Skip booklet index and go to page content

This report is also available in PDF format. Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for key findings summary (PDF; 7.28 MB

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010

Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 7 Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Mixedwood

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.

Issued also in French under title:
Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the author. For more information, please contact Environment Canada's Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or 819-997-2800 or email to enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Cover photo: Maple-oak forest, Skunk’s Misery, © Allen Woodliffe, OMNR. Photo may not be reproduced without the permission of the rights holder.

This report should be cited as:
ESTR Secretariat. 2016.  Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key finding summary. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010, Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 7. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. x + 145 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2016
Aussi disponible en français

Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkReference 1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Reference 2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Reference 3 was the first report under this framework. It presents 22 key findings that emerged from synthesis and analysis of background technical reports prepared on the status and trends for many cross-cutting national themes (the Technical Thematic Report Series) and for individual terrestrial and marine ecozones+ of Canada (the Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment Report Series). More than 500 experts participated in data analysis, writing, and review of these foundation documents. Summary reports were also prepared for each terrestrial ecozone+ to present the ecozone+-specific evidence related to each of the 22 national key findings (the Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report Series). Together, the full complement of these products constitutes the 2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR).

Images of 2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR)

This report, Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary, presents evidence from the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+related to the 22 national key findings and highlights important trends specific to this ecozone+. It is based on the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario,Reference 4 as well as further synthesis done to specifically address the national key findings. Additional information was provided by the Quebec Region of Environment Canada. The report is not a comprehensive assessment of all ecosystem-related information. The level of detail presented on each key finding varies and important issues or datasets may have been missed. As in all ESTR products, the time frames over which trends are assessed vary--both because time frames that are meaningful for these diverse aspects of ecosystems vary and because the assessment is based on the best available information, which is over a range of time periods. Many experts from a broad range of disciplines, including university researchers, government scientists, and renewable resource and wildlife  managers, contributed to the technical report as authors and reviewers (see Acknowledgements section). This key finding summary report was also reviewed by federal and territorial government scientists and managers and, in part or as a whole, by several university researchers.

Ecological classification system – ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada,Reference 5 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces--Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as "ecozones+" throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar "ecozones" of the original framework.Reference 6 The boundary for the Atlantic Maritime is the same in both frameworks.

Map of the ecozones+ of Canada
map
Long Description for map of the ecozones

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+ (Atlantic Maritime; Newfoundland Boreal; Taiga Shield; Mixedwood Plains; Boreal Shield; Hudson Plains; Prairies; Boreal Plains; Montane Cordillera; Western Interior Basin; Pacific Maritime; Boreal Cordillera; Taiga Cordillera; Taiga Plains; Arctic), two large lake ecozones+ (Great Lakes; Lake Winnipeg), and nine marine ecozones+ (North Coast and Hecate Strait; West Coast Vancouver Island; Strait of Georgia; Gulf of Maine and Scotian Shelf; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves; Hudson Bay, James Bay and Fox Basin; Canadian Arctic Archipelago; Beaufort Sea).

Acknowledgements

Content for this report for the Ontario portion of the ecozone+ is drawn heavily from Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario.Reference 4 Specialists from the Ministère des Ressources naturelles  et Faune du Québec as well as Environment Canada and Agricultural and Agri-Food Canada contributed to several key findings as both authors and reviewers extending the coverage beyond Ontario for those key findings. Reviews of versions of this summary report were provided by scientists and resource managers from relevant provincial and federal government agencies.

Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary acknowledgements

Forests:  K. Taylor and L. Duchesne
Grasslands: K. Taylor and W. Bakowsky
Wetlands: K. Taylor
Change in extent of wetlands along the St. Lawrence River: T. Hayes
Lakes and rivers: W. Dunlop
Coastal: K. Taylor and W. Bakowsky
Ice across biomes: K. Taylor and J. Casselman
Protected areas: J. Thompson
Stewardship: A. Handyside
Ecosystem conversion: K. Taylor and B. Pond
Invasive non-native species: K. Taylor
Contaminants: S. Bhavsar
Nutrient loading and algal blooms:  S. Bhavsar
Acid Deposition: K. Taylor
Climate change: K. Taylor
Ecosystem services: A. Handyside
Intact landscapes and waterscapes: K. Taylor
Agricultural landscapes as habitat: S. Javorek, M. Grant and K. Taylor
Species of special economic, cultural or ecological interest: K. Taylor
Primary productivity: K. Taylor
Natural disturbance: K. Taylor and L. Duchesne
Food webs and population cycles: K. Taylor
Biodiversity monitoring, research, information management, and reporting: K. Taylor
Rapid change and thresholds: K. Taylor
Human well-being and biodiversity: K. Taylor

