Convention on Biological Diversity

Background

The Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) was opened for signature at the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development on June 5, 1992. Canada was the first industrialized country to sign and ratify the CBD, affixing its signature on June 11 and ratification on December 4 of the same year. The Convention came into force on December 29, 1993. There are presently 193 Parties to the CBD, 192 member states and the European Community.

The official text of the Convention is available through the CBD Clearing-House Mechanism.

Secretariat

In 1993 an Interim Secretariat was established in Geneva, Switzerland until a successful bid was made by the Government of Canada and the Province of Québec to relocate the Secretariat to Montreal, Québec in 1996, where it presently remains.

The Convention is headed by Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias who was appointed as the Executive Secretary in 2012. Mr. Dias is preceded as Executive Secretary by Ahmed Djoghlaf (2005-2012), Hamdallah Zedan (1998- 2005), Calestous Juma (1995-1998) and Angela Cropper (1993-1995).

The functions of the Secretariat as outlined in Article 24 of the Convention are:

  • To arrange for and service meetings of the Conference of the Parties provided for in Article 23;
  • To perform the functions assigned to it by any protocol;
  • To prepare reports on the execution of its functions under this Convention and present them to the Conference of the Parties;
  • To coordinate with other relevant international bodies and, in particular to enter into such administrative and contractual arrangements as may be required for the effective discharge of its functions; and
  • To perform such other functions as may be determined by the Conference of the Parties.

Return to Table of Contents

Objectives

Article 1:

The objectives of this Convention, to be pursued in accordance with its relevant provisions, are the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits arising out of the utilization of genetic resources, including by appropriate access to genetic resources and by appropriate transfer of relevant technologies, taking into account all rights over those resources and to technologies, and by appropriate funding.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Thematic Programmes and Cross-Cutting Issues

There are seven thematic programmes of work of the Convention on Biological Diversity: Agricultural Biodiversity; Dry and Sub-humid Lands Biodiversity; Forest Biodiversity; Inland Waters Biodiversity; Island Biodiversity; Marine and Coastal Biodiversity; and Mountain Biodiversity.  Each programme identifies actions required to achieve the objectives of the Convention in each biome.  Implementation of the work programmes depends on contributions from all levels of government, the private sector, and other relevant organizations.

A number of cross-cutting issues of relevance to all thematic areas have led to a number of principles, guidelines, and other tools to facilitate the implementation of the Convention.  Some of these cross-cutting issues include: Biodiversity for Development, Climate Change and Biodiversity; Communication, Education and Public Awareness; Economics, Trade and Incentive Measures; Ecosystem Approach; Gender and Biodiversity; Global Strategy for Plant Conservation, Global Taxonomy Initiative; Impact Assessment; Identification, Monitoring, Indicators and Assessments; Invasive Alien Species; Liability and Redress – Art. 14(2); Protected Areas; Sustainable Use of Biodiversity; Tourism and Biodiversity; Traditional Knowledge, Innovations and Practices – Article 8(j); Technology Transfer and Cooperation.

Return to Table of Contents

COP

The Conference of the Parties was established as the governing body of the CBD in
Article 23 of the Convention.

The COP is guided by the Rules of Procedure adopted by Parties in decision I/1 and amended in decision V/20.

It meets every two years to review implementation of the Convention and decide on future advancement.

Decisions of the COP are available through the CBD Clearing House Mechanism.

The COP receives recommendations from the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA), and Ad Hoc Open-Ended Working Groups who work intersessionally on specific issues.

Return to Table of Contents

SBSTTA

The Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA) is the scientific advisory body that reports to the Conference of the Parties (COP). Its functions, as outlined in Article 25 of the Convention, and further elaborated by the COP, include:

  • providing assessments of the status of biological diversity;
  • preparing assessments of the effects of measures taken in accordance with the provisions of the Convention;
  • identifying innovative, efficient and state-of-the-art technologies and know-how relating to the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity, and ways and means of promoting development and/or transferring such technologies;
  • identifying new and emerging biodiversity issues;
  • providing advice on scientific programmes and international cooperation in research and development related to biological diversity; and
  • responding to questions from the COP and its subsidiary bodies.

