Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 3. - Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products – Land classification scheme for the ecosystem status and trends report

This report is also available in PDF format. Technical Thematic Report No. 3. - Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products – Land classification scheme for the ecosystem status and trends report (PDF, 0.7 MB)

Document Information

Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products -- land classification scheme

Cover page of the publication

J. FriskFootnote[1]

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010
Technical Thematic Report No. 3
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products – land classification scheme.

Issued also in French under title:
Schéma de classification des terres pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN 978-1-100-20257-0
Cat. no.: En14-43/3-2012E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada’s copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services of Canada (PWGSC). For more information, please contact PWGSC at 613-996-6886 or at droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

This report should be cited as:
Frisk, J. 2011. Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products – land classification scheme. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 3. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 34 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2012
Aussi disponible en français

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Ecosystems and Biodiversity Priorities, Environment Canada

Return to footnote 1

Top of Page


Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Footnote2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote3 was a first report under this framework. It assesses progress towards the framework’s goal of “Healthy and Diverse Ecosystems” and the two desired conservation outcomes: i) productive, resilient, diverse ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and ii) damaged ecosystems restored.

The 22 recurring key findings that are presented in Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 emerged from synthesis and analysis of technical reports prepared as part of this project. Over 500 experts participated in the writing and review of these foundation documents. This report, Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products – Land classification scheme, is one of three background papers prepared to assist the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR) Steering Committee in developing a framework and providing guidance for the project. This report was prepared in 2008 and the information presented in it has not been updated except to put into context with the final ESTR reports.

Top of Page

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for CanadaFootnote4, provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+ throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original frameworkFootnote5.

Ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

Long Description for Ecozones+ map of Canada

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+, two large lake ecozones+, and nine marine ecozones+.

Top of Page

Introduction

During the preparation of the Ecosystem Status and Trends (ESTR) Technical Ecozone+ Reports it became clear that some guidance was required for terminology to be used when discussing land cover in order to ensure consistency and comparability across reports. This paper provides that guidance by presenting a land cover classification scheme for ESTR which considers both land cover classifications used in national data analyzed specifically for ESTR and other common relevant land cover classifications. Because it is not always possible to change how data is presented and because data is not always available for all classifications, use of the scheme recommended in this paper is not absolute in ESTR technical reports.

The terms ‘classification scheme’, ‘classification standard’, and ‘classification system’ are often used interchangeably, and in this paper ‘classification scheme’ will be used.

The purpose of this paper is to:

  1. provide a clearly defined set of land cover terminology as guidance for preparing ESTR technical reports; and
  2. describe the terminology used when discussing land cover in seven analyses using land cover data that were carried out for ESTR, and to show how they correspond with the land classification proposed for ESTR in this paper.

Top of Page


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian Biodiversity Strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON. 86 p.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 125 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to footnote 5

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no 3. - Lignes directrices pour la préparation des produits du RETE – Schéma de classification des terres pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Rapport technique thématique no 3. - Lignes directrices pour la préparation des produits du RETE – Schéma de classification des terres pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes (PDF, 0.5 Mo)

Information sur le document

Lignes directrices pour la préparation des produits du RETE -- schéma de classification des terres – 2010.

Couverture de la publication

J. FriskFootnote[1]

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010
Rapport technique thématique no 3
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Lignes directrices pour la préparation des produits du RETE ― schéma de classification des terres.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Guidance for the preparation of ESTR products – land classification scheme.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-1-100-98843-6
No de cat. : En14-43/3-2012F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.

On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales sont interdites, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’administrateur des droits d’auteur de la Couronne du gouvernement du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec TPSGC au 613-996-6886 ou à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :

Frisk, J. 2011. Lignes directrices pour la préparation des produits du RETE – schéma de classification des terres. Biodiversité canadienne : État et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 3. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). iv + 40 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2012
Also available in English

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Priorités Écosystèmes et Biodiversité, Environnement Canada

Return to footnote 1

Haut de la page


Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéFootnote1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéFootnote2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Footnote3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il permet d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif du cadre, à savoir des « écosystèmes sains et diversifiés » et obtenir les deux résultats souhaités en matière de conservation : i) des écosystèmes productifs, résilients et diversifiés capables de se rétablir et de s’adapter et ii) la restauration des écosystèmes endommagés.

Les 22 constatations clés récurrentes présentées dans Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 sont issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse des rapports techniques préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Plus de 500 experts ont participé à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Le présent rapport, Lignes directrices pour la préparation des produits du Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes – Schéma de classification des terres, est l'un des documents d'information préparés pour aider le Comité directeur du Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes (RETE) à élaborer un cadre de travail et à fournir des lignes directrices pour le projet. Le présent rapport a été préparé en 2008 et l'information qui y est présentée n'a pas été mise à jour, sauf pour le situer dans le contexte des Rapports sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes finaux.

Haut de la page

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaFootnote4, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initial.Footnote5

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Description longue pour la carte de l'écozone+ du Canada

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres, deux grandes écozones+ de lacs et neuf écozones+ marines.

Haut de la page

Introduction

Au cours de la préparation des rapports techniques sur les écozones+ concernant l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, il est devenu évident qu'une certaine orientation est nécessaire pour la terminologie à utiliser lorsqu'il est question de couverture terrestre afin d'assurer l'uniformité et la comparabilité parmi les rapports. Le présent document fournit cette orientation en présentant un schéma de classification de couverture terrestre pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes (RETE) qui prend en compte à la fois les classifications de la couverture terrestre utilisée dans les données nationales analysées expressément pour le RETE et d'autres classifications de couverture terrestre pertinentes. Parce qu'il n'est pas toujours possible de modifier la façon dont les données sont présentées et parce que les données ne sont pas toujours disponibles pour toutes les classifications, l'utilisation du schéma recommandé dans le présent document n’est pas l’absolue dans les rapports techniques du RETE.

Les termes « schéma de classification », « norme de classification » et « système de classification » sont souvent utilisés de façon interchangeable et, dans le présent document, le terme « schéma de classification » sera utilisé.

Voici les objectifs du présent document :

  1. Fournir un ensemble clairement défini de terminologie de couverture terrestre comme orientation pour la préparation de rapports sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes techniques;
  2. Décrire la terminologie utilisée pour traiter la couverture terrestre dans sept analyses au moyen de données sur la couverture terrestre menées pour le RETE, ainsi que pour démontrer comment ces analyses correspondent à la classification des terres proposée pour le RETE dans le présent document.

Haut de la page


Notes

Note 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Retournez à la note1

Note 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Ottawa, ON. 80 p.

Retournez à la note 2

Note 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p.

Retournez à la note 3

Note 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l’état de l’environnement, Direction de l’analyse des écozones. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Retournez à la note 4

Note 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retournez à la note 5

Introduction