Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 7. - Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada

This report is also available in PDF format. Technical Thematic Report No. 7. - Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada (PDF, 2.1 MB)

Document Information

Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada

Cover page of the publication: Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada.

F. A. LeightonFootnote1

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010
Technical Thematic Report No. 7
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada.

Issued also in French under title:
Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN 978-1-100-18649-8
Cat. no.: En14-43/7-2011E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.

You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada’s copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services of Canada (PWGSC). For more information, please contact PWGSC at 613-996-6886 or at droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

This report should be cited as:

Leighton, F.A. 2011. Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 7. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. iv + 53 p.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2011
Aussi disponible en français

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre

Return to footnote 1

Top of Page


Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkFootnote1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity StrategyFootnote2. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Footnote3 was a first report under this framework. It assesses progress towards the framework’s goal of “Healthy and Diverse Ecosystems” and the two desired conservation outcomes: i) productive, resilient, diverse ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and ii) damaged ecosystems restored.

The 22 recurring key findings that are presented in Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010emerged from synthesis and analysis of technical reports prepared as part of this project. Over 500 experts participated in the writing and review of these foundation documents. This report, Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada, is one of several reports prepared on the status and trends of national cross-cutting themes. It has been prepared and reviewed by experts in the field of study and reflects the views of its authors.

Top of Page

Contributing Authors

I.K. Barker, Doug Campbell, Pierre-Yves Daoust, Zoe Lucas, John Lumsden, Danna Schock, Helen Schwantje, Kim Taylor and Gary Wobeser.

Top of Page

Acknowledgements

The information in this chapter draws heavily on the program, data and staff of the Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre (CCWHC), a wildlife health sciences centre that is a partnership among Canada’s five colleges of veterinary medicine, federal, provincial and territorial governments in Canada, and several non-government organizations. The CCWHC is a research institute that coordinates wildlife disease surveillance in Canada, provides information to government agencies and the public, offers a variety educational programs and is a Collaborating Centre of the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE). I also thank the reviewers of this report.

Top of Page

Ecological Classification System – Ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for CanadaFootnote4, provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+” throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original framework.Footnote5

Ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for Canada.

Long Description for Ecozones+ map of Canada

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+, two large lake ecozones+, and nine marine ecozones+.

Top of Page

Overview of Pathogens and Diseases of Wild Vertebrates

Pathogens are living or non-living things capable of causing disease -- that is, some degree of physiological dysfunction -- in living organisms. Pathogens are normal components of ecosystems and are part of the biological and environmental complexity that lends stability and resilience to ecological function. Living pathogens thus are important components of each ecosystem’s biodiversity, and include a wide spectrum of organisms, from worms and arthropods, to fungi, protozoa, bacteria, and viruses. Non-living pathogens include simple chemical elements like lead and mercury, a wide range of industrial and other chemicals produced by humans, complex biological toxins produced by various organisms, and misfolded proteins of normal primary structure as with the prions responsible for the transmissible spongiform encephalopathies such as bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE or “mad cow disease”) and chronic wasting disease.

Ecologists and epidemiologists recognize that the occurrence, intensity, and importance of disease in an individual or a population is governed by an interplay of influences that include the physiology and population dynamics of the species in question, many details about the pathogens to which that species may be exposed, and a wide range of environmental parameters that determine the conditions under which the host species and pathogens will interact. The patterns of disease occurrence in an ecosystem thus are governed by this triad of host species-pathogen-environment (Hudson et al., 2002; Patz and Confalonieiri, 2005). The 20th century has been characterized by profound and escalating environmental changes (Cohen, 1995; McNeill, 2000). It is therefore not surprising that patterns of disease in people, domestic animals, and wild animals also have changed profoundly, particularly in the past six decades. This phenomenon of abruptly changing patterns of disease occurrence has been termed “disease emergence,” and has been a central focus of epidemiology and disease ecology in the past two decades (Lederberg v, 1992; Jones et al., 2008).

Canada initiated a program of national surveillance for diseases in wild vertebrate animals in 1992 with the establishment the Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre (CCWHC) (Leighton et al., 1997). This Technical Report reviews the status of a selection of diseases in Canadian wildlife based on that surveillance program and additional information. Many of the selected diseases fit the general definition of “emerging diseases,” in that they are occurring in new locations, with increased intensity, or are entirely new to Canada. Wildlife disease surveillance is recent in Canada and is carried out at a coarse scale. Thus, trends can be discerned in the patterns of occurrence of some diseases but not in others. Such trends are noted in this report when they can be discerned. The coarse scale of disease surveillance also means that it is not possible to consider each ecozone+ separately with respect to disease occurrence. Most of the pathogens covered in this report are distributed across many ecozones+ and are therefore organized by pathogen rather than geography. An accounting of the ecozones+ included in the range of each pathogen is included within each pathogen section of the report. Pathogens and diseases that are important or occur in only one or a few ecozones+ are described in subsequent sections of the report, organized by ecozone+.