The SBSTTA operates under a consolidated modus operandi set out in Annex III of decision VIII/10. At present, it meets twice between each COP and prepares a detailed set of recommendations for consideration by the COP.

The SBSTTA may convene ad hoc technical expert groups (AHTEGs) under the guidance of the COP. The SBSTTA provides oversight to ensure that terms of reference for AHTEGs clearly indicate their mandate, duration of operation, expected outcomes and reporting requirements, and that their mandates are limited to the provision of scientific and technical advice and assessments. The AHTEGs are composed of experts competent in the relevant field of expertise. Reports produced by AHTEGs are submitted to Parties and relevant organizations for peer review.

SBSTTA focal points act as liaisons with the Secretariat on behalf of their Parties with regard to scientific, technical and technological matters related to the Convention and, in doing so, they may undertake the following tasks:

  • developing linkages and facilitating information exchange between the SBSTTA and relevant regional and national agencies and experts;
  • responding to requests from the COP and the Secretariat;
  • communicating and collaborating with other countries' SBSTTA focal points; and
  • collaborating with other national-level focal points for the CBD, and focal points from other biodiversity-related conventions, to facilitate implementation of the Convention at the national level.

Final Reports of the SBSTTA

Return to Table of Contents

Working Groups

Ad Hoc Open-Ended Working Groups are created by the Conference of the Parties (COP) to work on specific issues that require a higher degree of focussed attention. The Working Groups provide recommendations to the COP for consideration and adoption.

Article 8(j)

At the 4th meeting of the COP, an Ad Hoc Open-Ended Working Group was established to address the implementation of Article 8 (j) and related provisions [decision IV/9, paragraph 1].

Article 8(j):

Each contracting Party shall, as far as possible and as appropriate:

Subject to national legislation, respect, preserve and maintain knowledge, innovations and practices of indigenous and local communities embodying traditional lifestyles relevant for the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity and promote their wider application with the approval and involvement of the holders of such knowledge, innovations and practices and encourage the equitable sharing of the benefits arising from the utilization of such knowledge innovations and practices.

Convention on Biological Diversity

The initial focus of WG8J was to draft a programme of work for consideration by the COP. The programme of work was adopted by the COP at its 5th meeting in decision V/16, paragraphs 1, 2. Following adoption of the programme of work, the mandate of the WG8J was extended to undertake specific tasks under the programme of work, to review progress on its implementation, and to make recommendations for further actions (decision V/16, paragraph 9).

Implementation

At its seventh meeting in 2004 the Conference of the Parties established an Ad Hoc Open-ended Working Group on Review of Implementation of the Convention (WGRI) in decision VII/30 paragraph 23.

WGRI was established as Parties recognized the need to more effectively evaluate implementation of the Convention and to monitor progress towards meeting the 2010 Target of the Strategic Plan. Its mandate is outlined in decision VII/30 and additional tasks for the WGRI are outlined in decision VII/26 and in recommendations of the SBSTTA.

Return to Table of Contents

Biosafety Protocol

The Conference of the Parties (COP), by its decision II/5, established an Ad Hoc Open-ended Working Group on Biosafety with a mandate to develop a draft protocol focusing on transboundary movement of living modified organisms that may have adverse effect on biodiversity.

On 29 January 2000, the COP adopted the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety. The Protocol seeks to protect biodiversity from the potential risks posed by living modified organisms resulting from modern biotechnology.

For more information on the Biosafety Protocol please visit the Canadian Node of the Biosafety Clearing-House.