Authors of Thematic Technical Reports from which material is drawn:

  • Canadian climate trends, 1950-2007: X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng, E.Mekis
  • Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008: B. Bonsal and A. Shabbar
  • Monitoring biodiversity remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada: F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic and D. Pouliot
  • Biodiversity in Canadian lakes and rivers: W.A. Monk and D.J. Baird
  • Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada: F.A. Leighton
  • Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006: S.K. Javorek, M.C.Grant
  • Trends in Canadian shorebirds: C. Gratto-Trevor, R.I.G. Morrison, B. Collins, J. Rausch, V.Johnston
  • Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006: C. Downes, P. Blancher and B. Collins
  • Trends in breeding waterfowl in Canada: M. Fast, B. Collins and M. Gendron

Review conducted by scientists and renewable resource and wildlife managers from provincial and federal government agencies through a review process administered by the ESTR Steering Committee. Additional reviews of specific sections were conducted by external experts in their field of expertise.

Direction provided by the ESTR Steering Committee composed of representatives of federal, provincial and territorial agencies.

Editing, synthesis, technical contributions, maps and graphics, and report productionby the ESTR Secretariat of Environment Canada and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

Key Finding Summary Reviewers:
H. Anderson, W. Bakowski, T. Bellhouse, Y. Boucher, J. Brimsmead, S. Brinker, J. Casselman, S. Columbo, A. Corlett, B. Dalton,  A. Dextrase, C. Downes, J. Dungavell, K. Elliot, K. Ferguson, R. Gagnon, J. Gleeson, B. Graham, P. Grondin, A. Handyside, T. Haxton, C.-L. Hazard, T. Hayes, B. Jobin, J. Jutras, E. Kennedy, J. Lebreque,  P. Lafleur, T. Leighton, D. LeMoire, P. Lilley, M. McMurtry, K. Milian, E. Miller, A. Norman, B. Naylor, G. Nielson, M. Oldham, D. Pare, R. Pineo,  B. Pond, B. Potter,  G. Pulham, D. Puric-Mladenovic, D. Rodrique, B. Rose, P. Smith, L. Stanfield, S. Strobl, D. Sutherland, S. Thompson, M. Twiss, S. Voros, S. Watmough, W. Wistowsky, E. Wright

Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario acknowledgements

Lead authors:  D. Krahn and K. Taylor

Contributing authors:  A. Todd – Ontario Ministry of Environment (OMOE), A. Crook – Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) , A. Woodliffe (OMNR), A. MacIntosh (OMNR), A. Shabbar – Environment Canada, A. Handyside (OMNR), A. Dyk – Canadian Forest Service, A. Ecclestone (OMNR), A. Evers – University of Guelph, A. Tanentzap – Cambridge University, UK, A. Wallace – Toronto Region Conservation Authority, A. Norman (OMNR), B. Boysen (OMNR), B. Bonsal – Environment Canada, B. Brownson (OMNR), B. Dalton, (OMNR), B. Kowalyk (OMNR), B. Collins – Canadian Wildlife Service, B. Pond (OMNR), C. Nielsen – Environment Canada, C. Heydon (OMNR), C. Jones (OMOE), D. Tailon (OMNR), D. DuMoulin (OMNR), D. Puric-Mladenovic  (OMNR), D. Bazely  – York University, D. Burke (OMNR), D. Featherstone – Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, D. Tammadge – Canadian Forest Service, D. Leckie – Canadian Forest Service, D. Krahn (OMNR), D. Campbell – Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre, E. Wright (OMNR), F.A. Leighton – Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre, F. McKay (OMNR), G. McLaren (OMNR), G. Nielsen (OMNR), G. Kaltenecker (OMOE), I. Ockenden – Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, J. Hughes – Canadian Wildlife Service, J. McHattie (OMNR), J. Bowman (OMNR), J. Rzadki – Conservation Ontario, J. Lumsden – Canadian cooperative Wildlife Health Centre, J. Thompson (OMNR), J. Switzman (OMNR), K. Falk – Trent University, K. Milian (OMNR), K. Elliot (OMNR), K. Reese (OMNR), K. Taylor (OMNR), K. Ferguson – Nature Conservancy of Canada, L. Stanfield (OMNR), L. Duchesne (MRNF) M. Heaton (OMNR), M. Nicol – Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority, M. Furrer (OMNR), M. Garvin (OMNR), M. Bevan (OMNR), M. Gatt (OMNR), M. Irvine (OMNR), M. McMurtry (OMNR), N. Hooseinny (OMNR), O. Williams (OMNR), P. Gray (OMNR), P. Smith – Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, P. Waring (OMNR), P. Kor (OMNR), Q. Chiotti – Pollution Probe, R. Gagnon – Ontario Invasive Plant Council, R. Dixon (OMNR), R. Zeran (OMNR), R. Wilson (OMNR), R. Spence (OMNR), R. Pineo – Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters, S. Bhavsar (OMOE), S. Jarvie – Toronto Region Conservation Authority, S. Poser (OMNR), S. Strobl (OMNR), S. Hounsell – Ontario Power Generation, S. Voros (OMNR), T. Dunkley (OMNR), T. Scarr (OMNR), T. McIntosh (OMNR), T. Schwan (OMNR), T. Hutchinson – Trent University, W. I.Dunlop (OMNR), W. Bakowsky (OMNR), W. Wistowsky (OMNR).

Figure 1. Overview map of the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+.
map
Long description for Figure 1

This map provides an overview of the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+, which is located in the provinces of Ontario and Quebec south of the Precambrian Shield. It is bordered along the south and west by Lake Ontario, Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, the state of Michigan, and Lake Huron and along the southeast by the states of New York and Vermont and the province of Quebec. Majors cities located within the ecozone+, from west to east, are Windsor, Port Franks, London, Brantford, Hamilton, Toronto, Niagara Falls, Ottawa, Montreal and the city of Quebec. Major lakes and rivers in the ecozone+ are, from west to east, the Thames River, Lake Simcoe, Kawartha Lakes, the Ottawa River, the St. Lawrence River, the Richelieu River and Lac Saint-Pierre. Manitoulin Island, in Lake Huron, is also located within the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+

Top of Page

References

Reference 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to reference 1 referrer

Reference 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Hull, QC. 86 p.

Return to reference 2 referrer

Reference 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to reference 3 referrer

Reference 4

Taylor, K. , Dunlop, W.I. , Handyside, A. , MacCorkindale, D. , Pond, B. , Thompson, J. , McMurtry, M. and Krahn, D. 2012. Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Ecozone+ Status and Trends Report. Canadian Councils of Resources Ministers. Ottawa, ON. xx p. Draft report.

Return to reference 4 referrer

Reference 5

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa, ON/Hull, QC. vii + 125 p.

Return to reference 5 referrer

Reference 6

Rankin, R. , Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. ii + 14 p.

Return to reference 6 referrer

Top of Page

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF.Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes. (PDF; 7.17 MB)

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010

Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés no 7 Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

forêts mixtes

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.
On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales sont interdites, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’auteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’informathèque d’Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou 819-997-2800, ou par courriel à enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Photo de la page couverture : Forêt d’érables et de chênes, Skunk’s Misery © Allen Woodliffe, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario). La photo ne peut pas être réutilisée sans la permission du détenteur des droits d’auteur.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Secrétariat du RETE. 2016. Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés no 7. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa (Ont.). xi + 157 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2016
Also available in English

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéRéférence 1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéRéférence 2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Référence3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il présente 22 constatations clés issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse de rapports techniques de base portant sur l’état et les tendances de nombreux thèmes nationaux intersectoriels (série de rapports techniques thématiques) ainsi que de chacune des écozones+ terrestres et marines du Canada (série de rapports techniques sur les écozones+). Plus de 500 experts ont participé à l’analyse des données ainsi qu’à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Des rapports sommaires ont également été élaborés pour chaque écozone+ terrestre afin de présenter les éléments probants propres à ces écozones relativement à chacune des 22 constatations clés nationales (série de rapports sommaires sur les éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés). Ensemble, tous ces produits constituent le rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 (ci-après le « RETE »).