Some pathogens of Canadian wild vertebrates are of national and international concern because they can cause disease in people (zoonotic diseases) or in domestic animals, or threaten wild populations around the world. There is a legal obligation to report such disease occurrences to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) under the regulations of the Health of Animals Act. Where such a reporting requirement exists, it is indicated in each section heading by the categories Reportable, Immediately Notifiable, or Annually Notifiable. Any suspicion of a Reportable disease must be reported immediately to a CFIA District Veterinarian. Reporting of Immediately Notifiable and Annually Notifiable disease occurrences applies only to disease diagnostic laboratories; reports must be made by these laboratories to the CFIA either immediately or once each year, in February (Canadian Food Inspection Agency, 2009). Occurrence of viral hemorrhagic septicemia of fish must be reported to Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Top of Page


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environment Canada. 2006. Biodiversity outcomes framework for Canada. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.p. Environnement Canada. 2006.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Biodiversity Working Group. 1995. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON.80 p.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments of Canada. 2010. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Ecological Stratification Working Group. 1995. A national ecological framework for Canada. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Research Branch, Centre for Land and Biological Resources Research and Environment Canada, State of the Environment Directorate, Ecozone Analysis Branch. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 125 p. Report and national map at 1:7 500 000 scale.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. and Rice, J. 2011. Ecological classification system for the ecosystem status and trends report. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to footnote5

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no 7. - Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Rapport technique thématique no 7. - Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada (PDF, 1.9 Mo)

Information sur le document

Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada

Couverture de la publication : Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada

F. A. LeightonFootnote1

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010
Rapport technique thématique no 7
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressource
s

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada.

Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-1-100-97354-8
No de cat. : En14-43/7-2011F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.

On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales sont interdites, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’administrateur des droits d’auteur de la Couronne du gouvernement du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec TPSGCau 613-996-6886 ou à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :

Leighton, F.A. 2011. Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 7. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, (Ont.). v + 59 p.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2011
Also available in English

Haut de la page


Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéFootnote1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéFootnote2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Footnote3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il permet d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif du cadre, à savoir des « écosystèmes sains et diversifiés » et obtenir les deux résultats souhaités en matière de conservation : i) des écosystèmes productifs, résilients et diversifiés capables de se rétablir et de s’adapter et ii) la restauration des écosystèmes endommagés.

Les 22 constatations clés récurrentes présentées dans Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 sont issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse des rapports techniques préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Plus de 500 experts ont participé à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Le présent document, Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada, s’inscrit au nombre de plusieurs rapports préparés sur la situation et les tendances de thèmes nationaux intersectoriels. Il a été préparé et révisé par des experts du domaine d’étude et reflète les points de vue des auteurs.

Haut de la page

Auteurs collaborateurs

I.K. Barker, Doug Campbell, Pierre-Yves Daoust, Zoe Lucas, John Lumsden, Danna Schock, Helen Schwantje, Kim Taylor et Gary Wobeser.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

L’information qui figure dans le présent chapitre repose en grande partie sur le programme, les données et le travail des employés du Centre canadien coopératif de la santé et de la faune, un centre des sciences de la santé de la faune partenaire des cinq collèges de médecine vétérinaire du Canada, des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, et de plusieurs organisations non gouvernementales). Le Centre canadien coopératif de la santé et de la faune est un institut de recherche qui coordonne la surveillance des maladies de la faune au Canada, fournit des renseignements aux organismes gouvernementaux et au public, propose une variété de programmes éducatifs et se veut un centre de collaboration de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale. Des remerciements particuliers sont également adressés aux réviseurs du présent rapport.

Haut de la page

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaFootnote4, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialFootnote5.

Cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes du Canada.

Description longue pour la carte de l'écozone+ du Canada

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres, deux grandes écozones+ de lacs et neuf écozones+ marines.

Haut de la page

Aperçu des pathogènes et des maladies des vertébrés sauvages

Les pathogènes sont des agents vivants ou non vivants capables de provoquer une maladie ou un dysfonctionnement physiologique plus ou moins important chez des organismes vivants. À titre de composantes naturelles des écosystèmes, ils contribuent à la complexité biologique et environnementale qui confère stabilité et résilience à la fonction écologique. Les pathogènes vivants sont donc des éléments importants de la biodiversité des écosystèmes. Ils constituent un groupe très diversifié qui englobe des vers, des arthropodes, des champignons, des protozoaires, des bactéries et des virus. Les pathogènes non vivants incluent des éléments chimiques simples comme le plomb et le mercure, un large éventail de composés chimiques d’usage industriel ou autres produits par les humains, des toxines biologiques complexes synthétisées par divers organismes et des protéines mal repliées de structure primaire normale, comme les prions responsables d’encéphalopathies spongiformes transmissibles comme l’encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine (ESB ou « maladie de la vache folle ») et la maladie débilitante chronique.