Return to Table of Contents

National Focal Points

Contact information for the National Focal Points

NameSubject AreaPhone
Mr. Matt JonesCBD Focal Point(819) 994-5076
Ms. Krista BlackborowEducation and Awareness &
Clearing-House Mechanism
(905) 336-4719
Ms. Nataliya DormannBiosafety Clearing-House(613) 773-7125
Mr. David GalbraithGlobal Strategy for Plant Conservation(905) 527-1158
ext. 309
Mr. Mark GrahamGlobal Taxonomy Initiative(613) 566 4743
Mr. Ole HendricksonSBSTTA(819) 953-9161
Mr. Marc JohnsonProtected Areas(819) 953-7256
Mr. Desmond MahonAccess and Benefit Sharing(819) 997-3181
Ms. Brenda McAfeeBiosafety Protocol(819) 953-0264
Ms. Nadine NicknerAccess and Benefit Sharing(613) 944-5806

Return to Table of Contents

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Contexte

La Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) a été ouverte à la signature à l'occasion de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement et le développement le 5 juin 1992. Le Canada a été le premier pays industrialisé à la signer et à la ratifier, lui apposant sa signature le 11 juin et la ratifiant le 4 décembre de la même année. La CDB est entrée en vigueur le 29 décembre 1993. On compte actuellement 193 Parties à la CDB, 192 États membres et la Communauté européenne.

Le texte officiel de la CDB est accessible par l'intermédiaire du Centre d'échange de la Convention.

Secrétariat

En 1993, un secrétariat intérimaire a été établi à Genève, en Suisse, jusqu'à ce que soit retenue la candidature du gouvernement du Canada et de la province de Québec de relocaliser le Secrétariat à Montréal (Québec) en 1996, où se trouvent toujours ses bureaux.

La Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) est présidée par M. Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias qui a été nommé secrétaire exécutif en 2012. Ses prédecceseurs étaient M. Ahmed Djoghlaf (2005-2012), M. Hamdallah Zedan (1998-2005), M. Calestous Juma (1995-1998) et Mme. Angela Cropper (1993-1995).

Les fonctions du Secrétariat, qui figurent à l'article 24 de la CDB, sont les suivantes :

  • Organiser les réunions de la Conférence des Parties prévues à l'article 23 et en assurer le service;
  • S'acquitter des fonctions qui lui sont assignées en vertu de tout protocole à la présente convention;
  • Établir des rapports sur l'exercice des fonctions qui lui sont assignées en vertu de la présente convention et les présenter à la Conférence des Parties;
  • Assurer la coordination avec les autres organismes internationaux compétents, et en particulier conclure les arrangements administratifs et contractuels qui pourraient lui être nécessaires pour s'acquitter efficacement de ses fonctions;
  • S'acquitter de toutes autres fonctions que la Conférence des Parties pourrait décider de lui assigner.

Retournez à la table des matières

Objectifs

Article 1 :

Les objectifs de cette convention, dont la réalisation sera conforme à ses dispositions pertinentes, sont la conservation de la diversité biologique, l’utilisation durable de ses éléments et le partage juste et équitable de ses avantages découlant de l’exploitation des ressources génétiques. Cela sera accomplie, notamment grâce à un accès satisfaisant aux ressources génétiques et à un transfert approprié des techniques pertinentes, compte tenu de tous les droits sur ces ressources et aux techniques, et grâce à un financement adéquat.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Programmes thématiques et questions transectorielles

La Convention sur la diversité biologique comprend sept programmes de travail thématiques que voici : la biodiversité agricole; la diversité biologique des terres sèches et subhumides; la diversité biologique des forêts; la diversité biologique des eaux intérieures; la biodiversité insulaire; la biodiversité marine et côtière et la biodiversité des montagnes. Chaque programme établit les mesures nécessaires afin d’atteindre les objectifs de la Convention dans chacun des biomes. La mise en œuvre des programmes de travail dépend des contributions de tous les ordres de gouvernement, du secteur privé et d’autres organisations pertinentes.

De nombreuses questions transectorielles pertinentes à tous les programmes thématiques ont entraîné l’élaboration d’un certain nombre de principes, de lignes directrices et d’autres outils qui favorisent la mise en œuvre de la Convention. Parmi ces questions transectorielles, notons : biodiversité et développement; changements climatiques et biodiversité; communication, éducation et sensibilisation du public; économie, commerce et mesures d’incitation; approche écosystémique; égalité des sexes et biodiversité; stratégie mondiale pour la conservation des plantes; initiative taxonomique mondiale; évaluation d’impacts; identification, surveillance, indicateurs et évaluations; espèces exotiques envahissantes; responsabilité et réparation ­– Art. 14(2); aires protégées; utilisation durable de la biodiversité; tourisme et biodiversité; connaissances traditionnelles, innovations et pratiques – Art. 8(j); transfert de technologie et coopération.

