Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

GOAL 1 - Conservation and Sustainable Use

C. Restoration and Rehabilitation

The third element of the ecological approach is restoration and rehabilitation, which includes the restoration or rehabilitation of species and ecosystems.

Rehabilitation and Restoration

Article 8:

  1. Rehabilitate and restore degraded ecosystems and promote the recovery of threatened species through the development and implementation of plans or other management strategies.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Species Recovery

Several species recovery efforts are underway. On a national level, species recovery efforts are currently coordinated by the committee on the Recovery of Nationally Endangered Wildlife (RENEW). Since 1988, the committee has been leading recovery efforts for birds, terrestrial mammals, reptiles and amphibians at risk. Although recovery and reintroduction form part of the RENEW mandate, an over-riding objective of the RENEW strategy is to prevent species from becoming threatened or endangered. Where species are threatened , endangered or extirpated, recovery efforts are undertaken within jurisdictions to enhance or re-introduce species, subspecies and populations. These recovery efforts are designed to improve the viability of threatened and endangered species through such actions as: the protection or enhancement of habitat; the rehabilitation or creation of habitat; the development of contingency plans for major disruptions; captive-breeding and the transplanting of wild or captive-bred individuals; and the enhancement of public awareness and support.

Additionally, some plans are being developed between federal, provincial and territorial governments and indigenous communities to ensure the conservation of species-at-risk and to restore them to levels at which traditional harvesting can be sustained.

Ex situ or "off-site" conservation is sometimes required to support the conservation of vulnerable , threatened and endangered species. There are a number of institutions in Canada currently involved in ex situ conservation supporting both domestic and international species recovery programs. In Canada, ex situ institutions are playing an essential role in conserving native endangered species, such as the Black-footed Ferret and the Whooping Crane, and supporting international efforts to conserve endangered species from other countries, such as the Puerto Rican Toad. All three species are being bred in captivity to produce offspring for re-introduction to their native habitats.

Thelon Game Sanctuary

The Thelon Game Sanctuary was established in the Northwest Territories in 1927 to provide a safe haven for muskoxen, which were then on the brink of extinction. Today, much of the mainland tundra has been repopulated by muskoxen migrating out of this protected core population. The success of the Thelon Game Sanctuary in recovering this species is an illustration of the key role played by protected areas in providing species-at-risk a chance of recovery.

Strategic Directions

21.
Federal, provincial and territorial governments will review their current legislation to determine if improvements are required in order to protect species-at-risk and their habitats, determine the benefits and costs of a more harmonized legislative approach and pursue harmonization where appropriate and practical.
22.
Federal, provincial and territorial governments will work towards harmonizing methodologies to designate species-at-risk.
23.
Determine the ecological requirements of species-at-risk and develop, implement and evaluate the success of recovery plans for species that are defined as extirpated, endangered or threatened, where practical and necessary. Consider the recovery of vulnerable species on a case-by-case basis.
24.
Consider multi-species/habitat recovery plans for areas that contain a number of species-at-risk.
25.
Encourage the involvement of ex situ facilities and expertise in the recovery of species-at-risk.
26.
Federal, provincial and territorial governments will continue to participate and support the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), the Recovery of Nationally Endangered Wildlife (RENEW) and new programs such as the Canadian Nature Federation's Endangered Plants and Invertebrates of Canada program (EPIC).
27.
Expand the mandate of COSEWIC and RENEW to encompass further taxonomic groups adding groups incrementally.
28.
Enhance participation of urban and regional governments, local and indigenous communities and landowners in species recovery projects from early planning phases through implementation.
29.
Support and promote international efforts to recover species-at-risk by: participating in mechanisms, such as the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species, that regulate or control trade in species-at-risk; supporting the recovery of migratory and trans-boundary species-at-risk; and participating in other international efforts, such as the IUCN Species Survival Commission.

Safe Haven for Shorebirds

More than 150,000 shorebirds will continue to have safe haven in the newly designated International Shorebird Reserve at Quill Lakes, Saskatchewan. Nearly 16,188 ha in size, the reserve includes the largest saline lake in Canada, freshwater marshes, mixed grass prairie and aspen parkland communities. This reserve joins the Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network, which comprises 23 other sites in seven countries.

Ecosystem Restoration and Rehabilitation

Several ecosystem restoration and rehabilitation projects are currently underway. In 1988, the Federal Government and the Government of Quebec launched the St. Lawrence Action Plan, allocating approximately $173 million towards the rehabilitation and sustainable use of this ecosystem. In 1991, the Fraser River Basin Action Plan was introduced to promote the sustainable development of the Fraser River ecosystem in British Columbia. This partnership project involves governments, indigenous people and non-government organizations. There are also numerous smaller scale ecosystem restoration and rehabilitation projects underway.

