Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 12. - Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006

This report is also available in PDF format. Technical Thematic Report No. 12. - Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006 (PDF, 1.59 MB)

Document Information

Document Cover Page

C. Downes, P. Blancher and B. CollinsFootnote1

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010
Technical Thematic Report No.12
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006.

Issued also in French under title:
Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN978-1-100-18651-1
Cat. no.: En14-43/12-2011E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada’s copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services of Canada (PWGSC). For more information, please contact PWGSC at 613-996-6886 or at droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

This report should be cited as:
Downes, C., Blancher, P. and Collins, B. 2011. Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 12. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. x + 94 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2011
Aussi disponible en français

Footnotes

Footnote 1

All authors are with Environment Canada

Return to reference1

Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Footnote2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote3 was a first report under this framework. It assesses progress towards the framework's goal of "Healthy and Diverse Ecosystems" and the two desired conservation outcomes: i) productive, resilient, diverse ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and ii) damaged ecosystems restored.

The 22 recurring key findings that are presented in Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 emerged from synthesis and analysis of technical reports prepared as part of this project. Over 500 experts participated in the writing and review of these foundation documents. This report, Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006, is one of several reports prepared on the status and trends of national cross-cutting themes. It has been prepared and reviewed by experts in the field of study and reflects the views of its authors.

Top of Page

Acknowledgements

Special thanks go to the thousands of volunteers throughout Canada and the United States who have participated in the North American Breeding Bird Survey, Christmas Bird Count and other monitoring programs. This paper is based on data from these programs and would not have been possible without the dedication of these highly-skilled volunteers.

We also thank the reviewers of this report.

Top of Page

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada,Footnote4 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as "ecozones+" throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original framework.Footnote5

Ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

map

Long Description for Ecozones+ map of Canada

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+, two large lake ecozones+, and nine marine ecozones+.

Introduction and Methods

This report discusses changes in populations of landbirds in Canada from the late 1960s to the mid-2000s for species common enough to be relatively well surveyed. Landbirds are a diverse group of birds that rely primarily on terrestrial habitats for breeding and wintering. The term includes vultures, hawks, grouse, doves, cuckoos, owls, nighthawks, swifts, hummingbirds, kingfishers, woodpeckers, and passerines (or perching birds, often referred to as songbirds).

Results are presented at the national level (Canada) and for individual ecozones+ for which data were sufficient. The data used are mainly from the Canadian portion of the North American Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) (Canadian Wildlife Service, 2007; U.S. Geological Survey, Patuxent Wildlife Research Centre, 2010) but other sources are used occasionally, especially for the Arctic and taiga ecozones+. BBS results presented were analysed specifically for this report using data from between 1968 to 2006. The BBS is an avian survey conducted annually in the United States, Canada, and, starting in 2008, northern Mexico. The survey is designed to monitor trends in relative abundance of North American breeding birds at continental, national, and regional scales. The BBS focuses on landbirds and has become the main source of information on long-term population change for these species in North America. Nevertheless, the BBS does not monitor all landbird species well. Because of the timing and roadside nature of the BBS, there is generally poor coverage of most nocturnal birds, aquatic/wetland specialists, highly colonial birds, secretive and rare birds, and less than ideal coverage of early-season breeders.

Due to the remoteness and inaccessibility of the Arctic and taiga ecozones+ there are no BBS data and few other sources of data on landbirds in these regions. However, some birds that breed in northern Canada spend their winters in the United States and more southern parts of Canada and have their populations monitored by the Christmas Bird Count (CBC) (Audubon Society, 2010). In reporting on these ecozones+, we rely on trend results from the CBC provided to us by D. Niven (cf. Butcher and Niven, 2007). The CBC, now over 100 years old, monitors the status and trends of winter bird populations through an all-day, annual census conducted by groups of volunteers throughout North America. Data from the CBC complement the BBS by providing results for some species that cannot be monitored on their breeding grounds. On occasion, for some ecozones+, we also refer to results from the Atlas of the Breeding Birds of Ontario: 2001-2005(Cadman et al., 2007), the Ontario Forest Bird Monitoring Program (Cadman et al., 1998), and the Prairie Grassland Bird Monitoring Program (Dale et al., 2005).

