Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

Introduction

Although the term 'biodiversity' is relatively new to policy-makers, scientists have been warning of a global crisis for some time and have ranked the decline of biodiversity as one of the most serious global environmental threats now facing humanity. As a result of human activities, ecosystem , species and genetic diversity are being eroded at a rate that far exceeds natural processes. This accelerating decline in diversity threatens the ecological, economic, spiritual, recreational and cultural benefits that we currently derive from the Earth's living resources.

What is Biological Diversity?

  • Often referred to as "biodiversity", biological diversity refers to the variety of species and ecosystems on Earth and the ecological processes of which they are a part.
  • Three components of biodiversity are ecosystem, species and genetic diversity.
  • Ecosystems perform functions that are essential to human existence such as oxygen and soil production and water purification.

The Convention on Biological Diversity - A New Understanding

Early in the 1990s, the world community acknowledged the threat posed by degradation of ecosystems and loss of species and genetic diversity by successfully negotiating the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity. Negotiations were concluded in May 1992 and the Convention was opened for signature by world leaders at the United Nations Conference on the Environment and Development (UNCED) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in June 1992.

The Canadian delegation actively participated in these negotiations, and the Prime Minister signed the Convention at UNCED. On December 4, 1992, with the support of the provinces and territories, Canada became the first industrialized country to ratify the Convention, which entered into force on December 29, 1993.

Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

Our Common Future, 1987

The Convention builds on and echoes the philosophy of such predecessors as Caring for the Earth, A Strategy for Sustainable Living, published in 1991, (the Brundtland Report), published in 1987, and the World Conservation Strategy, published in 1980. All are based on the principle that development must be both ecologically and economically sustainable. That is, our efforts to meet human needs must be carried out within the finite resources of the planet.

The objectives of the Convention are:

  • the conservation of biodiversity;
  • the sustainable use of biological resources; and
  • the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from the use of genetic resources.

The Biodiversity Convention is about global sustainable development, which requires the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources. It conveys an understanding of the relationship between human activity and the natural world and the need to sustain living organisms, genetic diversity and the integrity of ecosystems. It will influence, perhaps profoundly, the future of life on Earth. Implementation of the Convention will require a significant shift in the way we use and manage living things. A cooperative, cross-sectoral approach, based on partnerships, must be adopted within and among the nations of the world.

Conservation: the maintenance or sustainable use of the Earth's resources in order to maintain ecosystem, species and genetic diversity and the evolutionary and other processes that shape them.

Canada's Response to the Biodiversity Convention

The Biodiversity Convention provides opportunities for Canada to re-examine its relationship with nature, create new global partnerships, harmonize its national activities and develop new economic opportunities. As a party to the Convention, we are bound by its terms, including the obligation to develop a national biodiversity strategy.

In response to this obligation, a Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group was established with a mandate from parks, environment, wildlife and forestry ministers to develop a Canadian Biodiversity Strategy within two years. A national Biodiversity Advisory Group, made up of representatives from industry, the scientific community, conservation groups, academia and indigenous organizations, was established to provide advice to the Working Group. Ten expert focus groups were convened to provide additional advice on specific Convention articles.

The development of the Strategy began with an assessment of how well Canada was meeting the objectives of the Convention. Over the last decade, federal, provincial and territorial governments have developed and implemented a wide range of laws, policies and programs that support these objectives. The assessment concluded that Federal, provincial and territorial governments, in cooperation with members of the public and stakeholders, will pursue the strategic directions set out in the Strategy according to their policies, plans, priorities and fiscal capabilities. Canada has a strong foundation for responding to commitments under the Convention and a good basis for developing and implementing a national biodiversity strategy. It also revealed that, while it is necessary to do new things, it is sometimes more efficient to enhance or modify current efforts. Such changes require a greater harmonization of efforts among governments and non-government agencies, as well as more integrated resource management approaches that integrate biodiversity conservation and sustainable use of biological resources with economic, social and cultural objectives.

The Canadian Biodiversity Strategy has been developed as a guide to implementing the Biodiversity Convention in Canada and addressing the difficult issues posed by the loss of biodiversity. It recognizes existing constitutional and legislative responsibilities in Canada, while promoting intergovernmental cooperation to advance ecological management. Although all of the directions contained in the Strategy are important from a national perspective, the relevance of certain elements varies across jurisdictions. Also, many initiatives currently underway support the obligations of the Convention.

