs du Canada : W.A. Monk et D.J. BairdRéférence10

Tendances relatives aux oiseaux de rivage canadiens : C. Gratto-Trevor, R.I.G. Morrison, B. Collins, J. Rausch et V. JohnstonRéférence11

Révision interorganismes par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources d'organismes provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux concernés dans le cadre d'un processus d'examen assuré par le Comité directeur du RETE. Révisions de certaines sections par des chercheurs et des gestionnaires de ressources de l'extérieur du gouvernement dans leur champ d'expertise respectif.

Les connaissances traditionnelles autochtonesont été compilées par Donna D. Hurlburt à partir des sources mises à la disposition du public.

Contributions techniques, cartographiques et graphiques du Secrétariat du RETE.

Direction assurée par le comité directeur du RETE, composé de représentants d'organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Production du rapport par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, en collaboration avec le Secrétariat du RETE.

Les fonds nécessaires à la compilation des données et à la production du rapport ont été fournis par la Direction de la biodiversité, la Direction du Grand Nord, la Direction des sciences et de l'information, et la Direction de la recherche-développement appliquée du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario. Les contributions en nature d'Environnement Canada et des affiliations de tous les auteurs qui ont participé à la préparation du rapport ont été grandement appréciées.

Figure 1. Carte générale de l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes.
Même si Gillam est situé à l'extérieur des limites de l'écozone+, il figure sur la carte pour montrer le contexte géographique.
Carte générale de l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes
Description longue pour la figure 1

Cette carte de l'écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes montre l'emplacement des villes et des villages ainsi que des plans d'eau dont il est question dans le présent rapport. L'écozone+ s'étend de l'extrémité est du Manitoba à la partie est de la baie James, au Québec, en passant par la baie d'Hudson, en Ontario, et comprend l'île Akimiski, au Nunavut. Les villes et les villages inclus sont : Churchill, Gillam, York Factory et Shamattawa au Manitoba (même si Gillam est situé à l'extérieur des limites de l'écozone+, il figure sur la carte pour montrer le contexte géographique); Fort Severn, Peawanuck, Cape Henrietta Maria, Attawapiskat, Kashechewan, Fort Albany, Moosonee et Moose Factory en Ontario; Waskaganish et Eastmain au Québec. D'ouest en est, les rivières incluses sont : Churchill, Nelson, Hayes, Severn, Winisk, Sutton, Attawapiskat, Albany, Moose, Harricana, Nottaway, Rupert et Eastmain. Le lac Missisa est situé à l'ouest de Fort Albany. De plus amples détails se trouvent aux paragraphes précédents ou suivants.


Haut de la page

Références

Référence 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p. Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité.

Retour à la référence de la note 1 de bas de page

Référence 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Hull, QC. 80 p. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité.

Retour à la référence de la note 2 de bas de page

Référence 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010.

Retour à la référence de la note 3 de bas de page

Référence 4

Abraham, K.F., McKinnon, L.M., Jumean, Z., Tully, S.M., Walton, L.R. et Stewart, H.M. (auteurs coordonnateurs et compilateurs principaux). 2012. Hudson Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique sur les écozones+ . Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour à la référence de la note 4 de bas de page

Référence 5

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l'état de l'environnement, Direction de l'analyse des écozones. Ottawa, ON/Hull, QC. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retour à la référence de la note 5 de bas de page

Référence 6

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique nº 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. ii + 18 p. Rapports techniques.

Retour à la référence de la note 6 de bas de page

Référence 7

Zhang, X., Brown, R., Vincent, L., Skinner, W., Feng, Y. et Mekis, E. 2011. Tendances climatiques au Canada, de 1950 à 2007. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique nº 5. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. iv + 22 p. Rapports techniques.

Retour à la référence de la note 7 de bas de page

Référence 8

Krezek-Hanes, C.C., Ahern, F., Cantin, A. et Flannigan, M.D. 2011. Tendances des grands incendies de forêts au Canada, de 1959 à 2007. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique nº 6. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 56 p. Rapports techniques.

Retour à la référence de la note 8 de bas de page

Référence 9

Ahern, F., Frisk, J., Latifovic, R. et Pouliot, D. 2011. Surveillance à distance de la biodiversité : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d'observations par satellite du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique nº 17. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. Rapports techniques.

Retour à la référence de la note 9 de bas de page

Référence 10

Monk, W.A. et Baird, D.J. 2011. Biodiversité dans les rivières et lacs du Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique nº 20. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. Rapports techniques.

Retour à la référence de la note 10 de bas de page

Référence 11

Gratto-Trevor, C., Morrison, R.I.G., Collins, B., Rausch, J. et Johnston, V. 2011. Tendances relatives aux oiseaux de rivage canadiens. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique nº 13. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. iv + 33 p. Rapports techniques.

Retour à la référence de la note 11 de bas de page

Haut de la page

Introduction