Les écologistes et les épidémiologistes savent que l’occurrence, l’intensité et la gravité d’une maladie chez un individu ou une population dépendent d’un ensemble d’interactions entre divers facteurs tels que la physiologie et la dynamique de la population de l’espèce touchée, diverses caractéristiques des pathogènes auxquels l’espèce est susceptible d’être exposée et un grand nombre de paramètres environnementaux qui déterminent les conditions en présence desquelles l’espèce hôte et les pathogènes interagissent. Les tendances épidémiologiques dans un écosystème sont donc gouvernées par cette triade espèce hôte–pathogène–
environnement (Hudson et al., 2002; Patz et Confalonieiri, 2005). Le XXe siècle a été marqué par des changements environnementaux à la fois importants et croissants (Cohen, 1995; McNeill, 2000). Il n’est donc pas surprenant de constater que les tendances épidémiologiques chez les humains, les animaux domestiques et les animaux sauvages ont aussi changé considérablement, particulièrement au cours des six dernières décennies. Ce changement subit des tendances épidémiologiques est connu sous le terme « émergence de maladies » et a été le centre d’intérêt des recherches consacrées à l’épidémiologie et à l’écologie des maladies au cours des deux dernières décennies (Lederberg et al., 1992; Jones et al., 2008).

En 1992, le Canada a mis sur pied un programme national de surveillance des maladies des vertébrés sauvages en fondant le Centre canadien coopératif de la santé de la faune (CCCSF) (Leighton et al., 1997). Les auteurs du présent rapport technique font le point sur la situation d’un certain nombre de maladies touchant les espèces sauvages du Canada en se fondant sur les résultats de ce programme de surveillance et d’autres sources d’information. Bon nombre des maladies mentionnées dans les pages qui suivent satisfont à la définition générale des « maladies émergentes » parce qu’elles sévissent dans de nouvelles régions avec une intensité accrue ou sont entièrement nouvelles au Canada. La surveillance des maladies touchant les espèces sauvages est une préoccupation récente au Canada et est menée à une échelle grossière. En conséquence, il est possible de discerner les tendances épidémiologiques associées à certaines maladies, mais pas pour d’autres. Lorsqu’elles peuvent être discernées, ces tendances sont précisées dans le présent rapport. En raison de l’échelle grossière à laquelle s’effectue la surveillance des maladies, il est également impossible de considérer chaque écozone+ séparément dans l’analyse des tendances épidémiologiques. La plupart des pathogènes mentionnés dans le présent rapport sévissent dans de nombreuses écozones+. L’analyse est donc structurée en fonction des pathogènes plutôt qu’en fonction de leur répartition géographique. Les écozones+ comprises dans l’aire de répartition de chaque pathogène sont précisées. Les pathogènes et maladies qui sont importantes ou confinées à une ou seulement quelques écozones+ sont passés en revue dans des sections subséquentes du rapport, par écozone+.

Certains pathogènes des vertébrés sauvages du Canada constituent des sources de préoccupation nationales et internationales parce qu’ils peuvent provoquer des maladies chez les humains (zoonoses) ou les animaux domestiques ou menacer des populations sauvages dans d’autres régions du monde. En vertu des règlements d’application de la Loi sur la santé des animaux, tous les cas de ces maladies doivent être signalés à l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA). Cette obligation, lorsqu’elle existe, apparaît dans le titre de chaque section sous l’une ou l’autre des catégories « maladie à déclaration obligatoire », « maladie à notification immédiate » et « maladie à notification annuelle ». Tous les cas suspects de maladie à déclaration obligatoire doivent être signalés immédiatement au vétérinaire de district de l’ACIA. L’obligation de signaler les maladies à notification immédiate et annuelle ne concerne que les laboratoires de diagnostic des maladies. Selon les maladies décelées, les laboratoires doivent soumettre leurs rapports à l’ACIA soit immédiatement, soit une fois par année, en février (Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, 2009). Les cas de septicémie hémorragique virale chez le poisson doivent être signalés à Pêches et Océans Canada.

Haut de la page


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Environnement Canada. 2006. Un cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversité pour le Canada. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. 8 p.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la biodiversité. 1995. Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité : réponse du Canada à la Convention sur la diversité écologique. Environnement Canada, Bureau de la Convention sur la biodiversité. Ottawa, ON. 80 p. Canadian biodiversity strategy: Canada's response to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Environment Canada, Biodiversity Convention Office. Ottawa, ON.80 p.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada. 2010. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. vi + 148 p. Canadian biodiversity: ecosystem status and trends 2010. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vi + 142 p.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Groupe de travail sur la stratification écologique. 1995. Cadre écologique national pour le Canada. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Direction générale de la recherche, Centre de recherches sur les terres et les ressources biologiques et Environnement Canada, Direction générale de l’état de l’environnement, Direction de l’analyse des écozones. Ottawa/Hull, ON. 144 p. Rapport et carte nationale 1/7 500 000.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Rankin, R., Austin, M. et Rice, J. 2011. Système de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique thématique no 1. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Thematic Report No. 1. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON.

Return to footnote5

Introduction