What is Biodiversity?

Biodiversity encompasses all living species on Earth and their relationships to each other. This includes the differences in genes, species and ecosystems. Having many different living things allows Nature to recover from change. If too much biodiversity is lost, there is a problem because we depend on it to survive. Ecosystems, for instance, are extremely important because they carry out processes such as producing oxygen and cleaning soil and water.

  • Often referred to as "biodiversity", biological diversity refers to the variety of species and ecosystems on Earth and the ecological processes of which they are a part.
  • Three components of biodiversity are ecosystem, species and genetic diversity.
  • Ecosystems perform functions that are essential to human existence such as oxygen and soil production and water purification.

Humans use at least 40,000 species of plants and animals every day! We rely on biodiversity for many things, including food, medicine and clothing. Some of the ways biodiversity is lost are through:

Sugar Maple Borer
  • Habitat destruction
  • Introduced species
  • Pollution
  • Population growth
  • Over-consumption

As a result of human activities, ecosystem, species and genetic diversity is being destroyed faster than nature can create it. This damage threatens the ecological, economic, recreational and cultural benefits that we receive from the Earth's living resources.

Fishing Spider

Canada has an amazing range of biodiversity to be conserved and protected. By working together, humans can find ways to live without negatively affecting biodiversity. You can help by investigating the importance of the variety of living things on earth.

Qu'est-ce que la biodiversité ?

La biodiversité englobe toutes les espèces vivantes sur la Terre, leur relation entre elles ainsi que les différents gènes, écosystèmes et espèces. La nature peut se remettre de changements qui surviennent puisqu’elle est composée d’une grande diversité d’organismes vivants. La situation pose toutefois un problème si la perte de biodiversité est trop importante, car notre survie en dépend. Les écosystèmes, par exemple, sont extrêmement importants parce qu'ils produisent de l'oxygène et nettoient le sol et l'eau.

  • Souvent appelée aussi « biodiversité », la diversité biologique désigne la multitude des espèces et des écosystèmes de la Terre ainsi que les processus écologiques dont ils font partie
  • Elle se divise en trois composantes : la diversité des espèces, des écosystèmes et des gènes.
  • Les écosystèmes sont essentiels à la vie humaine; par exemple, ils produisent l'oxygène et le sol, et purifient l'eau.

Chaque jour, les humains utilisent au moins 40 000 espèces de plantes et d'animaux! La biodiversité est importante pour bien des choses, comme la nourriture, les médicaments et les vêtements. Voici des exemples de façons dont la biodiversité est perdue :

Perceur de l'érable
  • La destruction de l'habitat
  • L'introduction d'espèces exotiques
  • La pollution
  • La croissance de la population
  • La surconsommation

Les activités humaines détruisent la diversité des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes plus rapidement que la nature peut la créer. Elles menacent les avantages écologiques, économiques, récréatifs et culturels que nous retirons des ressources vivantes de la Terre.

Dolomède

Le Canada a une incroyable biodiversité qui doit être conservée et protégée. En unissant nos efforts, nous, les humains, pouvons trouver des moyens de vivre sans nuire à la biodiversité. Vous pouvez aider en découvrant l'importance de la variété d'organismes vivants sur la Terre.