Valuation of Ecological Goods and Services
in Canada's Natural Resources Sectors

Prepared for Environment Canada
By DSS Management Consultants Inc.
Peter Victor, Ph.D.
November 2010

Executive Summary1

This report describes a new method developed to estimate the "natural subsidy" value of ecological goods and services (EG&S) in the production of various nature-related economic products. The analysis summarized here is an exploratory work to support evolving understanding of how most effectively to recognize the economic, ecological, and social significance of biodiversity and ecosystem services. It has raised many questions for further examination by experts.

The term "ecological goods and services," or "ecosystem services," as defined by the UN Millennium Ecosystem Assessment (MA 2005) refers to the benefits that humans receive from the natural processes and functions of healthy ecosystems. The MA categorizes these benefits in terms of four types of services: provisioning, regulating, supporting, and cultural. Provisioning services, or &quote;goods&quote;, include water, food, fuels, fibres, medicines, and genetic resources that are &quote;provided&quote; by nature. Most of these goods have been assigned a &quote;market value&quote; by human societies, wherein they are traded as economic products using monetary or other forms of exchange.

Ecosystem services of the other three types however, are not typically considered to have a market value, and their benefits to humans are often taken for granted. Regulating services include pollination, air and water purification, and natural regulation of climate, disease, water, pests, and soil erosion. Supporting services include soil formation, nutrient cycling, and primary production (the basis of the food chain). Finally, cultural  services involve non-material benefits: spiritual and religious, recreation and ecotourism, aesthetic, inspiration, education, sense of place, and cultural heritage. Some of these services provide fundamental life support, and others are central to human well-being and quality of life.

Statistics Canada regularly collects economic statistics for nature-related products (plant crops, livestock, timber, fish, etc.) from the agriculture, forestry and fisheries sectors and includes them in Canada's System of National Accounts. The valuation of the products themselves is part of the routine statistical methodology employed by Statistics Canada based on market prices.  

When EG&S provide inputs (water, soil, pollination, etc.) that influence the yield of marketed products, these inputs are not normally factored into calculations of economic activity for the resource-based economic sectors, nor are they considered in Canada's national accounting system.

This analysis was commissioned to determine the economic value of EG&S that act as "natural subsidies" to Canada's natural resources sectors in order to clarify their significance and support efforts to recognize the values of ecosystem services. 

Objectives of this analysis were to:

  1. demonstrate how rigorous estimates of the value of natural subsidies can be practically derived by combining conventional economic statistics with appropriate ecological data;
  2. produce estimates of the economic value of these natural subsidies;
  3. discuss the economic significance of nature-related goods in the Canadian economy and the contribution of natural subsidies to this economic output;
  4. show how these results can be used for policy analysis; and
  5. communicate to decision-makers and the public the importance in giving due consideration to these natural subsidies when making economic and environmental policy decisions.

Deriving reliable quantitative estimates of these contributions is a major challenge.  The authors of this analysis take the position that economic valuation can be undertaken by applying economic theory and principles in combination with ecological understanding. Several economic methods are available for use in this context, each with strengths and limitations. While numerous metrics exist for working with ecosystems, the authors contend that there are significant gaps in the available ecological data to support this kind of analysis, in particular related to the characterization of EG&S inputs, units of measure, basic statistics for each and their functional relationship with economic products (i.e., their impact coefficients). The authors recommend that filling these gaps should be a major priority and this valuation method provides a good foundation for addressing this challenge.

The production function method is characteristically used in conventional welfare economics, and its logic imposes limitations on the kinds of data that can be integrated for the present analysis. As a result, a different classification of ecosystem services was considered, one developed by Boyd and Banzhaf (2006:8) who propose an Ecosystem Services Index designed to provide a consistent measure of ecosystem services to human wellbeing. They define ecosystem services as &quote;…components of nature, directly enjoyed, consumed, or used to yield human well-being.&quote; An important aspect of this definition is that ecosystem services are confined to &quote;things&quote; and not functions or processes.

