Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 14. - Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006

This report is also available in PDF format. Technical Thematic Report No. 14. - Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006 (PDF, 7.3 MB)

Document Information

Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006

cover page

S.K. Javorek and M.C. GrantFootnotea

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010
Technical Thematic Report No. 14
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006.

Issued also in French under title:
Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, de 1986 à 2006.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN 978-1-100-19924-5
Cat. no.: En14-43/14-2011E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada’s copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services of Canada (PWGSC). For more information, please contact PWGSC at 613-996-6886 or at droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

This report should be cited as:
Javorek, S.K. and Grant, M.C. 2011. Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 14. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 46 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2011
Aussi disponible en français

Footnotes

Footnote a

Both authors are with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Return to reference a

Top of Page

Preface

The Canadian Council of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Footnote2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote3 was a first report under this framework. It assesses progress towards the framework’s goal of “Healthy and Diverse Ecosystems” and the two desired conservation outcomes: i) productive, resilient, diverse ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and ii) damaged ecosystems restored.

The 22 recurring key findings that are presented in Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 emerged from synthesis and analysis of technical reports prepared as part of this project. Over 500 experts participated in the writing and review of these foundation documents. This report, Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006, is one of several reports prepared on the status and trends of national cross-cutting themes. It has been prepared and reviewed by experts in the field of study and reflects the views of its authors.

Top of Page

Acknowledgements

The authors are grateful to Warren Eilers, Robin MacKay, Luella Graham and Alex Lefebvre of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) for assistance in preparation of this Agri-Environmental Indicator and to the AAFC National Agri-Environmental Health Analysis and Reporting Program (NAHARP) for support of this work. We would also like to thank the three reviewers for their helpful comments and suggestions toward an improved version of the report.

Top of Page

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada,Footnote4 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+” throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original framework.Footnote5

Ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

Map

Long Description for Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+ (Atlantic Maritime; Newfoundland Boreal; Taiga Shield; Mixedwood Plains; Boreal Shield; Hudson Plains; Prairies; Boreal Plains; Montane Cordillera; Western Interior Basin; Pacific Maritime; Boreal Cordillera; Taiga Cordillera; Taiga Plains; Arctic), two large lake ecozones+ (Great Lakes; Lake Winnipeg), and nine marine ecozones+ (North Coast and Hecate Strait; West Coast Vancouver Island; Strait of Georgia; Gulf of Maine and Scotian Shelf; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves; Hudson Bay, James Bay and Fox Basin; Canadian Arctic Archipelago; Beaufort Sea).

Top of Page

Agri-environmental indicators

As part of the National Agri-Environmental Health Analysis and Reporting Program, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada has developed a suite of science-based agri-environmental indicators. These were first reported in 2000 (for 1981 to 1996), updated in 2005 (for 1981 to 2001), and most recently reported in 2010 (for 1981 to 2006) (Eilers et al., 2010). Three of these indicators are presented by ecozone+ as part of the Technical Thematic Report Series for Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010. They are soil erosion on cropland (McConkey et al., 2011), residual soil nitrogen (Drury et al., 2011), and this report on wildlife habitat capacity.

All three of these agri-environmental indicators use data from the Canadian Census of Agriculture database. This database categorizes the agricultural landscape into four main cover types: Cropland, Pasture (broken down into Improved and Unimproved Pasture), Summerfallow, and All Other Land (All Other Land includes, for example, barnyards, woodlots, lanes, windbreaks, marshes, and bogs) (Huffman et al., 2006; Statistics Canada, 2008). The soil erosion and residual soil nitrogen Technical Thematic Reports focus on the agricultural land in production and therefore only use the first three cover types in their calculations (Unimproved Pasture is not included in the soil erosion analysis). This report, on the other hand, includes the All Other Land cover type when reporting on wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land. The definition of “Cropland” in the soil erosion report differs from that used by the Canadian Census of Agriculture in that it includes the Census of Agriculture categories of Cropland, Improved Pasture, and Summerfallow when referring to “Cropland”. For these reasons, numbers presented for the total amount of agricultural land or Cropland or proportions of different cover types for an ecozone+ or region may differ slightly between the three agricultural reports prepared as part of the Technical Thematic Report Series for Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010. Additional discrepancies may exist due to the methodology used to maintain anonymity of the data (see Eilers et al., 2010 for more information).

Top of Page

Introduction

The Wildlife Habitat Capacity on Agricultural Land Indicator provides a multi-species assessment of broad-scale trends in the potential ability of the Canadian agricultural landscape to provide suitable habitat for populations of terrestrial vertebrates.

