2020 Biodiversity Goals and Targets for Canada

Quote from The Honourable J. Michael Miltenberger, Minister of Environment and Natural Resources, Government of the Northwest Territories

 

“Biodiversity is important to the people of the Northwest Territories. Wildlife, water and the environment are integral to the wellbeing of all Northwest Territories residents and will be forever linked to the culture of our communities. The Government of the Northwest Territories supports Canada’s 2020 goals and targets.”

-- The Honourable J. Michael Miltenberger, Minister of Environment and Natural Resources, Government of the Northwest Territories

image 2

Quote from The Honourable Gord Mackintosh, Minister of Conservation and Water Stewardship, Government of Manitoba

 

“Canada’s 2020 Biodiversity Goals and Targets align with initiatives already underway in Manitoba as outlined in “TomorrowNow-Manitoba’s Green Plan”, an eight-year strategy that will protect the environment while ensuring a sustainable economy in Manitoba. I look forward to collaborating with my federal, provincial and territorial counterparts to protect biodiversity across our country. “

-- The Honourable Gord Mackintosh, Minister of Conservation and Water Stewardship, Government of Manitoba

image 3

Quote from The Honourable Scott Moe, Minister of Environment, Government of Saskatchewan

 

“The Government of Saskatchewan, through the Ministry of Environment, is supportive of Canada’s aspirational 2020 biodiversity goals and targets, and the reporting on progress at the national level. All Canadians have a role in contributing towards each target. Conservation and sustainable use of our natural resources is a shared responsibility.”

-- The Honourable Scott Moe, Minister of Environment, Government of Saskatchewan

image 4

 

 

Canada’s biodiversity goals and targets for 2020 complement the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy and the Biodiversity Outcomes Framework, and focus on Canada’s biodiversity priorities in the coming years. They will guide further action on the conservation and sustainable use of living resources in Canada and provide the basis for measuring and reporting on progress. Canada’s national goals and targets support the global Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 adopted by Canada and other Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity in 2010. These goals and targets are aspirational objectives that Canada will strive to achieve by 2020 and are intended to encourage and promote collective action. They are goals and targets for Canada as a whole and progress will be reported at the national level.

Download a PDF version of the 2020 Biodiversity Goals and Targets for Canada (PDF; 232 KB)

Preamble

In order to achieve their long-term biodiversity outcomes, federal, provincial and territorial governments developed the following set of new medium-term goals and targets. These aspirational goals and targets describe results to be achieved through the collective efforts of a diversity of players both public and private whose actions and decisions have an impact on biodiversity. Governments need to do their part but cannot act alone.

Implementation of the goals and targets will rely on meaningful, full and effective participation of Aboriginal peoples, including First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. In this respect, while Aboriginal traditional knowledge and customary use of biological resources are specifically highlighted under targets 12 and 15, the traditional knowledge, innovations and practices of Aboriginal communities are relevant for implementing all of Canada’s biodiversity goals and targets, as is protecting and encouraging customary use of biological resources compatible with their conservation and sustainable use.

Local communities, urban and regional governments, business and industry, conservation and stewardship groups, educational and scientific institutions and citizens are also all able to contribute.  Canadians are invited to commit to doing their part and to share the results of their efforts.

  • Target 1. By 2020, at least 17 percent of terrestrial areas and inland water, and 10 percent of coastal and marine areas, are conserved through networks of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures. More information on Target 1...

  • Target 2. By 2020, species that are secure remain secure, and populations of species at risk listed under federal law exhibit trends that are consistent with recovery strategies and management plans. More information on Target 2...

  • Target 3. By 2020, Canada's wetlands are conserved or enhanced to sustain their ecosystem services through retention, restoration and management activities. More information on Target 3...

  • Target 4. By 2020, biodiversity considerations are integrated into municipal planning and activities of major municipalities across Canada. More information on Target 4...

  • Target 5. By 2020, the ability of Canadian ecological systems to adapt to climate change is better understood, and priority adaptation measures are underway. More information on Target 5...

  • Target 6. By 2020, continued progress is made on the sustainable management of Canada's forests. More information on Target 6...

  • Target 7. By 2020, agricultural working landscapes provide a stable or improved level of biodiversity and habitat capacity. More information on Target 7...

  • Target 8. By 2020, all aquaculture in Canada is managed under a science-based regime that promotes the sustainable use of aquatic resources (including marine, freshwater and land based) in ways that conserve biodiversity. More information on Target 8...

  • Target 9. By 2020, all fish and invertebrate stocks and aquatic plants are managed and harvested sustainably, legally and applying ecosystem-based approaches. More information on Target 9...