According to this view, functions and processes are important intermediate products that contribute to the supply of end products but their value is embodied in the value of the end product and should not be double counted. As a result, the types of ecosystem services that could be assessed using the modified production function method include: pollination, soil quality, nutrient supply, water supply, primary productivity, water quality, and critical habitat.

This report demonstrates how economic methods can derive reasonable measures of ecosystem services input values.  It describes an innovative approach using a modified version of the Cobb-Douglas model of production function methodology, and presents the results of this approach. These results are consistent with the requirements of cost-benefit analysis, a primary public policy analysis technique. The report shows how the method can be applied, provides initial estimates of the magnitude of values for a selection of these inputs in Canada, and discusses the relevance of the method to future policy analyses.

To demonstrate the application of this modified production function method, economic value estimates were calculated for products from three sectors and three ecosystem services inputs:

  • A 50% reduction in wild pollination would result in annual loss in the value of Canadian fruit production of est. $53 million, with net loss $84 million consumer surplus.
  • A 50% reduction in water supply would result in annual loss in the value of Canadian wood harvest of est. $375 million, with corresponding net loss of $500 million consumer surplus.
  • A 50% reduction in primary productivity would result in annual loss of $5.8 million in the economic surplus associated with the fish harvest, and corresponding net loss of $7.5 million in consumer surplus.

The authors indicate that methodological strengths of this approach are:

  • Ecological metrics grounded in the natural sciences;
  • Ease of updating economic and ecological data sets independently;
  • Ease of communication;
  • Economic and theoretical rigor;
  • Compatibility with conventional economic measures;
  • Scale independent;
  • Useful for diverse applications; and,
  • Reduced risk of "double counting".

The authors also noted methodological limitations of this approach are:

  • Generic limitations of economic valuation, e.g. skewed market prices will result in skewed prices for EG&S;
  • Limited understanding of the impact of changes in EG&S supplies on economic output of various nature-related products;
  • Assumed partial equilibrium - lack of consideration of how a shift in the equilibrium price for a single product will ripple through the economy;
  • Lack of accounting for ecosystem services substitutes, e.g., domesticated bees can be used to provide pollination services if wild pollinators decline; and,
  • Lack of accounting for economic impacts beyond the primary production stage, e.g., on value of processed goods.

The authors of this analysis provide recommendations addressing applications for policy analysis and priorities for refinement, for example to reflect values of aggregated products.


1 This executive summary is adapted from the Technical Report prepared by DSS Management Consultants Inc. (Edward Hanna, Dr. Peter Victor, and Tia Hanna). The report reflects the views of DSS Management alone, and does not represent the views or positions of Environment Canada or the Government of Canada. November 2010.

Évaluation des produits et services écologiques
dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles du Canada

Préparé pour Environment Canada
par DSS Management Consultants Inc.
Peter Victor
Novembre 2010

Sommaire1

Le présent rapport décrit une nouvelle méthode pour évaluer la « subvention naturelle » des produits et services écologiques (P. et S. E.) dans la production de divers produits économiques liés à la nature. Il s’agit d’une recherche préliminaire visant à appuyer l’évolution des connaissances sur la meilleure façon de reconnaître  la signification économique, écologique et sociale des services biodiversitaires et écosystémiques. Le document a soulevé plusieurs questions en vue d’un examen plus poussé par les experts.

Les termes « produits et services écologiques » ou « services écosystémiques » tels qu’ils sont définis dans l’Évaluation des écosystèmes pour le millénaire préparé par les Nations Unies (EEM 2005) s’entendent des avantages que retirent les êtres humains des processus naturels et des fonctions d’écosystèmes sains. L’EEM catégorise ces avantages en quatre types de service : les services d’approvisionnement, de régulation, de soutien et culturels. Les services d’approvisionnement ou les « produits » comprennent l’eau, la nourriture, les combustibles, les fibres, les produits médicinaux et les ressources génétiques que « fournit » la nature. Les sociétés humaines ont attribué une « valeur marchande » à la plupart de ces produits puisqu’ils sont échangés contre de l’argent ou un substitut.