In this report, birds are divided into species assemblages (or guilds) that share life-history traits. For the Canada-wide analysis, BBS results are presented for birds assembled by habitat, migration pattern, and foraging strategy, as well as selected individual species characteristic of each assemblage. In the ecozone+analyses, results are presented only for habitat assemblages typical of the region. Species were assigned to habitat assemblages according to Peterjohn and Sauer (1993) except for the “Other Open” assemblage that was added to capture species found in a variety of open habitats not restricted to any single habitat assemblage – that is, these birds are generalists of open habitats. Birds were assigned to foraging and migration strategy assemblages according to WILDSPACETM (Environment Canada, 2006) although some categories were grouped and other minor adjustments were made. Descriptions of species assemblages are provided in Table 1. Assemblage designations for all species included in this report are listed in Appendix 1.

Table 1. Descriptions of species assemblages.

1.1 Habitat Assemblages
HabitatDescription
ForestDeciduous, coniferous, and mixed forest habitat
Shrub/Early SuccessionalShrubland, old-field, and mid-successional stage habitat from grassland to forest
GrasslandNative grasslands (prairie and savannah habitat) and some agricultural habitat such as hayfields, pastures,
and rangeland
Other OpenOpen country (tundra excluded because of few data on these species), including species of agricultural landscapes not already assigned to the grassland assemblage
Urban/SuburbanIncludes three introduced Eurasian species (House Sparrow, European Starling, and Rock Pigeon) and native species typical of urban/suburban landscapes
1.2 Assemblages by Strategy
StrategyDescription
Year-round ResidentsNo significant migration; breed and winter in the same range within Canada
MigrationShort-distance MigrantsBreed in Canada and migrate to winter largely in temperate regions, i.e., southern Canada, the United States, and northern Mexico
Neotropical MigrantsBreed in Canada and migrate to winter largely or completely in the neotropics, i.e. southern Mexico, West Indies, Central and South America
1.3 Foraging Assemblages – by Prey Type
Prey TypeDescription
Carnivore/PiscivoreMajor food items are animals including carrion and/or fish
Herbivore/Frugivore/
Granivore
Major food items are plants including vegetation, nuts and seeds, and/orfruit
InsectivoreMajor food items are insects or other invertebrates
OmnivoreVariety of food items; includes some combination of above prey types
1.4 Foraging Assemblages – by Feeding Substrate
Feeding SubstrateDescription
AerialSpecialize in feeding on flying prey; includes “hawkers” that feed while flying, “salliers” that make forays from a perch to pursue prey; and “screeners” that fly with bills open and screen prey from the air
VegetationSelect food items from foliage, twigs, branches, and flowers
Trunk/BarkSelect food from tree trunks andunder bark
GroundSelect food from the ground

Trends were not calculated for a wetland bird assemblage because few landbirds fit cleanly into this group and because the BBS does not cover wetland habitat well. While the assemblage results presented are based on all species assigned to an assemblage for which there were BBS data, individual species results are presented only for a selection of species with reasonably good BBS trend precision (usually SE<2% per year), and which are typical of the ecozone+ as assessed by their relative abundance and proportion of their population in that ecozone+ versus elsewhere in their range. Therefore, individual species results presented do not include a comprehensive list for the ecozone+, but are a sample of birds tracked by BBS (or another source) that illustrate the range of trends ‘typical’ of the region and assemblage.

For each assemblage we present a graph of annual indices to show how populations have changed over time, an overall trend that summarizes the rate of change over the full trend period (1968 to 2006), and the relative abundance per decade for species and assemblages to illustrate how population levels change over decades. The annual index is an estimate of the average number of individual birds that would be counted on a randomly selected route by an average observer in a given year. Annual indices are shown for all species assemblages in Canada and for habitat assemblages in each ecozone+. In the tables we present a value for trend, average relative abundance per decade, and change in relative abundance. “Trend” is the annual percent change in population over the given period. Methods used to calculate trends and annual indices are described in more detail on the Canadian Bird Trends website (Collins and Downes, 2009). The 10-year relative abundances are derived from the annual indices and give the average index of abundance for that decade. “Change” is the percent change in the average index of abundance between the first decade (usually 1970s) for which we have results and the 2000s (2000 to 2006). While the overall trend gives a single measure of the rate of population change over the long-term, the annual indices and relative abundance per decade show how population levels vary within this time period.

The BBS was not established in all areas of Canada at the same time. Results for Canada overall and most of the eastern and central ecozones+ used data from 1968 onwards, while trends in several of the western ecozones+ begin in 1973, and in 1988 for the Boreal Cordillera.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to reference1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON. 86 p.