Images of 2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR)

Le présent rapport, Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes, traite des éléments probants concernant l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes en fonction des 22 constatations clés nationales, et met en évidence des tendances importantes propres à cette écozone+. Il est fondé sur le rapport Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment--with an emphasis on OntarioRéférence4 ainsi que sur une synthèse approfondie destinée à aborder spécifiquement les constatations clés nationales. Des renseignements supplémentaires ont été fournis par la Région du Québec d’Environnement Canada. Le rapport n’est pas une évaluation exhaustive de tous les renseignements liés aux écosystèmes. Le niveau de détail varie pour chaque constatation clé, et des enjeux ou des ensembles de données importants peuvent avoir été oubliés. Comme dans tous les produits du RETE, les périodes sur lesquelles sont basées les évaluations des tendances varient : d’une part, parce que les périodes pertinentes pour les divers aspects des écosystèmes varient et, d’autre part, parce que l’évaluation est fondée sur les meilleurs renseignements disponibles, qui proviennent de diverses périodes. De nombreux experts provenant d’un large éventail de disciplines, y compris des chercheurs universitaires, des scientifiques du gouvernement ainsi que des gestionnaires des espèces sauvages et des ressources renouvelables, ont contribué au rapport technique à titre d’auteurs et d’examinateurs (voir la section Remerciements). Ce rapport sommaire relatif aux constatations clés a également été examiné par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires des gouvernements fédéral et territoriaux et, dans son ensemble ou en partie, par plusieurs chercheurs universitaires.

Système de classification écologique – écozones++

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaRéférence5, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialRéférence 6. Les limites des plaines à forêts mixtes sont les mêmes dans les deux cadres de référence.

Carte du l'ecozones+ du Canada
map
Description longue pour la carte 1

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le rapport de l’état et des tendances de l’écosystème, appelés « écozones+ ». Cette carte montre la répartition de 15 écozones+ terrestres (maritime de l’Atlantique; boréale de Terre-Neuve; bouclier de la Taïga; plaines à forêts mixtes; bouclier boréal; plaines de l’Hudson; prairies; plaines boréales; cordillère alpestre; bassin intérieur de l’Ouest; maritime du Pacifique; cordillère boréale; cordillère de la Taïga; plaines de la Taïga; arctique), deux grandes écozones+ (Grands Lacs; lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (détroits de la Côte-Nord et d’Hecate; Côte Ouest de l’Île de Vancouver; détroit de Georgia; golfe du Maine et plateau Néo-écossais; estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; baie d’Hudson; Baie-James et le bassin Fox; archipel de l’Arctique canadien; mer de Beaufort).

Remerciements

Le contenu de ce rapport portant sur la partie ontarienne de l’écozone+ provient en grande partie du rapport Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario4. Les spécialistes du ministère des Ressources naturelles et du ministère de la Faune du Québec ainsi que ceux d’Environnement Canada et d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada ont contribué à plusieurs constatations clés autant à titre d’auteurs qu’à titre d’examinateurs, élargissant la couverture de ces constatations clés au-delà de l’Ontario. Des examens du présent rapport sommaire ont été effectués par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources des organismes pertinents des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux.

Remerciements – Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes

Forêts : K. Taylor et L. Duchesne
Prairies : K. Taylor et W. Bakowsky
Milieux humides : K. Taylor
Changement dans l’étendue des milieux humides le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent : T. Hayes
Lacs et cours d’eau : W. Dunlop
Zones côtières : K. Taylor et W. Bakowsky
Glaces dans l’ensemble des biomes : K. Taylor et J. Casselman
Aires protégées : J. Thompson
Intendance : A. Handyside
Conversion des écosystèmes : K. Taylor et B. Pond
Espèces non indigènes envahissantes : K. Taylor
Contaminants : S. Bhavsar
Charges en nutriments et proliférations d’algues : S. Bhavsar
Dépôts acides : K. Taylor
Changements climatiques : K. Taylor
Services écosystémiques : A. Handyside
Paysages terrestres et aquatiques intacts : K. Taylor
Paysages agricoles servant d’habitat : S. Jarovek, M. Grant et K. Taylor
Espèces présentant un intérêt économique, culturel ou écologique particulier : K. Taylor
Productivité primaire : K. Taylor
Perturbations naturelles : K. Taylor et L. Duchesne
Réseaux trophiques: K. Taylor
Surveillance de la biodiversité, recherche, gestion de l’information et communication : K. Taylor
Changements rapides et seuils : K. Taylor
Bien-être humain et biodiversité : K. Taylor