Toutefois, les trois autres types de services écosystémiques ne sont pas considérés comme ayant une valeur marchande et leurs avantages sont souvent tenus pour acquis. Les services de régulation comprennent la pollinisation, la purification de l’air et de l’eau et la régulation naturelle du climat, des maladies, de l’eau, des insectes ravageurs et de l’érosion des sols. Les services de soutien comprennent la formation du sol, le cycle des substances nutritives et la production primaire (la base de la chaîne alimentaire). Enfin, les services culturels couvrent les avantages non matériels c’est-à-dire le volet spirituel et religieux, récréatif et écotouristique, esthétique, inspirationnel, éducatif, le sentiment d’appartenance et le patrimoine culturel. Certains de ces services fournissent des fonctions fondamentales alors que d’autres sont essentiels au bien-être et à la qualité de la vie humaine.

Statistique Canada collecte régulièrement des statistiques économiques sur les produits naturels (les récoltes, le bétail, le bois d’œuvre, le poisson, etc.) des secteurs de l’agriculture, de la foresterie et des pêches afin de les intégrer dans le système de comptabilité nationale du Canada. L’évaluation des produits fait partie de la méthodologie statistique de routine utilisée par Statistique Canada et est fondée sur les prix du marché.  

Lorsque les P. et S. E. fournissent des intrants (eau, sol, pollinisation, etc.) qui influent sur le rendement des produits commercialisés, ces intrants ne sont habituellement pas inclus dans le calcul de l’activité économique des secteurs dérivés des ressources ni pris en compte dans le système de comptabilité nationale du Canada.

Cette analyse vise à établir la valeur économique des « subventions naturelles » que sont les P. et S. E. pour les secteurs des ressources naturelles du Canada afin d’en préciser la signification et établir la valeur des services écosystémiques. L’analyse visait les objectifs suivants :

  1. démontrer comment on peut évaluer de façon rigoureuse les subventions naturelles  en combinant des statistiques économiques conventionnelles avec des données écologiques appropriées;
  2. produire des estimations de la valeur économique de ces subventions naturelles;
  3. discuter de la signification économique des produits liés à la nature dans l’économie canadienne et de l’apport de ces subventions naturelles dans la production économique;
  4. montrer comment ces résultats servent à analyser des politiques;
  5. communiquer aux décideurs et au public l’importance de prendre en compte ces subventions naturelles dans les décisions stratégiques en matière d’économie et d’environnement.

 Établir des données quantitatives fiables de ces contributions présente un énorme défi.  Les auteurs de cette analyse adoptent l’approche de l’évaluation économique en combinant la théorie et les principes économiques avec les connaissances écologiques. Il y a plusieurs méthodes économiques possibles chacune ayant ses points forts et ses limites. Bien qu’il existe de nombreux paramètres lorsqu’il est question d’écosystèmes, les auteurs affirment que les données écologiques disponibles présentent des lacunes importantes pour ce type d’analyse, en particulier celles se rapportant à la signification des intrants P. et S. E., aux unités de mesure, aux statistiques de base de chacun de ces éléments et à leur relation fonctionnelle avec les produits économiques (c.-à-d. les coefficients d’impact). Selon les auteurs, la grande priorité est de corriger ces lacunes d’où la pertinence de cette méthode d’évaluation.

On utilise généralement la méthode de la fonction de production dans l’économie de bien-être conventionnelle; sa logique impose des limites sur le type de données qui peuvent être intégrées dans la présente analyse. Par conséquent, on a examiné une autre classification des services écosystémiques, soit celle de Boyd et Banzhaf (2006:8), qui propose un indice comme mesure uniforme des services écosystémiques au bien-être humain.  Selon eux, les services écosystémiques sont « des éléments de la nature appréciés, consommés ou utilisés et qui contribuent directement au bien-être humain. »  Fait important à remarquer, cette définition ramène les services écosystémiques à des « choses » et non à des fonctions ou à des processus.