Top of Page

Methodology

Wildlife habitat capacity was investigated on all land within the agricultural landscape of Canada for the years 1986, 1996, and 2006. The analysis was restricted to land reported in the Canadian Census of Agriculture (hereafter referred to as agricultural land) which included Cropland, Summerfallow, and Pasture, as well as woodlands and wetlands reported by farmers as part of the agricultural landscape (Statistics Canada, 2008). All data were assembled and analyzed at the Soil Landscapes of Canada (SLC) polygon level which is the base unit of the Canadian Ecological Stratification Hierarchy.

Wildlife was initially linked to 31 cover types (habitats) within the Canadian agricultural landscape by constructing habitat association matrices for 588 species of birds, mammals, reptiles, and amphibians associated with agricultural land in Canada. For each species the matrices contained information on habitat use (breeding, feeding, cover, staging/migration, and wintering) and habitat value (primary, secondary, or tertiary). Primary habitat refers to land cover on which a species is dependant or is strongly preferred. Habitat was considered secondary if a species used it but was not dependant on it. Tertiary habitat is not needed, but a species is occasionally found there. Habitat values were incorporated into the analysis as modifiers to weight habitat use (primary = 1, secondary = 0.75 and tertiary = 0.25). The nested structure of habitat categories in the matrices allowed them to be rolled up to align with proportional land cover data derived from the Canadian Census of Agriculture yielding 15 habitat categories (Cereals, Winter Cereals, Oilseeds, Corn, Soybeans, Vegetables, Berries, Fruit Trees, Other Crops (potatoes, tobacco, millet, caraway, ginseng, coriander), Pulses, Summerfallow, Tame Hay, Improved Pasture, Unimproved Pasture, and All Other Land) for habitat capacity analysis. Land cover types in the All Other Land category included wetland (with margins, without margins, and open water), riparian (woody, herbaceous, and crop), shelterbelts (including natural hedgerows), woodland (with interior, without interior, plantation), idle land/old field, and anthropogenic (farm buildings, green houses, lanes). Individual species and their habitat use information were spatially linked to Census of Agriculture land cover data by rectifying distributions to SLC polygons.

For each SLC, species-specific habitat availability (SSHA) was calculated for breeding and feeding requirements, by generating a weighted average of habitat use based on the relative proportion of cover types used and the value of that habitat to the species as follows:

SSHAbf = ∑ (%LCb × HUVb) + ∑ (%LCf × HUVf)

Where: %LC = the percentage of SLC polygon occupied by a particular land cover category used by the species and HUV = Habitat Use Value for breeding (b) and feeding (f) (primary = 1, secondary = 0.75, tertiary = 0.25).

Habitat Capacity based on breeding and feeding is the average of SSHAs per SLC polygon.

The “status” of habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada for 1986 and 2006 was determined by generating ten categories (Very Low: <20, 20-30, Low: 30-40, 40-50, Moderate: 50-60, 60-70, High: 70-80, 80-90 and Very High: 90-100, >100) based on the national distribution of habitat capacity scores from all reporting SLC polygons.

Trend was determined through an analysis of Variance followed by pairwise comparison of means (Tukey’s HSD) to detect significant changes (p<0.05) in habitat capacity for SLC polygons among years.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8p.

Return to reference 1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada’s response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON. 86 p.

Return to reference 2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to reference 3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 125 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to reference 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to reference 5

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 14. - Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, 1986-2006

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Rapport technique thématique no. 14. - Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, 1986 - 2006 (PDF, 7.3 Mo)

Information sur le document

Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, de 1986 à 2006

Couverture de la publication

S.K. Javorek et M.C. GrantNotea

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010
Rapport technique thématique no 14
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, de 1986 à 2006.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-1-100-98526-8
No de cat. : En14-43/14-2011F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.
On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales sont interdites, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’administrateur des droits d’auteur de la Couronne du gouvernement du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec TPSGC au 613-996-6886 ou à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Javorek, S.K. et Grant, M.C. 2011. Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, de 1986 à 2006. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 14. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). vi + 51 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2011
Also available in English

Notes de bas de page

Note a

Les auteurs sont au service d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Retour à la référence a

Haut de la page

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéNote1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéNote2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Note3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il permet d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif du cadre, à savoir des « écosystèmes sains et diversifiés » et obtenir les deux résultats souhaités en matière de conservation : i) des écosystèmes productifs, résilients et diversifiés capables de se rétablir et de s’adapter et ii) la restauration des écosystèmes endommagés.