Retournez à la table des matières

CdP

The Conférence des Parties (CdP) a été instituée l'organe directeur de la Convention sur la diversité biologique conformément à l'article 23 de la Convention.

Le Règlement intérieur, adopté par les Parties dans la décision I/1 et modifié par la décision V/20, en régit le fonctionnement.

La CdP se réunit tous les deux ans afin d'examiner les progrès réalisés dans l'application de la Convention et de décider de travaux à effectuer dans le but de poursuivre la mise en œuvre.

Les décisions de la CdP sont accessibles par l'intermédiaire du Centre d'échange de la Convention.

La CdP reçoit les recommandations de l'Organe subsidiaire chargé de fournir des avis scientifiques, techniques et technologiques (SBSTTA) et des groupes de travail spéciaux à composition non limitée qui effectuent des travaux sur des questions précises entre les sessions.

Retournez à la table des matières

SBSTTA

L'Organe subsidiaire chargé de fournir des avis scientifiques, techniques et technologiques (SBSTTA) est l'organe consultatif en matière de sciences qui fait rapport à la Conférence des Parties (CdP). Ses fonctions, qui sont décrites à l'article 25 de la Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) et précisées davantage par la CdP, consistent notamment à :

  • fournir des évaluations scientifiques et techniques sur la situation en matière de diversité biologique;
  • réaliser des évaluations scientifiques et techniques sur les effets des types de mesures prises conformément aux dispositions de la CDB;
  • repérer les technologies et savoir-faire de pointe, novateurs et efficaces concernant la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique et à indiquer les moyens d'en promouvoir le développement ou d'en assurer le transfert;
  • fournir des avis sur les programmes scientifiques et la coopération internationale en matière de recherche-développement concernant la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique;
  • déterminer des enjeux nouveaux et émergents concernant la biodiversité;
  • répondre aux questions d'ordre scientifique, technique, technologique et méthodologique que lui adressent la CdP et ses organes subsidiaires.

Le SBSTTA mène ses activités conformément au mode de fonctionnement consolidé, énoncé à l'annexe III de la décision VIII/10. À l'heure actuelle, il se réunit deux fois entre chacune des réunions de la CdP et dresse une liste détaillée de recommandations qui seront soumises à l'étude de cette dernière.

Le SBSTTA peut convoquer des groupes spéciaux d'experts techniques sur le conseil de la CdP. Il surveille ces groupes pour garantir que leur cadre de référence indique clairement le mandat et sa durée, les résultats escomptés et les exigences en matière de rapports, et que ce mandat se limite à fournir des avis et des évaluations scientifiques et techniques. Les groupes spéciaux sont constitués d'experts compétents dans le domaine visé et ils transmettent leurs rapports aux Parties et aux organisations concernées en vue d'un examen par les pairs.

Les correspondants nationaux du SBSTTA assurent la liaison avec le Secrétariat au nom de leur Partie respective en ce qui touche les questions scientifiques, techniques et technologiques ayant trait à la Convention et, ce faisant, ils s'acquittent notamment des tâches suivantes :

  • établir des liens et faciliter l'échange d'information entre le SBSTTA et les organismes et experts régionaux et nationaux compétents;
  • répondre aux demandes de renseignements que leur adressent la CdP et le Secrétariat;
  • communiquer et collaborer avec les correspondants nationaux du SBSTTA représentant d'autres pays;
  • collaborer avec d'autres correspondants nationaux de la CDB et d'autres conventions relatives à la biodiversité afin de favoriser la mise en œuvre de la Convention à l'échelle nationale.