Canada's Response to the Convention on Biological Diversity:

  • June 1992 - Canada signs the Convention at the Earth Summit
  • December 1992 - Canada ratifies the Convention
  • December 1993 - Convention enters into force
  • June 1994 - Draft Canadian Biodiversity Strategy released for consultation
  • November 1994 - First Conference of the Parties
  • 1995 - Public Release of the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy Implementation Phase

Federal, provincial and territorial governments, in cooperation with members of the public and stakeholders, will pursue the strategic directions set out in the Strategy according to their policies, plans, priorities and fiscal capabilities.

Implementation mechanisms will vary among jurisdictions. In many instances, the directions outlined in the Strategy will be implemented through existing policies, strategies and plans. In other cases, new mechanisms may need to be established. Coordination will be required to promote the effective implementation of national and international elements of the Strategy. The extent, manner and timing of implementation will depend upon an evolving understanding of how ecosystems function and the effects of human activity on these ecosystems.

The Strategy may also serve as a guide for local and indigenous communities, urban and regional governments, business and industry, conservation groups, educational and scientific institutions and interested individuals.

The conservation of biodiversity and sustainable use of biological resources must be pursued in tandem with social and economic goals. In order to safeguard our natural legacy, decisions must consider the needs of both current and future generations.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

Introduction

Bien que le terme « biodiversité » soit relativement nouveau pour les décideurs, les scientifiques, quant à eux, lancent depuis un certain temps des avertissements face à l'imminence d'une crise mondiale et considèrent que le déclin de la biodiversité constitue l'une des menaces environnementales les plus graves qui pèsent actuellement sur l'humanité. À cause de l'activité humaine, la diversité des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes s'appauvrit à un rythme qui dépasse de loin l'évolution naturelle, et ce déclin de plus en plus rapide de la diversité menace les bienfaits écologiques, économiques, spirituels, récréatifs et culturels que nous tirons actuellement des ressources vivantes de la Terre.

Qu'est-ce la diversité biologique?

  • Souvent appelée aussi « biodiversité », la diversité biologique désigne la multitude des espèces et des écosystèmes de la Terre ainsi que les processus écologiques dont ils font partie
  • Elle se divise en trois composantes : la diversité des espèces, des écosystèmes et des gènes.
  • Les écosystèmes sont essentiels à la vie humaine; par exemple, ils produisent l'oxygène et le sol, et purifient l'eau.

La Convention sur la diversité biologique - une nouvelle façon de voir

Dès le début des années 90, le monde entier a reconnu la menace que constituait la dégradation des écosystèmes et la perte des espèces et de la diversité génétique en concluant la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique. Les négociations se sont terminées en mai 1992, et les dirigeants du monde présents à la Convention des Nations Unies sur l'environnement et le développement (CNUED) à Rio de Janeiro, au Brésil, en juin 1992, pouvaient dès lors la signer.

La délégation canadienne a participé activement à ces négociations, et le Premier ministre a signé la Convention à la CNUED. Le 4 décembre 1992, avec l'appui des provinces et territoires, le Canada devenait le premier pays industrialisé à ratifier la Convention. Celle-ci est entrée en vigueur le 29 décembre 1993.

La Convention ajoute et fait écho à la philosophie énoncée dans des documents précédents, comme Sauver la Planète - Stratégie pour l'avenir de la vie, publié en 1991, Notre avenir à tous (rapport Brundtland), paru en 1987, et la Stratégie mondiale de la conservation de 1980. Tous ces documents s'appuient sur le principe voulant que le développement doit être à la fois écologiquement et économiquement durable. En clair, cela signifie que nos efforts pour satisfaire aux besoins humains doivent être déployés dans le respect des ressources limitées de la planète.

Les objectifs de la Convention sont les suivants :

  • la conservation de la biodiversité;
  • l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques;
  • le partage juste et équitable des avantages découlant de l'utilisation des ressources génétiques.

La Convention sur la diversité biologique concerne le développement durable mondial, qui commande la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques. Elle témoigne d'une prise de conscience du rapport entre l'activité humaine et la nature, et de la nécessité de soutenir les organismes vivants, leur diversité génétique et l'intégrité des écosystèmes. Elle influencera, peut-être profondément, l'avenir de la vie sur Terre. La mise en oeuvre de la Convention commandera un virage important dans la façon dont nous utilisons et gérons les êtres vivants. Il nous faudra pour ce faire adopter une approche coopérative, intersectorielle et basée sur le partenariat, à l'intérieur des divers pays et entre les nations du monde.