Auteurs des rapports techniques thématiques d’où proviennent les renseignements :

  • Tendances climatiques au Canada, 1950-2007 : X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng et E. Mekis
  • Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008 : B. Bonsal et A. Shabbar
  • Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada : F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic et D. Pouliot
  • Biodiversité dans les rivières et lacs du Canada : W.A. Monk et D.J. Baird Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada : F.A. Leighton.
  • Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, de 1986 à 2006 : S.K. Javorek et M.C. Grant
  • Tendances relatives aux oiseaux de rivage canadiens : C. Gratto-Trevor, R.I.G. Morrison, B. Collins, J. Rausch et V. Johnston
  • Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada, de 1968 à 2006 : C. Downes, P. Blancher et B. Collins
  • Tendances des populations reproductrices de sauvagine au Canada : M. Fast, B. Collins et M. Gendron

Examen effectué par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires des ressources renouvelables et des espèces sauvages provenant d’organismes des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux par l’intermédiaire d’un processus d’examen administré par le comité directeur du RETE. Des examens supplémentaires de sections particulières ont été menés par des experts externes dans leur domaine d’expertise.

Orientation offerte par le comité directeur du RETE réunissant des représentants d’organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Révision, synthèses, contributions techniques, cartes et graphiques et production de rapports par le Secrétariat du RETE d’Environnement Canada et du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario.

Examinateurs du sommaire des constatations clés :
H. Anderson, W. Bakowski, T. Bellhouse, Y. Boucher, J. Brimsmead, S. Brinker, J. Casselman, S. Columbo, A. Corlett, B. Dalton,  A. Dextrase, C. Downes, J. Dungavell, K. Elliot, K. Ferguson, R. Gagnon, J. Gleeson, B. Graham, P. Grondin, A. Handyside, T. Haxton, C.-L. Hazard, T. Hayes, B. Jobin, J. Jutras, E. Kennedy, J. Lebreque,  P. Lafleur, T. Leighton, D. LeMoire, P. Lilley, M. McMurtry, K. Milian, E. Miller, A. Norman, B. Naylor, G. Nielson, M. Oldham, D. Pare, R. Pineo,  B. Pond, B. Potter,  G. Pulham, D. Puric-Mladenovic, D. Rodrique, B. Rose, P. Smith, L. Stanfield, S. Strobl, D. Sutherland, S. Thompson, M. Twiss, S. Voros, S. Watmough, W. Wistowsky, E. Wright

