Convention on Biological Diversity

Objectives

Article 1:

The objectives of this Convention, to be pursued in accordance with its relevant provisions, are the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits arising out of the utilization of genetic resources, including by appropriate access to genetic resources and by appropriate transfer of relevant technologies, taking into account all rights over those resources and to technologies, and by appropriate funding.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Thematic Programmes and Cross-Cutting Issues

There are seven thematic programmes of work of the Convention on Biological Diversity: Agricultural Biodiversity; Dry and Sub-humid Lands Biodiversity; Forest Biodiversity; Inland Waters Biodiversity; Island Biodiversity; Marine and Coastal Biodiversity; and Mountain Biodiversity.  Each programme identifies actions required to achieve the objectives of the Convention in each biome.  Implementation of the work programmes depends on contributions from all levels of government, the private sector, and other relevant organizations.

A number of cross-cutting issues of relevance to all thematic areas have led to a number of principles, guidelines, and other tools to facilitate the implementation of the Convention.  Some of these cross-cutting issues include: Biodiversity for Development, Climate Change and Biodiversity; Communication, Education and Public Awareness; Economics, Trade and Incentive Measures; Ecosystem Approach; Gender and Biodiversity; Global Strategy for Plant Conservation, Global Taxonomy Initiative; Impact Assessment; Identification, Monitoring, Indicators and Assessments; Invasive Alien Species; Liability and Redress – Art. 14(2); Protected Areas; Sustainable Use of Biodiversity; Tourism and Biodiversity; Traditional Knowledge, Innovations and Practices – Article 8(j); Technology Transfer and Cooperation.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Objectifs

Article 1 :

Les objectifs de cette convention, dont la réalisation sera conforme à ses dispositions pertinentes, sont la conservation de la diversité biologique, l’utilisation durable de ses éléments et le partage juste et équitable de ses avantages découlant de l’exploitation des ressources génétiques. Cela sera accomplie, notamment grâce à un accès satisfaisant aux ressources génétiques et à un transfert approprié des techniques pertinentes, compte tenu de tous les droits sur ces ressources et aux techniques, et grâce à un financement adéquat.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Programmes thématiques et questions transectorielles

La Convention sur la diversité biologique comprend sept programmes de travail thématiques que voici : la biodiversité agricole; la diversité biologique des terres sèches et subhumides; la diversité biologique des forêts; la diversité biologique des eaux intérieures; la biodiversité insulaire; la biodiversité marine et côtière et la biodiversité des montagnes. Chaque programme établit les mesures nécessaires afin d’atteindre les objectifs de la Convention dans chacun des biomes. La mise en œuvre des programmes de travail dépend des contributions de tous les ordres de gouvernement, du secteur privé et d’autres organisations pertinentes.

De nombreuses questions transectorielles pertinentes à tous les programmes thématiques ont entraîné l’élaboration d’un certain nombre de principes, de lignes directrices et d’autres outils qui favorisent la mise en œuvre de la Convention. Parmi ces questions transectorielles, notons : biodiversité et développement; changements climatiques et biodiversité; communication, éducation et sensibilisation du public; économie, commerce et mesures d’incitation; approche écosystémique; égalité des sexes et biodiversité; stratégie mondiale pour la conservation des plantes; initiative taxonomique mondiale; évaluation d’impacts; identification, surveillance, indicateurs et évaluations; espèces exotiques envahissantes; responsabilité et réparation ­– Art. 14(2); aires protégées; utilisation durable de la biodiversité; tourisme et biodiversité; connaissances traditionnelles, innovations et pratiques – Art. 8(j); transfert de technologie et coopération.