Conservation : maitien ou utilisation durable des ressources de la Terre afin de préserver des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes ainsi que les phénomènes évolutifs et autres qui les façonnent.

La réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité biologique

La Convention sur la diversité biologique donne au Canada l'occasion de réexaminer son rapport avec la nature, de créer de nouveaux partenariats mondiaux, d'harmoniser ses activités nationales et de développer de nouvelles possibilités économiques. En tant que partie à la Convention, nous sommes liés par ses dispositions, y compris respecter son obligation d'élaborer une stratégie nationale de la biodiversité.

Pour satisfaire à cette obligation, un groupe de travail fédéral-provincial- territorial sur la biodiversité a été chargé, par les ministres responsables des parcs, de l'environnement, de la faune et des forêts, d'élaborer dans un délai de deux ans une Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité. Un groupe consultatif national sur la biodiversité, composé de représentants de l'industrie, de la communauté scientifique, des groupes écologistes, des universités et des organisations autochtones, a été mis sur pied pour conseiller le Groupe de travail. En outre, dix groupes d'experts ont été formés pour fournir des conseils additionnels sur des articles précis de la Convention.

Pour élaborer la Stratégie, on a commencé par une évaluation qui visait à déterminer si le Canada atteignait les objectifs de la Convention. Au cours de la dernière décennie, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont élaboré et appliqué toute une gamme de lois, de politiques et de programmes qui appuient ces objectifs. Il est ressorti de l'évaluation que le Canada dispose déjà d'assises solides pour donner suite aux engagements qu'il a pris en vertu de la Convention et d'une bonne base pour élaborer et mettre en oeuvre une stratégie nationale de la biodiversité. L'examen a aussi révélé que, malgré la nécessité de prendre de nouvelles mesures, il est parfois plus efficace d'intensifier ou de modifier les efforts actuels. De tels changements exigent une plus grande harmonisation des efforts entre les gouvernements et les organisations non gouvernementales, ainsi qu'une approche de gestion des ressources mieux intégrée qui incorpore la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques dans la poursuite des objectifs économiques, sociaux et culturels.

La Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité a été élaborée pour orienter la mise en oeuvre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique au Canada ainsi que pour gérer les problèmes difficiles que pose la perte de biodiversité. On y reconnaît les responsabilités constitutionnelles et législatives actuelles du Canada tout en encourageant la coopération intergouvernementale en vue de l'avancement de la gestion écologique. Toutes les orientations fixées dans la Stratégie ont leur importance d'un point de vue national, mais l'à-propos de certains éléments varie selon les régions. De plus, de nombreuses initiatives en cours contribuent déjà au respect des obligations contractées en vertu de la Convention.

Résponse du Canada á la Convention sur la diversité biologique:

  • juin 1992 - Le Canada signe la Convention au Sommet de la Terre
  • décember 1992 - Le Canada ratifie la Convention
  • décember 1993 - La Convention entre en vigueur
  • juin 1994 - L'ébauche de la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité est soumise aux consultation
  • novembre 1994 - Première Confèrence des Parities
  • 1995 - La Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité est rendue publique
  • La Stratégie est mise en oeuvre

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, de concert avec le public et les intervenants, poursuivront les orientations stratégiques définies dans la Stratégie suivant leurs politiques, leurs plans, leurs priorités et leurs possibilités financières.

Les mécanismes de mise en oeuvre varieront d'une instance à l'autre. Dans bien des cas, les orientations de la Stratégie seront mises en oeuvre par le truchement des politiques, stratégies et plans existants. Dans d'autres, de nouveaux mécanismes pourront être nécessaires. Une coordination s'imposera pour promouvoir la mise en oeuvre efficace d'éléments nationaux et internationaux de la Stratégie. L'ampleur, la manière et le moment de la mise en oeuvre seront fonction de l'évolution du savoir concernant les écosystèmes et les incidences de l'activité humaine sur eux.

La Stratégie peut également guider les collectivités locales et autochtones, les administrations urbaines et régionales, le monde des affaires et l'industrie, les groupes écologistes, les établissements d'enseignement et instituts scientifiques, ainsi que les citoyens intéressés.

La conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques sont des objectifs qui doivent être poursuivis parallèlement avec des objectifs sociaux et économiques. Pour sauvegarder l'héritage naturel de nos enfants, nous devons prendre des décisions qui tiennent compte de nos besoins tout autant que des leurs et de ceux de leurs descendants.