These include restoring wetlands, repairing eroded stream banks and reclaiming areas such as abandoned gravel pits. Many of these projects are community-based and contribute to the conservation of biodiversity.

Ecosystem restoration and rehabilitation can be extremely expensive and is not always successful in fully restoring ecosystems. Preventing ecosystem degradation is, therefore, critical. The cost and scientific and technical implications of each proposed restoration or rehabilitation program must be critically evaluated to determine the program's long-term value in conserving biodiversity. In some cases, scarce financial and human resources could be used more effectively in other conservation initiatives.

Strategic Directions

30.
Using objective criteria to select sites for restoration and rehabilitation, including the habitat requirements of species-at-risk, develop and implement restoration or rehabilitation plans for degraded ecosystems, where practical and necessary.
31.
Develop improved approaches and technologies for ecosystem restoration and rehabilitation, evaluating the potential impacts of programs on ecosystems and species to ensure that desired outcomes are achievable without causing negative impacts.

St. Lawrence Vision 2000

In 1994, the federal and Quebec governments renewed their commitment to the St. Lawrence Action Plan. The new St. Lawrence Vision 2000 includes biodiversity as one of its seven long-term objectives. Over $26 million has been committed to actions such as:

  • conserving 7000 ha of habitat;
  • recovering the Beluga Whale; and
  • rehabilitating the smelt population in the Boyer River.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

OBJECTIF 1 - Conservation et utilisation durable

C. Restauration et réhabilitation

La restauration et la réhabilitation constituent le troisième élément de l'approche écologique. Cela englobe le rétablissement ou la réhabilitation des espèces et des écosystèmes.

Réhabilitation et restauration

Article 8 - Chaque Partie contractante [...] :

  1. remet en état et restaure les écoystèmes dégradés et favorise la reconstitution des espèces menacées moyennant, entre autres, l'élaboration et l'application de plans ou autres stratégies de gestion.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Rétablissement des espèces

Plusieurs initiatives de rétablissement d'espèces sont en cours. Au niveau national, ces efforts sont à l'heure actuelle coordonnés par le Comité RESCAPÉ (Rétablissement des espèces canadiennes en péril). Depuis 1988, le Comité a dirigé des efforts pour rétablir des oiseaux, des mammifères terrestres, des reptiles et des amphibiens en péril. Même si le rétablissement et la réintroduction font partie du mandat du Comité RESCAPÉ, un de ses objectifs primordiaux est de prévenir que des espèces ne deviennent menacées ou en danger de disparition. Lorsque des espèces sont menacées, en danger de disparition ou disparues au Canada, les différents paliers de gouvernement déploient des efforts pour accroître ou réintroduire des espèces, des sous-espèces ou des populations. Ces efforts visent à améliorer la viabilité des espèces menacées ou en danger de disparition au moyen de diverses mesures : la protection ou l'amélioration de l'habitat; la réhabilitation ou la création d'habitats, l'établissement de plans d'intervention d'urgence pour les perturbations majeures; la reproduction en captivité et la transplantation de sujets sauvages ou élevés en captivité; et l'accroissement de la sensibilisation et de l'appui du public.

En outre, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux travaillent, en collaboration avec les communautés autochtones, à l'élaboration de plans visant à conserver les espèces en péril et à les restaurer à des niveaux qui permettent la récolte traditionnelle.

Refuge faunique Thelon

Le refuge faunique Thelon a été créé en 1927 dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour protéger le boeuf musqué, menacé de disparaître. À partir de la population de base protégée, l'espèce a mainenant repeuplé une grande partie de la toundra continentale. Cette réussite illustre le rôle capital des zones protégées, qui donnent aux espèces en péril une chance de se rétablir.