Les 22 constatations clés récurrentes présentées dans Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 sont issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse des rapports techniques préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Plus de 500 experts ont participé à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Le présent document, Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, de 1986 à 2006, s’inscrit au nombre de plusieurs rapports préparés sur la situation et les tendances de thèmes nationaux intersectoriels. Il a été préparé et révisé par des experts du domaine d’étude et reflète les points de vue des auteurs.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Les auteurs remercient Warren Eilers, Robin Mackay, Luella Graham et Alex Lefebvre d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) pour leur aide relativement à la création de cet indicateur agroenvironnemental ainsi que le Programme national d’analyse et de rapport en matière de santé agroenvironnementale (PNARSA) d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada pour le soutien apporté à ce projet. Les auteurs souhaitent également remercier les trois réviseurs pour leurs commentaires et suggestions utiles en vue d’obtenir une version améliorée du rapport.

Haut de la page

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaNote4, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialNote5.

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Carte

Description longue pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres (Maritime de l'Atlantique; Boréale de Terre-Neuve; Taïga du bouclier; Plaines à forêts mixtes; Bouclier boréal; Plaines hudsoniennes; Prairies; Plaines boréales; Cordillère montagnarde; Bassin intérieur de l'Ouest; Maritime du Pacifique; Cordillère boréale; Taïga de la cordillère; Taïga des plaines; Arctique), deux grandes écozones+ de lacs (Grand Lacs; Lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (Estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; Golfe du Maine et plateau néo-écossais; Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Baie d'Hudson, baie James et bassin Foxe; Archipel Arctique canadien; Mer de Beaufort; Côte nord et détroit d'Hécate; Côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver; Détroit de Georgia).

 

Haut de la page

Indicateurs agroenvironnementaux

Dans le cadre du Programme national d’analyse et de rapport en matière de santé agroenvironnementale, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a élaboré un ensemble d’indicateurs agroenvironnementaux scientifiques. Ceux-ci ont été présentés pour la première fois dans le rapport de 2000 (pour la période de 1981 à 1996). Les indicateurs ont ensuite été mis à jour en 2005 (pour la période de 1981 à 2001). Ils figurent également dans le dernier rapport de 2010 (pour la période de 1981 à 2006) (Eilerset al., 2010). Trois de ces indicateurs sont présentés par écozone+ dans le cadre de la série de rapports techniques thématiques du rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Il s’agit des rapports portant sur l’érosion des terres cultivées (McConkeyet al., 2011), sur l’azote résiduel dans le sol (Druryet al., 2011) et sur la capacité d’habitat faunique qui fait l’objet du présent rapport.

Les données de la base de données du Recensement de l’agriculture du Canada ont été utilisées pour estimer ces trois indicateurs agroenvironnementaux. Cette base de données classe les paysages agricoles en quatre principaux types de couverture : « terres cultivées », « pâturage » (catégorie sous-divisée en « pâturages améliorés » et « pâturages non améliorés »), « jachère » et « autres terres » (les autres terres comprennent, par exemple, les enclos de ferme, les terrains boisés, les allées, les brise-vent, les marais et les tourbières) (Huffmanet al., 2006; Statistique Canada, 2008). Les rapports techniques thématiques sur l’érosion du sol et l’azote résiduel dans le sol portent sur les terres agricoles exploitées. Par conséquent, seuls les trois premiers types de couverture sont utilisés dans les calculs (les pâturages non améliorés ne sont pas pris en compte dans l’analyse sur l’érosion des terres). Le présent rapport, par contre, inclut le type de couverture « autres terres » pour ce qui est de la description de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles. La définition du type de couverture « terres cultivées » utilisée aux fins du Recensement de l’agriculture du Canada est différente de celle employée dans le rapport sur l’érosion des terres, où la catégorie « terres cultivées » englobe les catégories « terres cultivées », « pâturages améliorés » et « jachère » du Recensement de l’agriculture. Pour ces raisons, les nombres présentés pour la superficie totale de terres agricoles ou cultivées et les pourcentages des différents types de couverture pour une écozone+ ou une région peuvent varier légèrement selon l’un ou l’autre des trois rapports sur l’agriculture préparés dans le cadre de la série de rapports techniques thématiques de l’évaluation Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Par ailleurs, il peut y avoir d’autres écarts en raison de la méthodologie employée pour garantir l’anonymat des données (pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir Eilerset al., 2010).

Haut de la page

Introduction

L’indicateur « habitat faunique sur les terres agricoles » permet d’évaluer les grandes tendances de la capacité du paysage agricole canadiennes à fournir un habitat adéquat aux populations des nombreuses espèces de vertébrés terrestres.

Haut de la page

Méthodologie

Nous avons examiné la capacité d’habitat faunique de l’ensemble des terres constituant la zone agricole du Canada, en 1986, 1996 et 2006. Nous avons limité notre analyse aux terres visées par le Recensement de l’agriculture (ci-après appelées « terres agricoles »), c’est-à-dire aux terres cultivées, aux terres en jachère, aux terres de pâturage ainsi qu’aux terres boisées ou humides déclarées par les producteurs comme faisant partie du paysage agricole (Statistique Canada, 2008). Nous avons compilé et analysé toutes les données à l’échelle des polygones des pédo-paysages du Canada (polygones PPC), unités de base du Cadre écologique national pour le Canada.