Return to reference2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to reference3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 125 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to reference4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to reference5

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 12. - Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada de 1968 à 2006

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Rapport technique thématique no. 12. - Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada de 1968 à 2006 (PDF, 2,36 Mo)

Information sur le document

Couverture de la publication

C. Downes, P. Blancher et B. CollinsNote1

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010
Rapport technique thématique no 12
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-1-100-97356-2
No de cat. : En14-43/12-2011F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.
On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales sont interdites, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’administrateur des droits d’auteur de la Couronne du gouvernement du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec TPSGC au 613-996-6886 ou à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Downes, C., Blancher, P. et Collins, B. 2011. Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 12. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). xi + 118 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2011
Also available in English

Notes de bas de page

Note 1

Tous les auteurs sont au service d’Environnement Canada

Retour à la référence1

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéNote1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéNote2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Note3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il permet d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif du cadre, à savoir des « écosystèmes sains et diversifiés » et obtenir les deux résultats souhaités en matière de conservation : i) des écosystèmes productifs, résilients et diversifiés capables de se rétablir et de s’adapter et ii) la restauration des écosystèmes endommagés.

Les 22 constatations clés récurrentes présentées dans Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 sont issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse des rapports techniques préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Plus de 500 experts ont participé à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Le présent document, Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006, s’inscrit au nombre de plusieurs rapports préparés sur la situation et les tendances de thèmes nationaux intersectoriels. Il a été préparé et révisé par des experts du domaine d’étude et reflète les points de vue des auteurs.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Des remerciements particuliers sont adressés aux milliers de bénévoles compétents partout au Canada et aux États-Unis qui ont participé au Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs d’Amérique du Nord, au Recensement des oiseaux de Noël et à d’autres programmes de suivi des populations d’oiseaux. Les données issues de ces programmes ont servi de fondement à ce document qui n’aurait pu voir le jour sans le dévouement de ces bénévoles hautement qualifiés.Des remerciements particuliers sont également adressés aux réviseurs du présent rapport.

Haut de la page

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaNote4, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialNote5.

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

carte

Description longue pour la carte de l'écozone+ du Canada

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres, deux grandes écozones+ de lacs et neuf écozones+ marines.

Introduction et méthodes

Le présent rapport traite des changements survenus dans des populations d’oiseaux terrestres, de la fin des années 60 jusqu’à aujourd’hui, dont les effectifs étaient suffisamment abondants pour assurer la fiabilité du suivi. Les oiseaux terrestres forment un groupe diversifié d’espèces qui dépendent principalement de milieux terrestres durant leurs périodes de reproduction et d’hivernage. Ce groupe comprend les vautours, les rapaces diurnes, les gallinacés, les pigeons, les coucous, les rapaces nocturnes, les engoulevents, les martinets, les colibris, les martins-pêcheurs, les pics et les passereaux (oiseaux qui se perchent, souvent appelés oiseaux chanteurs).

Les résultats sont présentés à l’échelle nationale (Canada) et pour chaque écozone+ dont les données étaient suffisantes. Les résultats présentés concernent principalement les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs d’Amérique du Nord (BBS, de l’anglais Breeding Bird Survey) recueillies au Canada (Service canadien de la faune, 2007; U.S. Geological Survey, Patuxent Wildlife Research Centre, 2010), mais d’autres sources ont également été utilisées, particulièrement pour l’écozone+ de l’Arctique et les écozones+ de la taïga. Les résultats du BBS présentés ici ont été analysés pour ce rapport précisément, en utilisant des données entre 1968 et 2006. Le BBS est un relevé d’oiseaux mené annuellement aux États-Unis, au Canada et, depuis 2008, dans le nord du Mexique. Ce relevé vise à suivre les tendances relatives à l’abondance des oiseaux nicheurs d’Amérique du Nord aux échelles continentale, nationale et régionale. Le BBS met l’accent sur les oiseaux terrestres et constitue aujourd’hui la principale source d’information sur les changements à long terme qui surviennent dans les populations de ces espèces en Amérique du Nord. Toutefois, il ne s’avère pas aussi efficace pour toutes les espèces. De fait, en raison du moment où les observations sont effectuées et parce que celles-ci sont réalisées en bordure de route, on note de façon générale une très mauvaise couverture pour la plupart des oiseaux nocturnes, des espèces fréquentant les milieux aquatiques et les milieux humides, des oiseaux fortement coloniaux et des oiseaux rares ou discrets, et une couverture imparfaite pour les espèces qui nichent tôt en saison.