Remerciements – Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario

Auteurs principaux : D. Krahn et K. Taylor

Auteurs collaborateurs :   A. Todd – Ontario Ministry of Environment (OMOE), A. Crook – Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) , A. Woodliffe (OMNR), A. MacIntosh (OMNR), A. Shabbar – Environment Canada, A. Handyside (OMNR), A. Dyk – Canadian Forest Service, A. Ecclestone (OMNR), A. Evers – University of Guelph, A. Tanentzap – Cambridge University, UK, A. Wallace – Toronto Region Conservation Authority, A. Norman (OMNR), B. Boysen (OMNR), B. Bonsal – Environment Canada, B. Brownson (OMNR), B. Dalton, (OMNR), B. Kowalyk (OMNR), B. Collins – Canadian Wildlife Service, B. Pond (OMNR), C. Nielsen – Environment Canada, C. Heydon (OMNR), C. Jones (OMOE), D. Tailon (OMNR), D. DuMoulin (OMNR), D. Puric-Mladenovic  (OMNR), D. Bazely  – York University, D. Burke (OMNR), D. Featherstone – Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, D. Tammadge – Canadian Forest Service, D. Leckie – Canadian Forest Service, D. Krahn (OMNR), D. Campbell – Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre, E. Wright (OMNR), F.A. Leighton – Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre, F. McKay (OMNR), G. McLaren (OMNR), G. Nielsen (OMNR), G. Kaltenecker (OMOE), I. Ockenden – Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, J. Hughes – Canadian Wildlife Service, J. McHattie (OMNR), J. Bowman (OMNR), J. Rzadki – Conservation Ontario, J. Lumsden – Canadian cooperative Wildlife Health Centre, J. Thompson (OMNR), J. Switzman (OMNR), K. Falk – Trent University, K. Milian (OMNR), K. Elliot (OMNR), K. Reese (OMNR), K. Taylor (OMNR), K. Ferguson – Nature Conservancy of Canada, L. Stanfield (OMNR), L. Duchesne (MRNF) M. Heaton (OMNR), M. Nicol – Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority, M. Furrer (OMNR), M. Garvin (OMNR), M. Bevan (OMNR), M. Gatt (OMNR), M. Irvine (OMNR), M. McMurtry (OMNR), N. Hooseinny (OMNR), O. Williams (OMNR), P. Gray (OMNR), P. Smith – Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, P. Waring (OMNR), P. Kor (OMNR), Q. Chiotti – Pollution Probe, R. Gagnon – Ontario Invasive Plant Council, R. Dixon (OMNR), R. Zeran (OMNR), R. Wilson (OMNR), R. Spence (OMNR), R. Pineo – Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters, S. Bhavsar (OMOE), S. Jarvie – Toronto Region Conservation Authority, S. Poser (OMNR), S. Strobl (OMNR), S. Hounsell – Ontario Power Generation, S. Voros (OMNR), T. Dunkley (OMNR), T. Scarr (OMNR), T. McIntosh (OMNR), T. Schwan (OMNR), T. Hutchinson – Trent University, W. I.Dunlop (OMNR), W. Bakowsky (OMNR), W. Wistowsky (OMNR).

Figure 1. Carte générale de l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes.
map
Description longue pour la figure 1

Cette carte fournit un aperçu de l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes, qui est situé dans les provinces de l’Ontario et du Québec, au sud du bouclier précambrien. Elle est bordée au sud et à l’ouest par le lac Ontario, le lac Érié, le lac St. Clair, l’État du Michigan et le lac Huron et au sud-est par les États de New York et du Vermont et la province de Québec. Les villes en importance situées à l’intérieur de l’écozone+, d’ouest en est, sont Windsor, Port Franks, London, Brantford, Hamilton, Toronto, Niagara Falls, Ottawa, Montréal et la ville de Québec. Les lacs et rivières en importance dans l’écozone+ sont, d’ouest en est, la rivière Thames, le lac Simcoe, les lacs Kawartha, la rivière des Outaouais, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, la rivière Richelieu et le lac Saint-Pierre. L’île Manitoulin, située dans le lac Huron, se trouve également à l’intérieur de l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes.

Haut de la page

Notes

Note 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa (Ontario). 8 p.

Retour à la note 1 référence

Note 2

Groupe de travail sur la biodiversité (Canada). 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada sur la diversité biologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Hull (Québec). 84 p.

Retour à la note 2 référence

Note 3

Gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa (Ontario). vi + 142 p. .

Retour à la note 3 référence

Note 4

Taylor, K., Dunlop, W.I., Handyside, A., MacCorkindale, D., Pond, B., Thompson, J., McMurtry, M. et Krahn, D. 2012. Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment--with an emphasis on Ontario. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Ecozone+ Status and Trends Report. Canadian Councils of Resources Ministers. Ottawa, ON. xx p. Draft report.

Retour à la note 4 référence

Note 5

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique nationale pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques, et Environnement Canada, Service de la conservation de l’environnement, Direction générale de l’État de l’environnement. Ottawa (Ontario) / Hull (Québec). viii + 144 p.

Retour à la note 5 référence

Note 6

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique n° 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa (Ontario). ii + 18 p.

Retour à la note 6 référence

Haut de la page

Introduction