Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 4. - Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada

This report is also available in PDF format. Technical Thematic Report No. 4. - Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada (PDF, 2.7 MB)

Document Information

Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008

Cover page of the publication: Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008.

B. BonsalFootnote[1] and A. ShabbarFootnote[2]

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010
Technical Thematic Report No.4
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008.

Issued also in French under title:
Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à2008.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN978-1-100-18483-8
Cat. no.: En14-43/4-2011E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to: 

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada’s copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services of Canada (PWGSC). For more information, please contact PWGSC at 613-996-6886 or at droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

This report should be cited as:
Bonsal, B. and Shabbar, A. 2011. Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 4. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iii + 15 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2011
Aussi disponible en français

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Aquatic Ecosystem Impacts Research Division, Water Science and Technology Directorate, Environment Canada

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Climate Research Division, Science and Technology Branch, Environment Canada

Return to footnote 2

Top of Page


Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Footnote2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote3 was a first report under this framework. It assesses progress towards the framework’s goal of “Healthy and Diverse Ecosystems” and the two desired conservation outcomes: i) productive, resilient, diverse ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and ii) damaged ecosystems restored.

The 22 recurring key findings that are presented in Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 emerged from synthesis and analysis of technical reports prepared as part of this project. Over 500 experts participated in the writing and review of these foundation documents. This report, Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008, is one of several reports prepared on the status and trends of national cross-cutting themes. It has been prepared and reviewed by experts in the field of study and reflects the views of its authors.

Top of Page

Acknowledgements

The authors are grateful to Heather Haywood and Ross Mackay of Environment Canada for assistance with the figures. We would also like to thank the two reviewers for their helpful comments and suggestions toward an improved version of the report.

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for CanadaFootnote4, provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+ throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original frameworkFootnote5.

Ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

Long Description for Ecozones+ map of Canada

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+, two large lake ecozones+, and nine marine ecozones+.

Introduction

Observed trends and variability in Canadian climate are influenced by large-scale atmospheric and oceanic oscillations known as teleconnections. Although there are several identified teleconnection patterns used to describe various circulation features across the globe, the main oscillations impacting Canada include El Niño/Southern Oscillation (Rasmusson and Carpenter, 1982), the Pacific Decadal Oscillation (Mantua et al., 1997), the Pacific North American pattern (Wallace and Gutzler, 1981), the North Atlantic Oscillation (e.g. Hurrell and VanLoon, 1997; Hurrell et al., 2003) -- which is closely related to the Arctic Oscillation (Thompson and Wallace, 1998), and the Atlantic Multi-Decadal Oscillation (Mestas-Nuñez and Enfield, 1999). Relationships between these teleconnections and Canadian climate are strongest during the cold season (late autumn through spring) although some connections with summer conditions have been identified. In addition, they have strongest and more consistent impacts on temperature variables and to a lesser extent, on precipitation related factors.

Top of Page


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian Biodiversity Strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON. 86 p.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 125 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to footnote5

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no 4. - Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Rapport technique thématique no 4. - Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada (PDF, 3.0 Mo)

Information sur le document

Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008

Couverture de la publication : Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008

B. BonsalFootnote[1] et A. ShabbarFootnote[2]

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010
Rapport technique thématique no 4
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-1-100-97193-3
No de cat. : En14-43/4-2011F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.
On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales sont interdites, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’administrateur des droits d’auteur de la Couronne du gouvernement du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec TPSGC au 613-996-6886 ou à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Bonsal, B. et Shabbar, A. 2011. Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 4. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). iii + 15 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2011
Also available in English

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Division de la recherche sur l’étude des impacts sur les écosystèmes aquatiques, Direction de la science et de la technologie de l’eau, Environnement Canada

Retournez à la note 1

Footnote 2

Division des recherches climatiques, Direction générale des sciences et de la technologie, Environnement Canada

Retournez à la note 2

Haut de la page


Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéFootnote1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéFootnote2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Footnote3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il permet d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif du cadre, à savoir des « écosystèmes sains et diversifiés » et obtenir les deux résultats souhaités en matière de conservation : i) des écosystèmes productifs, résilients et diversifiés capables de se rétablir et de s’adapter et ii) la restauration des écosystèmes endommagés.

Les 22 constatations clés récurrentes présentées dans Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 sont issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse des rapports techniques préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Plus de 500 experts ont participé à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Le présent document, Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008, s’inscrit au nombre de plusieurs rapports préparés sur la situation et les tendances de thèmes nationaux intersectoriels. Il a été préparé et révisé par des experts du domaine d’étude et reflète les points de vue des auteurs.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Un grand merci à Heather Haywood et Ross Mackay d’Environnement Canada de leur aide avec les figures. Nous tenons aussi à remercier les deux réviseurs qui ont participé au projet : leurs suggestions et commentaires pertinents ont permis d’améliorer le rapport.

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaFootnote4, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initial.Footnote5

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Description longue pour la carte de l'écozone+ du Canada

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres, deux grandes écozones+ de lacs et neuf écozones+ marines.

Introduction

La variabilité et les tendances observées dans le climat canadien subissent l’influence de ce que l’on appelle des téléconnexions, c’est-à-dire des oscillations océaniques et atmosphériques à grande échelle. Même s’il existe plusieurs régimes de téléconnexion connus dont on se sert pour décrire diverses caractéristiques de la circulation sur la planète, les principales oscillations qui ont une incidence sur le Canada comprennent notamment l’El Niño-oscillation australe (ENSO – El Niño-Southern Oscillation) (Rasmusson et Carpenter, 1982), l’oscillation décennale du Pacifique (ODP) (Mantua et al., 1997), la téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord (PAN) (Wallace et Gutzler, 1981), l’oscillation de l’Atlantique Nord (OAN) (p. ex. Hurrell et VanLoon, 1997; Hurrell et al., 2003) étroitement liée à l’oscillation de l’Arctique (OA) (Thompson et Wallace, 1998), et l’oscillation multidécennale de l’Atlantique (OMA) (Mestas-Nuñez et Enfield, 1999). Les rapports entre ces téléconnexions et le climat canadien sont à leur maximum pendant la saison froide (de la fin de l’automne jusqu’au printemps), même si certaines connexions avec les conditions estivales ont été observées. En outre, ces connexions ont des effets plus prononcés et plus constants sur les variables de la température et, dans une moindre mesure, sur les facteurs liés aux précipitations.

Haut de la page


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Retournez à la note 1

Footnote 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Ottawa, ON. 80 p.

Footnote 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p.

Retournez à la note 3

Footnote 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l’état de l’environnement, Direction de l’analyse des écozones. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retournez à la note 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retournez à la note 5

Introduction