Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous peoples and their traditional knowledge, innovations and practices have key roles to play in biodiversity conservation, sustainable use, and benefit-sharing.

In Canada, many Indigenous groups work to conserve biodiversity for the sake of future generations. Indigenous peoples are the traditional caretakers of Canada's biodiversity and are the stewards of some of Canada's least disturbed ecosystems. Indigenous Canadians are active in the development of sustainable resource management practice, and protected areas designation and co-management.

Among a number of Articles of the Convention that pertain to Indigenous peoples, Article 8(j) is key linking in-situ conservation of biodiversity to the preservation and maintenance of the traditional knowledge, innovations and practices of Indigenous peoples.

The Secretariat of the Convention has created a Traditional Knowledge Information Portal, an online resource for research and sharing information on traditional knowledge of biodiversity, especially pertaining to Article 8(j).

Biodiversity Buzz

Are you involved with an outstanding Indigenous initiative for biodiversity conservation, sustainable use, and benefit-sharing? Share your story.

Autochtones

Les Autochtones ainsi que leurs connaissances, leurs innovations et leurs pratiques traditionnelles sont des éléments essentiels de la conservation, de l'utilisation durable et du partage des avantages de la biodiversité.

Au Canada, de nombreux peuples autochtones s'efforcent de conserver la biodiversité pour les générations à venir. Les Autochtones sont les protecteurs traditionnels de la biodiversité du Canada et les gardiens de quelques-uns des écosystèmes les moins perturbés au Canada. Les Autochtones canadiens participent activement à l'élaboration de méthodes de gestion durable des ressources et à la désignation et à la cogestion des aires protégées.

Parmi les articles de la Convention traitant des peuples Autochtones, l'article 8(j) est essentiel pour relier la conservation in situ de la biodiversité à la préservation et au maintien des connaissances, des innovations et des pratiques traditionnelles des peuples Autochtones.

Le Secrétariat de la Convention a créé un portail d'information sur le savoir traditionnel, une ressource en ligne de recherche et de partage d'information sur les connaissances traditionnelles sur la biodiversité, en particulier en ce qui concerne l'article 8(j).

Branchés sur la biodiversité

Participez-vous à une initiative autochtone extraordinaire de conservation, d'utilisation durable et de partage des avantages des de la biodiversité? Partager votre histoire.