Les rapports finaux des réunions du SBSTTA

Retournez à la table des matières

Groupes de travail

La Conférence des Parties (CdP) crée des groupes de travail spéciaux à composition non limitée qui sont chargés de se pencher sur des questions particulières nécessitant beaucoup d'attention exclusive. Les groupes de travail lui présentent des recommandations en vue de leur examen et de leur adoption.

Article 8 j)

Lors de la quatrième réunion de la Conférence des Parties (CdP), un groupe de travail spécial à composition non limitée a été constitué afin de veiller à l'application de l'alinéa 8 j) (communément appelé l'article 8 j)) et des dispositions connexes (décision IV/9, paragraphe 1).

Article 8 j) :

Chaque Partie contractante, dans la mesure du possible et selon qu'il conviendra :

Sous réserve des dispositions de sa législation nationale, respecte, préserve et maintient les connaissances, innovations et pratiques des communautés autochtones et locales qui incarnent des modes de vie traditionnels présentant un intérêt pour la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique et en favorise l'application sur une plus grande échelle, avec l'accord et la participation des dépositaires de ces connaissances, innovations et pratiques et encourage le partage équitable des avantages découlant de l'utilisation de ces connaissances, innovations et pratiques;

Convention de la diversité biologique

Le Groupe de travail avait initialement comme objectif d'établir un programme de travail provisoire qu'il soumettrait à l'étude de la CdP. Cette dernière a approuvé le programme de travail à l'occasion de sa cinquième réunion conformément aux paragraphes 1 et 2 de sa décision V/16. Le mandat du Groupe de travail a été élargi pour lui permettre d'accomplir des tâches précises prévues au programme de travail, d'examiner les progrès réalisés concernant la mise en œuvre et de formuler des recommandations visant la prise de nouvelles mesures (paragraphe 9 de la décision V/16).

Application

Lors de sa septième réunion en 2004, la Conférence des Parties a formé le Groupe de travail spécial à composition non limitée chargé d'examiner l'application de la Convention conformément au paragraphe 23 de la décision VII/30.

Le Groupe de travail a été établi alors que les Parties ont reconnu qu'il fallait évaluer de manière plus efficace la mise en œuvre de la Convention et suivre les progrès réalisés dans la poursuite de l'objectif de 2010 du Plan stratégique. Une description sommaire de son mandat figure dans la décision VII/30 et de ses autres tâches dans la décision VII/26 et les recommandations du SBSTTA.

Retournez à la table des matières

Protocole sur la biosécurité

Par sa décision II/5, la Conférence des Parties (CdP) a créé un groupe de travail spécial à composition non limitée sur la prévention des risques biotechnologiques qui a pour mandat d'élaborer un projet de protocole axé sur les mouvements transfrontaliers des organismes vivants modifiés susceptibles d'avoir des effets néfastes sur la biodiversité.

Le 29 janvier 2000, la CdP a adopté le Protocole de Cartagena sur la prévention des risques biotechnologiques (ou Protocole sur la biosécurité). Le Protocole vise à protéger la biodiversité des risques potentiels que peuvent poser les organismes vivants modifiés issus de la biotechnologie moderne.

Pour en savoir plus sur le Protocole, visitez le nœud canadien du Centre d'échange pour la prévention des risques biotechnologiques.

Retournez à la table des matières

Correspondants nationaux

Contacts au correspondants nationaux

NomDomaineTéléphone
M. Matt JonesPoint focal nationaux CBD(819) 994-5076
Mme. Krista BlackborowEducation et sensibilisation &
Centre d'échange
(905) 336-4719
Mme. Nataliya DormannCentre d’échange pour la prévention des risques biotechnologiques(613) 773-7125
M. David GalbraithStratégie mondiale pour la conservation des plantes(905) 527-1158
ext. 309
M. Mark GrahamL'Initiative taxonomique mondiale(613) 566 4743
M. Ole HendricksonSBSTTA(819) 953-9161
M. Marc JohnsonAires protégées(819) 953-7256
M. Des MahonAccès et partage des avantages(819) 997-3181
Mme. Brenda McAfeeProtocole sur la biosécurité(819) 953-0264
Mme. Nadine NicknerAccès et partage des avantages(613) 944-5806

Retournez à la table des matières