Symbol of the Government of Canada

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

GOAL 2 - Ecological Management

C. Monitoring

Monitoring programs are required to detect and measure changes in biodiversity, to better understand functional linkages in ecosystems, and to evaluate the success or failure of biodiversity conservation and sustainable use policies and programs.

Monitoring

Article 7:

Monitor, through sampling and other techniques, the components of biodiversity... paying particular attention to those requiring urgent conservation measures and those which offer the greatest potential for sustainable use.Identify processes and categories of activities which have or are likely to have significant adverse impacts on the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and monitor their effects through sampling and other techniques.

Convention on Biological Diversity

There are currently many monitoring programs underway, including programs that monitor water and air quality, wildlife population and species trends, climate, disease outbreaks, fire and successions. Monitoring is conducted by government and non-government agencies, often independently of each other.

Instances in which species and ecosystems are significantly affected by human activities are on the rise. For example, industrial and domestic acid emissions have increased atmospheric acidity, which, through deposition, has affected the acidity of thousands of water bodies and altered the habitat of many aquatic species. Effective monitoring programs must be integrated and ecologically-based in order to determine and implement appropriate management practices.

Strategic Directions:

27.

Develop and implement monitoring programs to:

  1. better understand the functional linkages in ecosystems;
  2. evaluate the success or failure of conservation and sustainable use policies and programs; and
  3. better integrate the monitoring of biological and non-biological parameters.

28.

Develop and use biodiversity indicators that are meaningful, scientifically defensible, practical and compatible with regional, provincial, territorial, national and international programs.

Everyone can help conserve biodiversity

Biologists are worried that populations of frogs and toads may be declining because of human activities. Volunteers across Ontario are listening to frog calls each night, identifying the species and recording the time, air and water temperature, and weather. These records will help biologists monitor populations and determine what actions are necessary to conserve them.

29.
Identify appropriate locations to establish base monitoring sites.
30.
Target monitoring programs on ecosystems, species and populations that are currently under the most stress.
31.
Develop and implement measures to monitor the ex situ collection of biological resources.
32.
Use volunteers in monitoring programs where appropriate and practical.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

OBJECTIF 2 - Gestion écologique

C. Surveillance

Des programmes de surveillance sont nécessaires pour déceler et mesurer les changements de la biodiversité, mieux comprendre les liens fonctionnels à l'intérieur des écosystèmes et évaluer le succès ou l'échec des politiques et des programmes de conservation et d'utilisation durable.

Surveillance

Article 7 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

Surveille par prélèvement d'échantillons et d'autres techniques, les éléments constitutifs de la diversité biologique […] et prête une attention particulière à ceux qui doivent d'urgence faire l'objet de mesures de conservation ainsi qu'à ceux qui offrent le plus de possibilités en matière d'utilisation durable;Identifie les processus et catégories d'activités qui ont ou risque d'avoir une influence défavorable sensible sur la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique et surveille leurs effets par prélèvement d'échantillons et d'autres techniques.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

De nombreux programmes de surveillance sont en cours. Ils portent notamment sur la qualité de l'air et de l'eau, les tendances relatives aux populations et aux espèces animales et végétales sauvages, le climat, les maladies, les incendies et la succession écologique. La surveillance est effectuée par des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, souvent sans concertation.

Les cas où les espèces et les écosystèmes sont largement affectés par l'activité humaine sont à la hausse. Par exemple, les émissions acides d'origine industrielle et domestique ont augmenté l'acidité de l'atmosphère, puis, en se déposant, celle de milliers de plans d'eau, altérant ainsi l'habitat de nombreuses espèces aquatiques. Les programmes de surveillance efficaces doivent être intégrés et fondés sur une approche écologique pour qu'on puisse déterminer et appliquer des méthodes appropriées de gestion.

Orientations stratégiques

27.

Élaborer et appliquer des programmes de surveillance pour :

  1. mieux comprendre les liens fonctionnels dans les écosystèmes;
  2. évaluer la réussite ou l'échec des politiques et programmes de conservation et d'utilisation durable;
  3. mieux intégrer la surveillance des paramètres biologiques et autres.

28.

Élaborer et utiliser des indicateurs de la biodiversité qui soient significatifs, défendables du point de vue scientifique, pratiques et conformes aux programmes régionaux, provinciaux, territoriaux, nationaux et internationaux.

Tout le monde peut contribuer à la conservation de la biodiversité!

Les biologistes craignent que les populations de grenouilles et de crapauds soient en train de diminuer à cause de l'activité humaine. Dans tout l'Ontario, des bénévoles écoutent des croassements des grenouilles chaque soit et consignent l'espèce, l'heure, la température de l'air et de l'eau ainsi que les conditions météorologiques. Ces données aideront les biologistes à surveiller les populations et à déterminer quelles mesures prendre pour les conserver.

29.
Trouver des endroits appropriés pour établir des bases de surveillance.
30.
Orienter les programmes de surveillance sur les écosystèmes, les espèces et les populations qui subissent actuellement le plus grand stress.
31.
Élaborer et appliquer des mesures pour surveiller le prélèvement ex situ de ressources biologiques.

>

32.
Recourir à des volontaires pour les programmes de surveillance, s'il est possible et pratique de le faire.