Vu l’éloignement et l’inaccessibilité de l’écozone+ de l’Arctique et des écozones+ de la taïga, les donnée du BBS sont inexistantes, et les autres sources de données sur les oiseaux terrestres de ces régions sont peu nombreuses. Cependant, certains oiseaux qui nichent dans le nord du Canada passent l’hiver aux États-Unis ou dans le sud du Canada, où leurs populations peuvent faire l’objet d’un suivi par le Recensement des oiseaux de Noël (Audubon Society, 2010). Pour ces écozones+, les tendances retenues sont celles tirées de ce recensement et fourni par D. Niven (cf. Butcher et Niven, 2007). Le Recensement des oiseaux de Noël, qui a débuté il y a plus de 100 ans, suit l’état et les tendances des populations hivernales d’oiseaux par l’intermédiaire d’un recensement annuel d’une durée d’une journée, effectué par des groupes de bénévoles dans l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord. Les données de ce recensement complémentent celles du BBS et fournissent des résultats pour des espèces qui ne peuvent être recensées dans leurs aires de reproduction. À l’occasion, pour certaines écozones+, des résultats de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario de 2001 à 2005 (Cadman et al., 2007), du Programme de surveillance des oiseaux forestiers de l’Ontario (Cadman et al., 1998) et du programme de surveillance des oiseaux de prairie (Grassland Bird Monitoring) pour l’écozone+ des Prairies (Dale et al., 2005) sont aussi utilisés.

Dans le présent rapport, les oiseaux sont groupés en assemblages d’espèces (ou guildes) fondés sur des caractéristiques écologiques qu’ont en commun les espèces ainsi groupées. Pour le Canada, les résultats du BBS sont présentés pour les assemblages des oiseaux fondés sur l’habitat, la tendance de migration et la stratégie d’alimentation, de même que pour certaines espèces choisies caractéristiques de chaque assemblage. Dans les analyses des diverses écozones+, les résultats sont présentés seulement pour les assemblages divisés selon l’habitat qui sont caractéristiques de la région concernée. L’assignation des espèces aux divers assemblages selon l’habitat a été établie d’après Peterjohn et Sauer (1993), sauf pour ce qui est de l’assemblage « Autres milieux ouverts », qui a été ajouté pour couvrir les espèces présentes dans divers milieux ouverts non inclus dans les autres assemblages fondés sur l’habitat (c’est-à-dire que ces oiseaux sont des généralistes relativement aux habitats ouverts). L’assignation des espèces aux divers assemblages selon l’alimentation et la tendance de migration a été établie d’après WILDSPACEMC (Environnement Canada, 2006), avec un groupement de certaines catégories et d’autres ajustements mineurs. La description des assemblages d’espèces est présentée au Tableau 1. Par ailleurs, l’Annexe 1 indique dans quels assemblages toutes les espèces figurant dans le présent rapport ont été placées.

Tableau 1. Description des assemblages d’espèces.

1.1 Assemblages selon l’habitat
HabitatDescription
ForêtForêts décidues, conifériennes ou mixtes
Milieux arbustifs et de début de successionArbustaies, champs laissés à l’abandon, milieux de stade de succession intermédiaire entre la prairie et la forêt
PrairiePrairies indigènes (y compris la savane) et certains milieux agricoles comme les champs de foin et les pâturages
Autres milieux ouvertsMilieux ouverts (à l’exclusion de la toundra en raison du peu de données sur ces espèces), y compris les oiseaux des paysages agricoles non déjà assignés à l’assemblage relatif à la prairie
Milieux urbains et suburbainsComprend trois espèces introduites d’Eurasie (Moineau domestique, Étourneau sansonnet, Pigeon biset) et des espèces indigènes caractéristiques des paysages urbains et suburbains
1.2 Assemblages selon la stratégie de migration
Stratégie de migrationDescription
Nicheurs résidentsPas de migration importante, se reproduisent et hivernent dans la même aire de répartition à l’intérieur du Canada
Migrateurs de courtes distancesEspèces qui se reproduisent au Canada dont une grande partie de l’effectif migre pour hiverner dans des régions tempérées, soit dans le sud du Canada, aux États-Unis ou dans le nord du Mexique
Migrateurs néotropicauxEspèces qui se reproduisent au Canada dont une grande partie sinon la totalité de l’effectif migre pour hiverner dans des régions néotropicales, soit dans le sud du Mexique, dans les Antilles, en Amérique centrale ou en Amérique du Sud
1.3 Assemblages selon l’alimentation – par type d’aliments
Type d’alimentsDescription
Carnivores et piscivoresEspèces qui se nourrissent principalement d’animaux, y compris de charogne et de poisson
Herbivores, frugivores et granivoresEspèces qui se nourrissent principalement de plantes, y compris de tiges et de feuilles, de fruits (noix et autres) et de graines
InsectivoresEspèces qui se nourrissent principalement d’insectes
OmnivoresEspèces qui se nourrissent d’aliments variés, soit de combinaisons des aliments susmentionnés
1.4 Assemblages selon l’alimentation – par substrat d’alimentation
Substrat d’alimentationDescription
AirEspèces qui consomment des proies volantes; comprend les oiseaux qui cherchent et poursuivent leurs proies en vol, les oiseaux qui chassent à l’affût depuis un perchoir, et les oiseaux qui capturent les proies présentes dans l’air en volant le bec ouvert
VégétationEspèces qui s’alimentent sur le feuillage, les brindilles, les branches et les fleurs
Tronc et écorceEspèces qui trouvent leur nourriture sur les troncs d’arbre, sous l’écorce
SolEspèces qui trouvent leur nourriture au sol