Vus sous cet angle, les fonctions et les processus sont des produits intermédiaires importants qui fournissent des produits finis mais dont la valeur est incorporée dans celle des produits finis pour éviter une double comptabilisation. Par conséquent, les types de services écosystémiques qui peuvent être évalués selon la méthode modifiée de la fonction de production sont les suivants : pollinisation, qualité du sol, apport d’éléments nutritifs, approvisionnement d’eau, production primaire, qualité de l’eau et habitat essentiel.

Le présent rapport montre comment les méthodes économiques peuvent produire des mesures raisonnables de la valeur des produits découlant des services écosystémiques. Il présente une approche novatrice qui utilise une version modifiée du modèle Cobb‑Douglas de la méthode de la fonction de production et les résultats de cette approche. Ces résultats sont conformes aux exigences de l’analyse coûts-avantages, une méthode d’analyse très utilisée. Le rapport indique comment la méthode peut être mise en application,  fournit les premières estimations de l’importance des valeurs pour une sélection de ces intrants au Canada et explique la pertinence de la méthode dans les analyses des politiques futures.

Afin d’appliquer cette méthode modifiée de la fonction de production, les estimations de la valeur économique ont été calculées pour les produits de trois secteurs et de trois  intrants de services écosystémiques :

  • Une réduction de 50 % des pollinisateurs sauvages entraîne une perte annuelle de quelque 53 millions de dollars de la valeur de la production de fruits avec une  perte nette de 84 millions de dollars de surplus des consommateurs;
  • Une réduction de 50 % de l’approvisionnement d’eau se traduit par une perte annuelle de quelque 375 millions de dollars de la valeur de la récolte de bois et une perte nette correspondante de 500 millions de dollars de surplus des consommateurs;
  • Une réduction de 50 % de la production primaire se traduit par une perte annuelle de 5,8 millions de dollars du surplus économique lié à la pêche et une perte nette correspondante de 7,5 millions de dollars de surplus des consommateurs.

Les auteurs indiquent que les points forts de cette approche méthodologique sont :

  • Mesures écologiques fondées sur les sciences naturelles;
  • Facilité de mise à jour indépendante des bases de données économiques et écologiques;
  • Facilité de communication;
  • Rigueur économique et théorique;
  • Compatibilité avec les mesures économiques conventionnelles;
  • Approche hors échelle;
  • Utile dans diverses applications;
  • Risque réduit d’une « double comptabilisation ».

Les auteurs ont également précisé que cette approche comporte des limites méthodologiques que voici :

  • Limites génériques de l’évaluation économique, p. ex. des prix du marché faussés donnent lieu à des prix faussés des produits et services écologiques;
  • Connaissance limitée de l’impact des changements des fournitures de produits et services écologiques sur la production économique des divers produits liés à la nature;
  • Équilibre partiel hypothétique – ne tient pas compte du fait qu’un changement éventuel du prix d’équilibre d’un seul produit se répercutera dans toute l’économie;
  • L’absence de comptabilisation des substituts de services écosystémiques, p. ex. possibilité d’utiliser des abeilles domestiquées pour la pollinisation advenant une baisse du nombre de pollinisateurs sauvages;
  • Absence de comptabilisation des impacts économiques au-delà de l’étape de la production primaire, p. ex. la valeur des produits industrialisés.

Les auteurs de cette analyse recommandent des correctifs aux applications des analyses et priorités stratégiques afin de les améliorer, par exemple pour qu’elles reflètent les valeurs de l’ensemble des produits.

 


1 Le présent sommaire à la direction est tiré du rapport technique préparé par DSS Management Consultants Inc. (Edward Hanna, Peter Victor, Ph. D. et Tia Hanna). Le rapport reflète uniquement les opinions de DSS Management et non les vues ou les positions d’Environnement Canada ou du gouvernement du Canada. Novembre 2010.