Orientations stratégiques :

21.
Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux examineront leurs lois afin de déterminer s'il y a lieu de les améliorer pour protéger les espèces en péril et leurs habitats, de préciser les avantages et les coûts d'un cadre législatif plus harmonisé et d'harmoniser les lois là où la chose est appropriée et possible.
22.
Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux chercheront à harmoniser les méthodologies pour désigner les espèces en péril.
23.
Déterminer les besoins écologiques des espèces en péril et élaborer et appliquer, là où la chose est nécessaire et possible, des plans de rétablissement des espèces définies comme étant disparues au Canada, en danger de disparition ou menacées, et évaluer le succès de ces plans. Envisager le rétablissement des espèces vulnérables cas par cas.
24.
Envisager des plans de rétablissement visant plusieurs espèces/habitats pour les zones qui renferment un certain nombre d'espèces en péril.
25.
Encourager la participation des installations de conservation ex situ et de leurs spécialistes au rétablissement des espèces en péril.
26.
Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux continueront à participer et à contribuer aux travaux du Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada (CSEMDC) et au programme de Rétablissement des espèces canadiennes en péril (RESCAPÉ), ainsi qu'à de nouveaux programmes comme celui de la Fédération canadienne de la nature sur les plantes et invertébrés menacés au Canada (PIMC).
27.
Étendre le mandat du CSEMDC et de RESCAPÉ pour y inclure, petit à petit, d'autres groupes taxonomiques.
28.
Accroître la participation des administrations régionales et municipales, des collectivités locales et autochtones ainsi que des propriétaires fonciers aux projets de rétablissement des espèces, depuis la planification jusqu'à l'application.
29.
Appuyer et promouvoir les efforts internationaux visant à rétablir des espèces en péril par les moyens suivants : en participant à certains mécanismes, comme la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction, qui réglementent ou limitent le commerce des espèces en péril; en appuyant le rétablissement d'espèces migratrices et transfrontalières en péril; et en participant à d'autres efforts internationaux, comme ceux de la Commission de la sauvegarde des espèces de l'UICN.

Havre de paix pour les oiseaux de rivage

Plus de 150 000 oiseaux de rivage continueront de jouir d'un habitat sûr dans la nouvelle Réserve internationale pour les oiseaux de rivage des lacs Quill en Saskatchewan. D'une superficie de presque 16 188 ha, la réserve contient le plus grand lac salin du Canada, des marais d'eau douce, une prairie mixte et des forêts-parcs à trembles. Cette réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l'hémisphère occidental, qui regroupe 23 autres sites, répartis dans sept pays.

Restauration et réhabilitation des écosystèmes

Plusieurs projets de restauration et de réhabilitation des écosystèmes sont actuellement en cours. En 1988, le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement du Québec ont lancé le Plan d'action Saint-Laurent, allouant quelque 173 millions de dollars pour assurer la restauration et l'utilisation durable de cet écosystème. En 1991, le Plan d'action Fraser a été introduit pour favoriser le développement durable de l'écosystème du fleuve Fraser en Colombie-Britannique. Gouvernements, collectivités autochtones et organisations non gouvernementales réalisent le projet en partenariat. De nombreux autres projets, de moindre envergure, de restauration et de réhabilitation des écosystèmes se déroulent à l'heure actuelle. Mentionnons entre autres des projets de restauration de terres humides, de rétablissement de berges érodées et de régénération de terrains comme des carrières abandonnées. Nombre d'entre eux sont des projets communautaires qui contribuent à la conservation de la biodiversité.

La restauration des écosystèmes peut coûter extrêmement cher et elle ne donne pas toujours de très bons résultats. Il est donc crucial de prévenir la dégradation des écosystèmes. Les incidences financières, scientifiques et techniques de chaque projet de restauration ou de réhabilitation doivent être soigneusement pesées afin de déterminer la valeur à long terme du projet dans le contexte de la conservation de la biodiversité. Dans certains cas, les rares ressources humaines et financières trouveraient meilleur emploi dans d'autres initiatives de conservation.

Orientations stratégiques

30.
Là où la chose est possible et nécessaire, établir et appliquer des plans de restauration et de réhabilitation des écosystèmes dégradés en utilisant des critères objectifs pour choisir les lieux à restaurer et à réhabiliter, notamment les besoins en habitat des espèces en péril.
31.
Améliorer les approches et les techniques de restauration et de réhabilitation des écosystèmes en évaluant les impacts potentiels des programmes sur les écosystèmes et les espèces, pour faire en sorte que les résultats souhaitables soient réalisables sans entraîner d'impacts négatifs.

Saint-Laurent Vision 2000

En 1994, le gouvernement fédéral et le Québec ont renouvelé leur engagement vis-à-vis du Plan d'action Saint-Laurent. Le nouveau programme Saint-Laurent Vision 2000 fait de la biodiversité un de ses sept objectifs à long terme. Plus de 26 millions de dollars y ont été engagés, dans des mesures comme :

  • la conservation de 7000 ha d'habitat
  • le rétablissement du béluga
  • le rétablissement du stock d'éperlans dans la rivère Boyer.