  • Target 10. By 2020, pollution levels in Canadian waters, including pollution from excess nutrients, are reduced or maintained at levels that support healthy aquatic ecosystems. More information on Target 10...

  • Target 11. By 2020, pathways of invasive alien species introductions are identified, and risk-based intervention or management plans are in place for priority pathways and species. More information on Target 11...

  • Target 12. By 2020, customary use by Aboriginal peoples of biological resources is maintained, compatible with their conservation and sustainable use. More information on Target 12...

  • Target 13. By 2020, innovative mechanisms for fostering the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity are developed and applied. More information on Target 13...

  • Target 14. By 2020, the science base for biodiversity is enhanced and knowledge of biodiversity is better integrated and more accessible. More information on Target 14...

  • Target 15. By 2020, Aboriginal traditional knowledge is respected, promoted and, where made available by Aboriginal peoples, regularly, meaningfully and effectively informing biodiversity conservation and management decision-making. More information on Target 15...

  • Target 16. By 2020, Canada has a comprehensive inventory of protected spaces that includes private conservation areas. More information on Target 16...

  • Target 17. By 2020, measures of natural capital related to biodiversity and ecosystem services are developed on a national scale, and progress is made in integrating them into Canada's national statistical system. More information on Target 17...

Goals and Targets - Introduction

Buts et objectifs canadiens pour la biodiversité d'ici 2020

L’honorable J. Michael Miltenberger, ministre de l’Environnement et des Ressources naturelles, gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

 

« Les gens des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont la diversité biologique à cœur. La faune, la flore, l’eau et l’environnement font partie intégrante du bien-être de chacun des résidents des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et seront toujours intimement liés à la culture de nos collectivités. Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest appuie les objectifs et les cibles du Canada à l’horizon 2020. »

-- L’honorable J. Michael Miltenberger, ministre de l’Environnement et des Ressources naturelles, gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

image 2

L’honorable Gord Mackintosh, ministre de la Conservation et de la Gestion des ressources hydriques, gouvernement du Manitoba

 

« Les buts et les objectifs que s’est donnés le Canada en matière de biodiversité d’ici l’an 2020 vont dans le sens des initiatives déjà entreprises au Manitoba et indiquées dans le document Vert l’avenir. Plan écologique du Manitoba, une stratégie sur une période de huit ans visant à protéger l’environnement tout en assurant la viabilité écologique de l’économie manitobaine. J’entends bien collaborer avec mes homologues du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements des provinces et territoires à la préservation de la diversité biologique aux quatre coins de notre pays. »

-- L’honorable Gord Mackintosh, ministre de la Conservation et de la Gestion des ressources hydriques, gouvernement du Manitoba

image 3

L’honorable Scott Moe, ministre de l’Environnement, gouvernement de la Saskatchewan

 

« Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan, par l’intermédiaire de son ministère de l’Environnement, soutient les buts et les objectifs auxquels aspire le Canada d’ici l’an 2020 et accueille favorablement le rapport sur les progrès à l’échelle nationale. Tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans l’atteinte de chacun de ces objectifs. La préservation de nos ressources naturelles et une exploitation écologiquement viable de celles-ci sont une responsabilité partagée. »

-- L’honorable Scott Moe, ministre de l’Environnement, gouvernement de la Saskatchewan

image 4

 

 

Les buts et objectifs canadiens pour la biodiversité d’ici 2020 renforcent la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité et le  Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité, et mettre au point les priorités canadiens en matière de biodiversité au cours des prochaines années. Ils orienteront d'autres mesures liées à la conservation et à l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques au Canada et serviront de base pour la mesure et les rapports des progrès. Les buts et objectifs canadiens appuient le Plan stratégique pour la diversité biologique de 2011 à 2020 adopté par le Canada et la Conférence des Parties à la Convention sur la diversité biologique en 2010. Il s’agit des buts et ces objectifs non-contraignants que le Canada tentera d’atteindre d’ici 2020 et ils visent à encourager et à promouvoir une action collective. Ces buts et objectifs visent l'ensemble du Canada et on rendra compte des progrès à l’échelle nationale.

Téléchargez la version PDF des buts et objectifs canadiens pour la biodiversité d'ici 2020 (PDF; 840 Ko)

Préambule

Afin d’atteindre leurs résultats à long terme en matière de biodiversité, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont développé les nouveaux buts et objectifs à moyen terme suivants. Ces buts et ces objectifs non-contraignants décrivent les résultats à atteindre grâce aux efforts collectifs d’une variété d’intervenants tant publics que privés dont les actions et les décisions ont un impact sur la biodiversité. Les gouvernements doivent faire leur part mais ils ne peuvent agir seuls.