La tendance pour les oiseaux terrestres des milieux humides n’a pas été calculée parce que peu d’oiseaux terrestres appartiennent clairement à l’assemblage des milieux humides et que le BBS ne couvre pas bien ces milieux. Les résultats pour un assemblage donné sont fondés sur toutes les espèces assignées à cet assemblage pour lesquelles il existe des données du BBS. Par ailleurs, les résultats sont présentés pour chaque espèce choisie, seulement dans les cas où le BBS donne des tendances qui sont raisonnablement bonnes (habituellement, erreur-type < 2 % par année), et qui sont typiques de l’écozone+ considérée, d’après leur abondance relative et la proportion de leur population dans cette écozone+ par rapport aux autres endroits de leur aire de répartition. Par conséquent, les résultats présentés pour chaque espèce n’incluent pas de liste exhaustive des espèces pour les écozones+. Ils présentent plutôt un échantillon des oiseaux suivis par le BBS (ou par une autre source) qui illustre les tendances caractéristiques de la région et de l’assemblage concerné.

Un graphique des indices d’abondance annuels est présenté pour chaque assemblage afin de montrer l’évolution des effectifs au fil des ans, la tendance globale résumant le taux de changement sur toute la période couverte (de 1968 à 2006), et pour chaque assemblage et certaines espèces, l’abondance relative par décennie pour illustrer les changements quant aux niveaux des populations survenus au cours des décennies. L’indice d’abondance annuel est une estimation du nombre moyen d’oiseaux qui seraient dénombrés par un observateur moyen sur un parcours choisi au hasard dans une année donnée. Des indices annuels sont présentés pour tous les assemblages d’espèces au Canada et pour les assemblages selon l’habitat pour chaque écozone+. Dans les tableaux, une valeur est indiquée pour la tendance globale, l’abondance relative moyenne par décennie, et le changement de l’abondance relative. La tendance globale (colonne « Tendance ») donne le pourcentage de changement annuel des effectifs au cours de la période entière. Les méthodes employées pour calculer les tendances et les indices annuels sont décrites de façon détaillée sur le site Web de la Base de données sur les tendances notées chez les oiseaux du Canada (Collins et Downes, 2009). Les abondances relatives sur dix ans (colonne « Indice d’abondance du BBS ») sont tirées des indices annuels et présentent l’indice d’abondance moyen pour la décennie concernée. La colonne « Changement » indique le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus (habituellement les années 70) et les années 2000 (de 2000 à 2006). La tendance globale donne une seule mesure du taux d’évolution des effectifs à long terme, tandis que les indices annuels et les abondances relatives par décennie montrent comment les niveaux de population varient à l’intérieur de la période concernée.

Le BBS n’a pas été établi partout au même moment dans les diverses régions du Canada. Les résultats pour l’ensemble du Canada et la plupart des écozones+ de l’est et du centre du pays sont fondés sur des données recueillies à partir de 1968, tandis que les tendances ont débuté en 1973 pour plusieurs des écozones+ de l’Ouest, et en 1988 pour l’écozone+ de la Cordillère boréale.

Notes de bas de page

Note 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p

Retour à la référence1

Note 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Ottawa, ON. 80 p.

Retour à la référence2

Note 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p.

Retour à la référence3

Note 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l’état de l’environnement, Direction de l’analyse des écozones. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retour à la référence4

Note 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour à la référence5

Introduction