Nous avons d’abord associé la faune à 31 types de couverture (ou types de milieux) du paysage agricole du Canada, en construisant la matrice d’habitat de 588 espèces d’oiseaux, de mammifères, de reptiles et d’amphibiens associés aux terres agricoles du pays. Dans le cas de chaque espèce, cette matrice réunissait de l’information sur l’utilisation de chaque type de couverture (alimentation, reproduction, couvert, halte ou voie migratoire, hivernage) et sur sa valeur comme habitat (primaire, secondaire, tertiaire). L’habitat primaire est un type de couverture dont l’espèce a absolument besoin ou qu’elle préfère fortement. L’habitat secondaire est un type de couverture que l’espèce utilise mais dont elle n’a pas absolument besoin. L’habitat tertiaire est un type de couverture dont l’espèce n’a pas besoin mais où elle se trouve à l’occasion. La valeur comme habitat a été intégrée à l’analyse à titre de modificateur permettant de pondérer les données d’utilisation (primaire = 1, secondaire = 0,75, tertiaire = 0,25). À l’intérieur des matrices, la structure imbriquée des types de couverture nous a permis de les regrouper de manière à les faire correspondre avec les catégories analogues employées pour les données proportionnelles de couverture du Recensement de l’agriculture. Pour l’analyse de la capacité d’habitat, nous avons ainsi réuni les types de couverture en 15 catégories : céréales, céréales d’hiver, oléagineux, maïs, soja, légumes, petits fruits, arbres fruitiers, autres cultures (pomme de terre, tabac, millet, carvi, ginseng et coriandre), légumineuses à grain, jachère, foin cultivé, pâturages améliorés, pâturages non améliorés, autres terres. La catégorie « autres terres » comprenait les terres humides (avec marges, sans marges, ou constituées d’eau libre), les terres riveraines (boisées, à couverture herbacée, ou cultivées), les haies (y compris les haies naturelles), les terres boisées (avec partie intérieure, sans partie intérieure, ou issues d’une plantation), les terres inexploitées ou abandonnées ainsi que les terres occupées par des infrastructures (bâtiments de ferme, serres, allées). Nous avons ainsi pu établir une relation spatiale entre les données d’utilisation visant chaque espèce et les données de couverture du Recensement de l’agriculture, en rectifiant la répartition de l’espèce en fonction des polygones PPC.

Dans le cas de chaque polygone PPC et de chaque espèce, nous avons calculé la superficie d’habitat disponible (SHD) pour la reproduction et l’alimentation de l’espèce, en établissant à l’égard de l’utilisation du polygone une moyenne pondérée fondée sur la proportion relative des divers types de couverture utilisés par l’espèce et sur leur valeur d’utilisation comme habitat, au moyen de l’équation suivante :

SHDra = ∑ (%PCr × VUHr) + ∑ (%PCa × VUHa)

Où : %PC = pourcentage du polygone PPC occupé par chaque type de couverture des terres utilisé par l’espèce, et VUH = valeur d’utilisation de ce type de couverture (primaire = 1; secondaire = 0,75, tertiaire = 0,25), comme habitat de reproduction (r) ou d’alimentation (a).

La capacité d’habitat (reproduction et alimentation) est la moyenne des SHD obtenus pour chaque polygone PPC.

Pour décrire l’état de la capacité d’habitat des terres agricoles du Canada en 1986 et en 2006, nous avons d’abord généré 10 catégories (< 20 à > 100) fondées sur la répartition nationale des valeurs de capacité obtenues pour l’ensemble des polygones PPC étudiés, puis nous avons distingué 5 classes de capacité d’habitat : très faible (< 20 ou 20-30), faible (30-40 ou 40-50), modérée (50-60 ou 60-70), élevée (70-80 ou 80-90), ou très élevée (90-100 ou > 100).

Pour établir la tendance, nous avons utilisé une analyse de variance (ANOVA) suivie d’une comparaison par paires des moyennes (test de la différence franchement significative de Tukey) afin de détecter les changements significatifs (p < 0,05) survenus d’une année à l’autre dans la capacité d’habitat des polygones PPC.

Notes de bas de page

Note 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Retour à la référence 1

Note 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Ottawa, ON. 80 p.

Retour à la référence 2

Note 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p.

Retour à la référence 3

Note 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l’état de l’environnement, Direction de l’analyse des écozones. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retour à la référence 4

Note 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour à la référence 5

Introduction