La mise en œuvre des buts et des objectifs reposera sur une participation significative, pleine et effective des peuples autochtones, incluant les peuples des Premières nations, Inuits et Métis. À cet égard, alors que les connaissances  traditionnelles autochtones et l’utilisation coutumière des ressources biologiques sont soulignés plus précisément dans les objectifs 12 et 15, les connaissances traditionnelles, les innovations et les pratiques des communautés autochtones sont pertinentes aux fins de mise en œuvre de l’ensemble des buts et des objectifs du Canada en matière de biodiversité, tout comme l’est l’utilisation coutumière des ressources biologiques compatible avec leur conservation et leur utilisation durable.

Les collectivités locales, les gouvernements urbains et régionaux, les entreprises et l’industrie, les groupes de conservation et d’intendance, les établissements d’enseignement et scientifiques et les citoyens peuvent tous également apporter leur contribution. Les Canadiens sont invités à s’engager à faire leur part et à partager les résultats de leurs efforts.

  • Objectif 1. D’ici 2020, au moins 17 % des zones terrestres et d’eaux intérieures et 10 % des zones côtières et marines sont conservées par l’entremise de réseaux d'aires protégées, et d’autres mesures efficaces de conservation dans des superficies clairement définies. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 1...

  • Objectif 2. D’ici 2020, les espèces qui sont en sécurité demeurent en sécurité,  et les populations d’espèces en péril inscrites dans le cadre des lois fédérales affichent des tendances qui correspondent aux programmes de rétablissement et aux plans de gestion. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 2...

  • Objectif 3. D’ici 2020, Les terres humides du Canada sont conservées ou améliorées afin de soutenir leurs services écosystémiques grâce à des activités de rétention, de restauration et de gestion. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 3...

  • Objectif 4. D’ici 2020, Les considérations en matière de biodiversité sont intégrées dans la planification municipale et les activités des principales municipalités à travers le Canada. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 4...

  • Objectif 5. D’ici 2020, La capacité des systèmes écologiques canadiens à s’adapter aux changements climatiques est mieux comprise, et des mesures d’adaptation prioritaires sont en cours. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 5...

  • Objectif 6. D’ici 2020, des progrès continus sont réalisés en matière de gestion durable des forêts du Canada. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 6...

  • Objectif 7. D’ici 2020, les paysages exploités agricoles fournissent un niveau stable ou amélioré de biodiversité et de capacité d’habitat. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 7...

  • Objectif 8. D’ici 2020, toute forme d’aquaculture au Canada est gérée dans le cadre d’un régime scientifique qui préconise l’utilisation durable de ressources aquatiques (y compris les ressources marines, d’eau douce et terrestres) par des moyens qui conservent la biodiversité. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 8...

  • Objectif 9. D’ici 2020, tous les stocks de poissons et d’invertébrés et plantes aquatiques sont gérés et récoltés de manière durable, légale et en appliquant des approches fondées sur les écosystèmes. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 9...

  • Objectif 10. D’ici 2020, les niveaux de pollution dans les eaux canadiennes, y compris la pollution provenant d’un excès d’éléments  nutritifs, sont réduits ou maintenus à des niveaux qui permettent des écosystèmes aquatiques sains. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 10...

  • Objectif 11. D’ici 2020, les voies d’invasion des espèces exotiques envahissantes sont identifiées, et des plans d’intervention ou de gestion fondés sur les risques sont en place dans le cas des voies d’invasion et des espèces prioritaires. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 11...

  • Objectif 12. D’ici 2020, l’utilisation coutumière par les peuples autochtones des ressources biologiques est maintenue, de manière compatible avec leur conservation et leur utilisation durable. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 12...

  • Objectif 13. D’ici 2020, des mécanismes novateurs visant à favoriser la conservation et l’utilisation durable de la biodiversité sont élaborés et mis en application. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 13...

  • Objectif 14. D’ici 2020, la base scientifique relative à la biodiversité est améliorée et le savoir en matière de biodiversité est mieux intégré et plus accessible. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 14...

  • Objectif 15. D’ici 2020, les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones sont  respectées, promues, et lorsque rendues disponibles par les peuples autochtones, informent de façon régulière, significative et efficace la prise de décisions en matière de conservation et de gestion de la biodiversité. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 15...

  • Objectif 16. D’ici 2020, le Canada dispose d’un répertoire complet des aires protégées qui comprend les aires de conservation privées. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 16...

  • Objectif 17. D’ici 2020, Des mesures de capital naturel liées à la biodiversité et aux services écosystémiques sont développées à l’échelle nationale et des progrès sont accomplis relativement à leur intégration dans le système statistique national du Canada. Plus amples information sur l'objectif 17...

Buts et objectifs - Introduction